Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
430 ILCS 65/3.1
(430 ILCS 65/3.1)
(from Ch. 38, par. 83-3.1)
Firearm Transfer Inquiry Program.
(a) The Illinois State Police shall provide
a dial up telephone system or utilize other existing technology which shall be used by any federally licensed
firearm dealer, gun show promoter, or gun show vendor who is to transfer a firearm, stun gun, or taser under the provisions of this
Act. The Illinois State Police may utilize existing technology which
allows the caller to be charged a fee not to exceed $2. Fees collected by the Illinois State Police shall be deposited in the State Police Firearm Services Fund and used
to provide the service.
(b) Upon receiving a request from a federally licensed firearm dealer, gun show promoter, or gun show vendor, the
Illinois State Police shall immediately approve or, within the time
period established by Section 24-3 of the Criminal Code of 2012 regarding
the delivery of firearms, stun guns, and tasers, notify the inquiring dealer, gun show promoter, or gun show vendor of any objection that
would disqualify the transferee from acquiring or possessing a firearm, stun gun, or taser. In
conducting the inquiry, the Illinois State Police shall initiate and
complete an automated search of its criminal history record information
files and those of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, including the
National Instant Criminal Background Check System, and of the files of
the Department of Human Services relating to mental health and
developmental disabilities to obtain
any felony conviction or patient hospitalization information which would
disqualify a person from obtaining or require revocation of a currently
valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card.
(b-5) By January 1, 2023, the Illinois State Police shall by rule provide a process for the automatic renewal of the Firearm Owner's Identification Card of a person at the time of an inquiry in subsection (b). Persons eligible for this process must have a set of fingerprints on file with their applications under either subsection (a-25) of Section 4 or the Firearm Concealed Carry Act.
(c) If receipt of a firearm would not violate Section 24-3 of the Criminal Code of 2012, federal law, or this Act, the Illinois State Police shall:
(1) assign a unique identification number to the
(2) provide the licensee, gun show promoter, or gun
show vendor with the number.
(d) Approvals issued by the Illinois State Police for the purchase of a firearm are valid for 30 days from the date of issue.
(e) (1) The Illinois State Police must act as the Illinois Point of Contact
for the National Instant Criminal Background Check System.
(2) The Illinois State Police and the Department of Human Services shall, in accordance with State and federal law regarding confidentiality, enter into a memorandum of understanding with the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of implementing the National Instant Criminal Background Check System in the State. The Illinois State Police shall report the name, date of birth, and physical description of any person prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act or 18 U.S.C. 922(g) and (n) to the National Instant Criminal Background Check System Index, Denied Persons Files.
(3) The Illinois State Police shall provide notice of the disqualification of a person under subsection (b) of this Section or the revocation of a person's Firearm Owner's Identification Card under Section 8 or Section 8.2 of this Act, and the reason for the disqualification or revocation, to all law enforcement agencies with jurisdiction to assist with the seizure of the person's Firearm Owner's Identification Card.
(f) The Illinois State Police shall adopt rules not inconsistent with this Section to implement this
(Source: P.A. 102-237, eff. 1-1-22; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)