Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(720 ILCS 5/16-25.2)
Retail loss prevention report and notice requirements.
(a) A retail mercantile establishment that is a victim of a violation of Section 16-25, 16-25.1, 17-10.6, or 25-4 shall have the right:
(1) to timely notification of all court proceedings
as defined under subsection (e) of Section 3 of the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act. Timely notice shall include 7 days' notice of any court proceedings. Timely notice shall be sent to the location of the retail mercantile establishment where the violation occurred and to the point of contact as provided by the retail mercantile establishment. The point of contact may be any employee of the retail mercantile establishment or representative as provided by the retail mercantile establishment;
(2) to communicate with the prosecution;
(3) to be reasonably heard at any post-arraignment
court proceeding in which a right of the victim is at issue and any court proceeding involving a post-arraignment release decision, plea, or sentencing;
(4) to be notified of the conviction, the sentence,
the imprisonment, and the release of the accused; and
(5) to have present at all court proceedings subject
to the rules of evidence an advocate of the retail mercantile establishment's choice.
(b) Unless a retail mercantile establishment refuses to file a report regarding the incident, the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction shall file a report concerning the incident with the State's Attorney. No law enforcement agent shall discourage or attempt to discourage a retail mercantile establishment from filing a police report concerning the incident. Upon the request of the retail mercantile establishment, the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction shall provide a free copy of the police report concerning the incident, as soon as practicable, but in no event later than 5 business days after the request. The Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board shall not consider any allegation of a violation of this subsection that is contained in a complaint made under Section 1-35 of the Police and Community Relations Improvement Act.
(Source: P.A. 102-757, eff. 5-13-22.)