Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
430 ILCS 65/8.1
(430 ILCS 65/8.1)
(from Ch. 38, par. 83-8.1)
Notifications to the Illinois State Police.
(a) The Circuit Clerk shall, in the form and manner required by the
Supreme Court, notify the Illinois State Police of all final dispositions
of cases for which the Department has received information reported to it under
Sections 2.1 and 2.2 of the Criminal Identification Act.
(b) Upon adjudication of any individual as a person with a mental disability as defined in Section 1.1 of this Act or a finding that a person has been involuntarily admitted, the court shall direct the circuit court clerk to immediately notify the Illinois State Police, Firearm Owner's Identification (FOID) department, and shall forward a copy of the court order to the Department.
(b-1) Beginning July 1, 2016, and each July 1 and December 30 of every year thereafter, the circuit court clerk shall, in the form and manner prescribed by the Illinois State Police, notify the Illinois State Police, Firearm Owner's Identification (FOID) department if the court has not directed the circuit court clerk to notify the Illinois State Police, Firearm Owner's Identification (FOID) department under subsection (b) of this Section, within the preceding 6 months, because no person has been adjudicated as a person with a mental disability by the court as defined in Section 1.1 of this Act or if no person has been involuntarily admitted. The Supreme Court may adopt any orders or rules necessary to identify the persons who shall be reported to the Illinois State Police under subsection (b), or any other orders or rules necessary to implement the requirements of this Act.
(c) The Department of Human Services shall, in the form and manner prescribed by the Illinois State Police, report all information collected under subsection (b) of Section 12 of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Confidentiality Act for the purpose of determining whether a person who may be or may have been a patient in a mental health facility is disqualified under State or federal law from receiving or retaining a Firearm Owner's Identification Card, or purchasing a weapon.
(d) If a person is determined to pose a clear and present danger to himself, herself, or to others:
(1) by a physician, clinical psychologist, or
qualified examiner, or is determined to have a developmental disability by a physician, clinical psychologist, or qualified examiner, whether employed by the State or privately, then the physician, clinical psychologist, or qualified examiner shall, within 24 hours of making the determination, notify the Department of Human Services that the person poses a clear and present danger or has a developmental disability; or
(2) by a law enforcement official or school
administrator, then the law enforcement official or school administrator shall, within 24 hours of making the determination, notify the Illinois State Police that the person poses a clear and present danger.
The Department of Human Services shall immediately update its records and information relating to mental health and developmental disabilities, and if appropriate, shall notify the Illinois State Police in a form and manner prescribed by the Illinois State Police. The Illinois State Police shall determine whether to revoke the person's Firearm Owner's Identification Card under Section 8 of this Act. Any information disclosed under this subsection shall remain privileged and confidential, and shall not be redisclosed, except as required under subsection (e) of Section 3.1 of this Act, nor used for any other purpose. The method of providing this information shall guarantee that the information is not released beyond what is necessary for the purpose of this Section and shall be provided by rule by the Department of Human Services. The identity of the person reporting under this Section shall not be disclosed to the subject of the report. The physician, clinical psychologist, qualified examiner, law enforcement official, or school administrator making the determination and his or her employer shall not be held criminally, civilly, or professionally liable for making or not making the notification required under this subsection, except for willful or wanton misconduct.
(e) The Illinois State Police shall adopt rules to implement this Section.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)