Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

505 ILCS 80/6

    (505 ILCS 80/6) (from Ch. 5, par. 55.6)
    Sec. 6. Inspection fees.
    (a) There shall be paid to the Director for all fertilizers distributed in this State an inspection fee at the rate of 25 per ton with a minimum inspection fee of $15. Sales or exchanges between registrants are hereby exempted from the inspection fee.
    On individual packages of fertilizers containing 5 pounds or less, or if in liquid form containers of 4,000 cubic centimeters or less, there shall be paid instead of the 25 per ton inspection fee, an annual inspection fee of $50 for each grade within a brand sold or distributed. Where an entity sells fertilizers in packages of 5 pounds or less, or 4,000 cubic centimeters or less if in liquid form, and also sells in larger packages than 5 pounds or liquid containers larger than 4,000 cubic centimeters, this annual inspection fee of $50 applies only to that portion sold in packages of 5 pounds or less or 4,000 cubic centimeters or less, and that portion sold in larger packages or containers shall be subject to the same inspection fee of 25 per ton as provided in this Act.
    (b) Every entity that distributes a fertilizer, custom blend, or speciality fertilizer in this State shall file with the Director, on forms furnished by the Director, a semi-annual statement for the periods ending June 30 and December 31, setting forth the number of net tons of each grade of fertilizers within a brand or the net tons of custom blend distributed. The report shall be due on or before the 30th day of the month following the close of each semi-annual period and upon the statement shall pay the inspection fee at the rate stated in paragraph (a) of this Section.
    If the tonnage report is not filed and the payment of inspection fee is not made within 30 days after the end of the semi-annual period, a collection fee amounting to 15% (minimum $15) of the amount shall be assessed against the registrant. The amount of fees due shall constitute a debt and become the basis of a judgment against the registrant. Upon the written request to the Director additional time may be granted past the normal date of filing the semi-annual statement.
    (c) When more than one entity is involved in the distribution of a fertilizer, the last registrant who distributes to the consumer or end user is responsible for reporting the tonnage and paying the inspection fee.
    (d) All fees collected under this Section shall be paid to the Fertilizer Control Fund for activities related to the administration and enforcement of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-960, eff. 8-15-12; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)