Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 40/3-2

    (625 ILCS 40/3-2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 603-2)
    Sec. 3-2. Identification Number Application. The owner of each snowmobile requiring numbering by this State shall file an application for number with the Department on forms approved by it. The application shall be signed by the owner of the snowmobile and shall be accompanied by a fee of $30. When a snowmobile dealer sells a snowmobile the dealer shall, at the time of sale, require the buyer to complete an application for the registration certificate, collect the required fee and mail the application and fee to the Department no later than 15 days after the date of sale. Combination application-receipt forms shall be provided by the Department and the dealer shall furnish the buyer with the completed receipt showing that application for registration has been made. This completed receipt shall be in the possession of the user of the snowmobile until the registration certificate is received. No snowmobile dealer may charge an additional fee to the buyer for performing this service required under this subsection. However, no purchaser exempted under Section 3-11 of this Act shall be charged any fee or be subject to the other requirements of this Section. The application form shall so state in clear language the requirements of this Section and the penalty for violation near the place on the application form provided for indicating the intention to register in another jurisdiction. Each dealer shall maintain, for one year, a record in a form prescribed by the Department for each snowmobile sold. These records shall be open to inspection by the Department. Upon receipt of the application in approved form the Department shall enter the same upon the records of its office and issue to the applicant a certificate of number stating the number awarded to the snowmobile and the name and address of the owner.
    For the registration years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, the application shall be signed by the owner of the snowmobile and shall be accompanied by a fee of $45.
(Source: P.A. 96-1291, eff. 4-1-11; 97-1136, eff. 1-1-13.)