Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

430 ILCS 115/11

    (430 ILCS 115/11) (from Ch. 67 1/2, par. 511)
    Sec. 11. The Director, after notice and opportunity for hearing to an applicant or seal holder, may deny, suspend, or revoke a seal, or assess civil penalties in conformance with this Act, in any case in which he or she finds that there has been a substantial failure to comply with the provisions of this Act or the standards, rules, and regulations under this Act.
    Notice shall be provided by certified mail or by personal service setting forth the particular reasons for the proposed action and fixing a date, not less than 15 days from the date of the mailing or service, within which time the applicant or seal holder must request in writing a hearing. Failure to serve upon the Department a request for hearing in writing within the time provided in the notice shall constitute a waiver of the person's right to an administrative hearing.
    The hearing shall be conducted by the Director or by an individual designated in writing by the Director as a hearing officer to conduct the hearing. The Director or hearing officer shall give written notice of the time and place of the hearing, by certified mail or personal service, to the applicant or seal holder, at least 10 days prior to the hearing. On the basis of the hearing, or upon default of the applicant or seal holder, the Director shall make a determination specifying his or her findings and conclusions. A copy of the determination shall be sent by certified mail or served personally upon the seal holder. The decision of the Director shall be final on issues of fact, and final in all respects unless judicial review is sought as provided in this Act.
    The procedure governing hearings authorized by this Section shall be in accordance with rules adopted by the Department. A full and complete record shall be kept of all proceedings, including the notice of hearing, complaint, and all other documents in the nature of pleadings, written motions filed in the proceedings, and the report and orders of the Director and hearing officer.
    The Department, at its expense, shall provide a court reporter to take testimony. Technical error in the proceedings before the Department or hearing officer or their failure to observe the technical rules of evidence shall not be grounds for the reversal of any administrative decision unless it appears to the Court that the error or failure materially affects the rights of any party and results in substantial injustice to any party.
    The Department or hearing officer, or any parties in an investigation or hearing before the Department, may compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of books, papers, records, or memoranda.
    The Department shall not be required to certify any record to the Court or file any answer in Court or otherwise appear in any Court in a judicial review proceeding, unless there is filed in the Court with the complaint, a receipt from the Department acknowledging payment of the costs of furnishing and certifying the record. The cost shall be paid by the party requesting a copy of the record. Failure on the part of the person requesting a copy of the record to pay the cost shall be grounds for dismissal of the action.
(Source: P.A. 98-959, eff. 8-15-14.)