Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
520 ILCS 5/2.26
(520 ILCS 5/2.26)
(from Ch. 61, par. 2.26)
Deer hunting permits.
Any person attempting to take deer shall first obtain a "Deer
Hunting Permit" issued by the Department in accordance with its administrative rules.
Those rules must provide for the issuance of the following types of resident deer archery permits: (i) a combination permit, consisting of one either-sex permit and one antlerless-only permit, (ii) a single antlerless-only permit, and (iii) a single either-sex permit. The fee for a Deer Hunting Permit to take deer with either bow and arrow or gun
shall not exceed $25 for residents of the State. The Department may by
administrative rule provide for non-resident deer hunting permits for which the
fee will not exceed $300 in 2005, $350 in 2006, and $400 in 2007 and thereafter except as provided below for non-resident landowners
and non-resident archery hunters. The Department may by
administrative rule provide for a non-resident archery deer permit consisting
of not more than 2 harvest tags at a total cost not to exceed $325 in 2005, $375 in 2006, and $425 in 2007 and thereafter.
The fees for a youth resident and non-resident archery deer permit shall be the same.
The Department shall create a pilot program during the special 3-day, youth-only deer hunting season to allow for youth deer hunting permits that are valid statewide, excluding those counties or portions of counties closed to firearm deer hunting. The Department shall adopt rules to implement the pilot program. Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to prohibit the Department from issuing Special Hunt Area Permits for the youth-only deer hunting season or establishing, through administrative rule, additional requirements pertaining to the youth-only deer hunting season on Department-owned or Department-managed sites, including site-specific quotas or drawings. The provisions of this paragraph are inoperative on and after January 1, 2023.
The standards and specifications for use of guns and bow and arrow for
deer hunting shall be established by administrative rule.
No person may have in his or her possession any firearm not authorized by
administrative rule for a specific hunting season when taking deer unless in accordance with the Firearm Concealed Carry Act.
Persons having a firearm deer hunting permit shall be permitted to
take deer only during the period from 1/2 hour before sunrise to
1/2 hour after sunset, and only during those days for which an open season is
established for the taking of deer by use of shotgun, handgun, rifle, or muzzle
Persons having an archery deer hunting permit shall be permitted to
take deer only during the period from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour
after sunset, and only during those days for which an open season is
established for the taking of deer by use of bow and arrow.
It shall be unlawful for any person to take deer by use of dogs,
horses, automobiles, aircraft or other vehicles, or by the use
or aid of bait or baiting of any kind. For the purposes of this Section, "bait" means any material, whether liquid or solid, including food, salt, minerals, and other products, except pure water, that can be ingested, placed, or scattered in such a manner as to attract or lure white-tailed deer. "Baiting" means the placement or scattering of bait to attract deer. An area is considered as baited during the presence
of and for 10 consecutive days following the removal of bait. Nothing in this Section shall prohibit the use of a dog to track wounded deer. Any person using a dog for tracking wounded deer must maintain physical control of the dog at all times by means of a maximum 50 foot lead attached to the dog's collar or harness. Tracking wounded deer is permissible at night, but at no time outside of legal deer hunting hours or seasons shall any person handling or accompanying a dog being used for tracking wounded deer be in possession of any firearm or archery device. Persons tracking wounded deer with a dog during the firearm deer seasons shall wear blaze orange or solid blaze pink color as required. Dog handlers tracking wounded deer with a dog are exempt from hunting license and deer permit requirements so long as they are accompanied by the licensed deer hunter who wounded the deer.
It shall be unlawful to possess or transport any wild deer which has
been injured or killed in any manner upon a public highway or public
right-of-way of this State unless exempted by administrative rule.
Persons hunting deer must have gun unloaded and no bow and arrow
device shall be carried with the arrow in the nocked position during
hours when deer hunting is unlawful.
It shall be unlawful for any person, having taken the legal limit of
deer by gun, to further participate with gun in any deer hunting party.
It shall be unlawful for any person, having taken the legal limit
of deer by bow and arrow, to further participate with bow and arrow in any
deer hunting party.
The Department may prohibit upland game hunting during the gun deer
season by administrative rule.
The Department shall not limit the number of non-resident, either-sex archery deer hunting permits to less than 20,000.
Any person who violates any of the provisions of this Section,
including administrative rules, shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
For the purposes of calculating acreage under this Section, the Department shall, after determining the total acreage of the applicable tract or tracts of land, round remaining fractional portions of an acre greater than or equal to half of an acre up to the next whole acre.
For the purposes of taking white-tailed deer, nothing in this Section shall be construed to prevent the manipulation, including mowing or cutting, of standing crops as a normal agricultural or soil stabilization practice, food plots, or normal agricultural practices, including planting, harvesting, and maintenance such as cultivating or the use of products designed for scent only and not capable of ingestion, solid or liquid, placed or scattered, in such a manner as to attract or lure deer. Such manipulation for the purpose of taking white-tailed deer may be further modified by administrative rule.
(Source: P.A. 101-81, eff. 7-12-19; 101-444, eff. 6-1-20; 102-237, eff. 1-1-22; 102-932, eff. 1-1-23