Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 5/13-103

    (625 ILCS 5/13-103) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-103)
    Sec. 13-103. Official testing stations - Fee - Permit - Bond. Upon the payment of a fee of $10 and the filing of an application by the proprietor of any vehicle service station or public or private garage upon forms furnished by the Department, accompanied by proof of experience, training and ability of the operator of the testing equipment, together with proof of installation of approved testing equipment as defined in Section 13-102 and the giving of a bond conditioned upon faithful observance of this Section and of rules and regulations issued by the Department in the amount of $1,000 with security approved by the Department, the Department shall issue a permit to the proprietor of such vehicle service station or garage to operate an Official Testing Station. Such permit shall expire 12 months following its issuance, but may be renewed annually by complying with the requirements set forth in this Section and upon the payment of a renewal fee of $10. Proprietors of official testing stations for which permits have been issued prior to the effective date of this Act may renew such permits for the renewal fee of $10 on the expiration of each 12 months following issuance of such permits, by complying with the requirements set forth in this Section. However, any city, village or incorporated town shall upon application to the Department and without payment of any fee or filing of any bond, but upon proof of experience, training and ability of the operator of the testing equipment, and proof of the installation of approved testing equipment as defined in Section 13-102, be issued a permit to operate such testing station as an Official Testing Station under this Act. The permit so issued shall at all times be displayed in a prominent place in the vehicle service station, garage or municipal testing station which is licensed as an Official Testing Station under this Act. No person or vehicle service station, garage or municipal testing station shall in any manner claim or represent himself or itself to be an official testing station unless a permit has been issued to him or it as provided in this Section.
    Any person or municipality who or which has received a permit under this Section may test his or its own second division vehicles and issue certificates of safety and conduct emission inspections of his or its own second division vehicles in accordance with the requirements of Section 13-109.1 with respect to any such second division vehicles owned, operated or controlled by him or it.
    Each such permit issued by the Department shall state on its face the location of the official testing station to be operated under the permit and safety tests shall be made only at such location. However, the Department may, upon application, authorize a change in the location of the official testing station and the removal of the testing equipment to the new location. Upon approval of such application, the Department shall issue an endorsement which the applicant shall affix to his permit. Such endorsement constitutes authority for the applicant to make such change in location and to remove his testing equipment at the times and to the places stated in the endorsement.
(Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00.)