Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

705 ILCS 135/15-70

    (705 ILCS 135/15-70)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-70. Conditional assessments. In addition to payments under one of the Schedule of Assessments 1 through 13 of this Act, the court shall also order payment of any of the following conditional assessment amounts for each sentenced violation in the case to which a conditional assessment is applicable, which shall be collected and remitted by the Clerk of the Circuit Court as provided in this Section:
        (1) arson, residential arson, or aggravated arson,
    
$500 per conviction to the State Treasurer for deposit into the Fire Prevention Fund;
        (2) child pornography under Section 11-20.1 of the
    
Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, $500 per conviction, unless more than one agency is responsible for the arrest in which case the amount shall be remitted to each unit of government equally:
            (A) if the arresting agency is an agency of a
        
unit of local government, $500 to the treasurer of the unit of local government for deposit into the unit of local government's General Fund, except that if the Department of State Police provides digital or electronic forensic examination assistance, or both, to the arresting agency then $100 to the State Treasurer for deposit into the State Crime Laboratory Fund; or
            (B) if the arresting agency is the Department of
        
State Police, $500 to the State Treasurer for deposit into the State Crime Laboratory Fund;
        (3) crime laboratory drug analysis for a
    
drug-related offense involving possession or delivery of cannabis or possession or delivery of a controlled substance as defined in the Cannabis Control Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, $100 reimbursement for laboratory analysis, as set forth in subsection (f) of Section 5-9-1.4 of the Unified Code of Corrections;
        (4) DNA analysis, $250 on each conviction in which it
    
was used to the State Treasurer for deposit into the State Offender DNA Identification System Fund as set forth in Section 5-4-3 of the Unified Code of Corrections;
        (5) DUI analysis, $150 on each sentenced violation
    
in which it was used as set forth in subsection (f) of Section 5-9-1.9 of the Unified Code of Corrections;
        (6) drug-related offense involving possession or
    
delivery of cannabis or possession or delivery of a controlled substance, other than methamphetamine, as defined in the Cannabis Control Act or the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an amount not less than the full street value of the cannabis or controlled substance seized for each conviction to be disbursed as follows:
            (A) 12.5% of the street value assessment shall be
        
paid into the Youth Drug Abuse Prevention Fund, to be used by the Department of Human Services for the funding of programs and services for drug-abuse treatment, and prevention and education services;
            (B) 37.5% to the county in which the charge was
        
prosecuted, to be deposited into the county General Fund;
            (C) 50% to the treasurer of the arresting law
        
enforcement agency of the municipality or county, or to the State Treasurer if the arresting agency was a state agency;
            (D) if the arrest was made in combination with
        
multiple law enforcement agencies, the clerk shall equitably allocate the portion in subparagraph (C) of this paragraph (6) among the law enforcement agencies involved in the arrest;
        (6.5) Kane County or Will County, in felony,
    
misdemeanor, local or county ordinance, traffic, or conservation cases, up to $30 as set by the county board under Section 5-1101.3 of the Counties Code upon the entry of a judgment of conviction, an order of supervision, or a sentence of probation without entry of judgment under Section 10 of the Cannabis Control Act, Section 410 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, Section 70 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, Section 12-4.3 or subdivision (b)(1) of Section 12-3.05 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, Section 10-102 of the Illinois Alcoholism and Other Drug Dependency Act, or Section 10 of the Steroid Control Act; except in local or county ordinance, traffic, and conservation cases, if fines are paid in full without a court appearance, then the assessment shall not be imposed or collected. Distribution of assessments collected under this paragraph (6.5) shall be as provided in Section 5-1101.3 of the Counties Code;
        (7) methamphetamine-related offense involving
    
possession or delivery of methamphetamine or any salt of an optical isomer of methamphetamine or possession of a methamphetamine manufacturing material as set forth in Section 10 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act with the intent to manufacture a substance containing methamphetamine or salt of an optical isomer of methamphetamine, an amount not less than the full street value of the methamphetamine or salt of an optical isomer of methamphetamine or methamphetamine manufacturing materials seized for each conviction to be disbursed as follows:
            (A) 12.5% of the street value assessment shall be
        
paid into the Youth Drug Abuse Prevention Fund, to be used by the Department of Human Services for the funding of programs and services for drug-abuse treatment, and prevention and education services;
            (B) 37.5% to the county in which the charge was
        
prosecuted, to be deposited into the county General Fund;
            (C) 50% to the treasurer of the arresting law
        
enforcement agency of the municipality or county, or to the State Treasurer if the arresting agency was a state agency;
            (D) if the arrest was made in combination with
        
multiple law enforcement agencies, the clerk shall equitably allocate the portion in subparagraph (C) of this paragraph (6) among the law enforcement agencies involved in the arrest;
        (8) order of protection violation under Section
    
