Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 40/3-8

    (625 ILCS 40/3-8) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 603-8)
    Sec. 3-8. Certificate of Number. Every certificate of number awarded under this Act shall continue in full force and effect for approximately 3 years unless sooner terminated or discontinued in accordance with this Act. All new certificates issued will bear September 30 expiration dates in the calendar year 3 years after the issuing date. Provided however, that the Department may, for purposes of implementing this Section, adopt rules for phasing in the issuance of new certificates and provide for 1, 2 or 3 year expiration dates and pro-rated payments or charges for each registration.
    All certificates shall be renewed for 3 years from the nearest September 30 for a fee of $30. All certificates will be considered invalid after October 15 of the year of expiration. All certificates expiring in a given year shall be renewed between April 1 and September 30 of that year, in order to allow sufficient time for processing.
    The Department shall issue "registration expiration decals" with all new certificates of number, all certificates of number transferred and renewed, and all certificates of number renewed. The decals issued for each year shall be of a different and distinct color from the decals of each year currently displayed. The decals shall be affixed to each side of the cowling of the snowmobile in the manner prescribed by the rules and regulations of the Department. The Department shall fix a day and month of the year on which certificates of number due to expire shall lapse and no longer be of any force and effect unless renewed pursuant to this Act.
    No number or registration expiration decal, except a sticker or number which may be required by a political subdivision, municipality, or state, other than the registration expiration decal issued to a snowmobile or granted reciprocity pursuant to this Act, shall be painted, attached, or otherwise displayed on either side of the cowling of such snowmobile.
    A dealer engaged in the manufacture, sale, or leasing of snowmobiles required to be numbered hereunder, upon application to the Department upon forms prescribed by it, may obtain certificates of number for use in the testing or demonstrating of such snowmobiles upon payment of $30 for each registration. Certificates of number so issued may be used by the applicant in the testing or demonstrating of snowmobiles by temporary placement of the registration expiration decals assigned by such certificates on the snowmobile so tested or demonstrated.
    For the registration years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, every certificate of number awarded under this Section shall be accompanied by a fee of $45.
(Source: P.A. 96-1291, eff. 4-1-11.)