Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 40/3-5

    (625 ILCS 40/3-5) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 603-5)
    Sec. 3-5. Transfer of Identification Number. The purchaser of a snowmobile shall, within 15 days after acquiring same, make application to the Department for the transfer to him of the certificate of number issued to the snowmobile, giving his name, his address and the number of the snowmobile. The purchaser shall apply for a transfer-renewal for a fee of $30 for approximately 3 years. All transfers will bear September 30 expiration dates in the calendar year of expiration. Upon receipt of the application and fee, the Department shall transfer the certificate of number issued to the snowmobile to the new owner. Unless the application is made and fee paid within 30 days, the snowmobile shall be deemed to be without certificate of number and it shall be unlawful for any person to operate the snowmobile until the certificate is issued.
    For the registration years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, the purchaser shall apply for a transfer-renewal for a fee of $45 for approximately 3 years.
(Source: P.A. 96-1291, eff. 4-1-11.)