Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(625 ILCS 5/3-408)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-408)
Grounds for refusing registration or certificate of title.
The Secretary of State shall refuse registration or any transfer of
registration upon any of the following grounds:
1. That the application contains any false or
fraudulent statement or that the applicant has failed to furnish required information or reasonable additional information requested by the Secretary of State or that the applicant is not entitled to the issuance of a certificate of title or registration of the vehicle under Chapter 3;
2. That the Secretary of State has reasonable ground
to believe that the vehicle is a stolen or embezzled vehicle or that the granting of registration would constitute a fraud against the rightful owner or other person having valid lien upon such vehicle;
3. That the registration of the vehicle stands
suspended or revoked for any reason as provided in the motor-vehicle laws of this State;
4. That the required fee has not been paid;
5. (a) In the case of medical transport vehicles and
vehicles designed to carry 15 or fewer passengers operated by a contract carrier transporting employees in the course of their employment on a highway of this State, that the application does not contain a copy of a completed Vehicle Inspection Report issued by the Department of Transportation which certifies that the vehicle has been determined to be in safe mechanical condition by a safety test administered within the preceding 6 months; and (b) in the case of medical transport vehicles, other than vehicles owned or operated by a unit of local government, proof of financial responsibility; or
6. That the applicant is 90 days or more delinquent
in court ordered child support payments or has been adjudicated in arrears in an amount equal to 90 days' obligation or more and has been found in contempt of court for failure to pay the support, subject to the requirements and procedures of Article VII of Chapter 7 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
(Source: P.A. 92-108, eff. 1-1-02.)