Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/12-609
(625 ILCS 5/12-609)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-609)
(a) No official or employee of the State, any
political subdivision thereof,
any county, municipality, or local authority,
owner or employee of any new vehicle dealer, used vehicle dealer, or vehicle
sell, trade or otherwise dispose of any motor
vehicle bearing equipment, markings, or other indicia of police
authority unless, prior to delivery of the vehicle, the equipment and
markings have been sufficiently altered or obliterated to remove the
appearance of such authority.
(b) A person may not operate on the highways of this State a vehicle
bearing the equipment, markings, or other indicia of police authority, unless
the vehicle is an authorized emergency vehicle as defined in Section 1-105 of
(c) This Section does not apply to vehicles bearing indicia of police
authority that are antique vehicles, as defined in Section 1-102.1, and are
registered as antique vehicles, as provided in Section 3-804.
(c-5) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit a manufacturer of authorized emergency vehicle equipment, markings, or other indicia, or the manufacturer's representative or authorized vendor, from temporarily mounting
the equipment, markings, or other indicia on a vehicle for demonstration purposes only. If the equipment, markings, or other indicia are not covered while the vehicle is operated upon a highway, the vehicle shall display signage indicating that the vehicle is out of service or not an emergency vehicle. The signage shall be displayed on all sides of the vehicle in letters at least 2 inches tall and one-half inch wide.
(d) Any police officer is authorized to seize any vehicle that is in
violation of this Section and to impound that vehicle, at the owner's expense,
until any equipment, markings, or other indicia of police authority have been
sufficiently removed, altered, or obliterated to remove the appearance of
(e) A person convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a petty
offense and subject to a fine of not less than $500 and not more than $1,000.
(Source: P.A. 97-1173, eff. 1-1-14