Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(415 ILCS 105/8)
(from Ch. 38, par. 86-8)
Persons who violate any of Sections 4 through 7 are subject to the
penalties set out in this Section.
(a) Any person convicted of a violation of Section 4, 5, 6 or 7 is
guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. A second conviction for an offense
committed after the first conviction is a Class A misdemeanor. A third or
subsequent violation, committed after a second conviction is a Class 4
(b) In addition to any fine imposed under this Act, the court may order
that the person convicted of such a violation remove and properly dispose
of the litter, may employ special bailiffs to supervise such removal and
disposal, and may tax the costs of such supervision as costs against the
person so convicted.
(c) The penalties prescribed in this Section are in addition to, and not
in lieu of, any penalties, rights, remedies, duties or liabilities
otherwise imposed or conferred by law.
(d) An individual convicted of violating Section 4 or Section 5 of this Act by disposing of litter upon a public highway may, in addition to any other penalty, be required to maintain litter control for 30 days over a designated portion of that highway, including, at the discretion of the agency having jurisdiction over the section of highway in question, the site where the offense occurred, as provided in Section 50 of the Illinois Adopt-A-Highway Act.
(e) A mandatory minimum fine of $50 must be imposed against any person who is convicted of violating Section 5 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 98-472, eff. 1-1-14.)