Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 5/3-805

    (625 ILCS 5/3-805) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-805)
    Sec. 3-805. Electric vehicles. Until January 1, 2020, the owner of a motor vehicle of the first division or a motor vehicle of the second division weighing 8,000 pounds or less propelled by an electric engine and not utilizing motor fuel, may register such vehicle for a fee not to exceed $35 for a 2-year registration period. The Secretary may, in his discretion, prescribe that electric vehicle registration plates be issued for an indefinite term, such term to correspond to the term of registration plates issued generally, as provided in Section 3-414.1. In no event may the registration fee for electric vehicles exceed $18 per registration year. Beginning on January 1, 2020, the registration fee for these vehicles shall be equal to the fee set forth in Section 3-806 for motor vehicles of the first division, other than Autocycles, Motorcycles, Motor Driven Cycles, and Pedalcycles. In addition to the registration fees, the Secretary shall assess an additional $100 per year in lieu of the payment of motor fuel taxes. $1 of the additional fees shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special Services Fund and the remainder of the additional fees shall be deposited into the Road Fund.
(Source: P.A. 101-32, eff. 6-28-19.)