12-3.4 of the Criminal Code of 2012, $200 for each conviction to the county treasurer for deposit into the Probation and Court Services Fund for implementation of a domestic violence surveillance program and any other assessments or fees imposed under Section 5-9-1.16 of the Unified Code of Corrections;
        (9) order of protection violation, $25 for each
    
violation to the State Treasurer, for deposit into the Domestic Violence Abuser Services Fund;
        (10) prosecution by the State's Attorney of a:
            (A) petty or business offense, $4 to the county
        
treasurer of which $2 deposited into the State's Attorney Records Automation Fund and $2 into the Public Defender Records Automation Fund;
            (B) conservation or traffic offense, $2 to the
        
county treasurer for deposit into the State's Attorney Records Automation Fund;
        (11) speeding in a construction zone violation, $250
    
to the State Treasurer for deposit into the Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund, unless (i) the violation occurred on a highway other than an interstate highway and (ii) a county police officer wrote the ticket for the violation, in which case to the county treasurer for deposit into that county's Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund;
        (12) supervision disposition on an offense under the
    
Illinois Vehicle Code or similar provision of a local ordinance, 50 cents, unless waived by the court, into the Prisoner Review Board Vehicle and Equipment Fund;
        (13) victim and offender are family or household
    
members as defined in Section 103 of the Illinois Domestic Violence Act of 1986 and offender pleads guilty or no contest to or is convicted of murder, voluntary manslaughter, involuntary manslaughter, burglary, residential burglary, criminal trespass to residence, criminal trespass to vehicle, criminal trespass to land, criminal damage to property, telephone harassment, kidnapping, aggravated kidnaping, unlawful restraint, forcible detention, child abduction, indecent solicitation of a child, sexual relations between siblings, exploitation of a child, child pornography, assault, aggravated assault, battery, aggravated battery, heinous battery, aggravated battery of a child, domestic battery, reckless conduct, intimidation, criminal sexual assault, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, aggravated criminal sexual assault, criminal sexual abuse, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, violation of an order of protection, disorderly conduct, endangering the life or health of a child, child abandonment, contributing to dependency or neglect of child, or cruelty to children and others, $200 for each sentenced violation to the State Treasurer for deposit as follows: (i) for sexual assault, as defined in Section 5-9-1.7 of the Unified Code of Corrections, when the offender and victim are family members, one-half to the Domestic Violence Shelter and Service Fund, and one-half to the Sexual Assault Services Fund; (ii) for the remaining offenses to the Domestic Violence Shelter and Service Fund;
        (14) violation of Section 11-501 of the Illinois
    
Vehicle Code, Section 5-7 of the Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act, Section 5-16 of the Boat Registration and Safety Act, or a similar provision, whose operation of a motor vehicle, snowmobile, or watercraft while in violation of Section 11-501, Section 5-7 of the Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act, Section 5-16 of the Boat Registration and Safety Act, or a similar provision proximately caused an incident resulting in an appropriate emergency response, $1,000 maximum to the public agency that provided an emergency response related to the person's violation, and if more than one agency responded, the amount payable to public agencies shall be shared equally;
        (15) violation of Section 401, 407, or 407.2 of the
    
Illinois Controlled Substances Act that proximately caused any incident resulting in an appropriate drug-related emergency response, $1,000 as reimbursement for the emergency response to the law enforcement agency that made the arrest, and if more than one agency is responsible for the arrest, the amount payable to law enforcement agencies shall be shared equally;
        (16) violation of reckless driving, aggravated
    
reckless driving, or driving 26 miles per hour or more in excess of the speed limit that triggered an emergency response, $1,000 maximum reimbursement for the emergency response to be distributed in its entirety to a public agency that provided an emergency response related to the person's violation, and if more than one agency responded, the amount payable to public agencies shall be shared equally;
        (17) violation based upon each plea of guilty,
    
stipulation of facts, or finding of guilt resulting in a judgment of conviction or order of supervision for an offense under Section 10-9, 11-14.1, 11-14.3, or 11-18 of the Criminal Code of 2012 that results in the imposition of a fine, to be distributed as follows:
            (A) $50 to the county treasurer for deposit into
        
the Circuit Court Clerk Operation and Administrative Fund to cover the costs in administering this paragraph (17);
            (B) $300 to the State Treasurer who shall deposit
        
the portion as follows:
                (i) if the arresting or investigating agency
            
is the Department of State Police, into the State Police Law Enforcement Administration Fund;
                (ii) if the arresting or investigating agency
            
is the Department of Natural Resources, into the Conservation Police Operations Assistance Fund;
                (iii) if the arresting or investigating
            
agency is the Secretary of State, into the Secretary of State Police Services Fund;
                (iv) if the arresting or investigating agency
            
is the Illinois Commerce Commission, into the Transportation Regulatory Fund; or
                (v) if more than one of the State agencies in
            
this subparagraph (B) is the arresting or investigating agency, then equal shares with the shares deposited as provided in the applicable items (i) through (iv) of this subparagraph (B); and
            (C) the remainder for deposit into the
        
Specialized Services for Survivors of Human Trafficking Fund;
        (18) weapons violation under Section 24-1.1, 24-1.2,
    
or 24-1.5 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, $100 for each conviction to the State Treasurer for deposit into the Trauma Center Fund; and
        (19) violation of subsection (c) of Section 11-907 of
    
the Illinois Vehicle Code, $250 to the State Treasurer for deposit into the Scott's Law Fund, unless a county or municipal police officer wrote the ticket for the violation, in which case to the county treasurer for deposit into that county's or municipality's Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund to be used as provided in subsection (j) of Section 11-907 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
(Source: P.A. 100-987, eff. 7-1-19; 100-1161, eff. 7-1-19; 101-173, eff. 1-1-20; 101-636, eff. 6-10-20.)