Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(515 ILCS 5/20-55)
(from Ch. 56, par. 20-55)
License fees for non-residents.
Fees for licenses for
non-residents of the State of Illinois are as follows:
(a) For sport fishing devices as defined by Section
10-95, or spearing
devices as defined in Section 10-110, non-residents age 16 or older shall be
charged $31 for a fishing license to fish. For sport fishing devices as defined
by Section 10-95, or spearing devices as defined in Section 10-110, for a
period not to exceed 3 consecutive days fishing in the State of Illinois the
fee is $15.00.
For sport fishing devices as defined in Section 10-95,
devices as defined in Section 10-110, for 24 hours of fishing the fee is $10. This license does not exempt the licensee from
the salmon or inland trout stamp requirement.
(b) All non-residents before using any commercial fishing device
shall obtain a non-resident commercial fishing license, the fee for
which shall be $300, and a non-resident fishing license. Each and every commercial device shall be
licensed by a non-resident commercial fisherman as follows:
(1) For each 100 lineal yards, or fraction thereof,
of seine (excluding minnow seines) the fee is $36.
(2) For each device to fish with a 100 hook trot line
device, basket trap, hoop net, or dip net the fee is $6.
(3) For each 100 lineal yards, or fraction thereof,
of trammel net the fee is $36.
(4) For each 100 lineal yards, or fraction thereof,
of gill net the fee is $36.
All persons required to have and failing to have the license provided
for in subsection (a) of this Section shall be fined under Section 20-35
of this Code. Each person required to have and failing to have the
licenses required under subsection (b) of this Section shall be guilty of a
Class B misdemeanor.
All licenses provided for in this Section shall expire on March 31 of
each year; except that the 24-hour license for sport fishing devices or
spearing devices shall
expire 24 hours after the effective date and time listed on the face of the
license and licenses for sport fishing devices
devices for a period not to exceed 3 consecutive days fishing in the
State of Illinois as provided in subsection (a) of this Section shall
expire at midnight on the tenth day after issued, not counting the day
(Source: P.A. 99-78, eff. 7-20-15.)