Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
720 ILCS 5/3-5
(720 ILCS 5/3-5)
(from Ch. 38, par. 3-5)
(a) A prosecution for: (1) first degree murder, attempt to commit first
murder, second degree murder,
involuntary manslaughter, reckless homicide, a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code for the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident involving death or personal injuries under Section 11-401 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, failing to give information and render aid under Section 11-403 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, concealment of homicidal
death, treason, arson, residential arson, aggravated arson, forgery, child pornography under paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 11-20.1, or aggravated child pornography under paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 11-20.1B, or (2) any offense
involving sexual conduct or sexual penetration, as defined by
Section 11-0.1 of this Code may be commenced at any
(a-5) A prosecution for theft of property exceeding $100,000 in value under Section 16-1, identity theft under subsection (a) of Section 16-30, aggravated identity theft under subsection (b) of Section 16-30, financial exploitation of an elderly person or a person with a disability under Section 17-56; or any offense set forth in Article 16H or Section 17-10.6 may be commenced within 7 years of the last act committed in furtherance of the crime.
(b) Unless the statute describing the offense provides otherwise, or the
period of limitation is extended by Section 3-6, a prosecution for any
offense not designated in subsection (a) or (a-5) must be commenced within 3 years
after the commission of the offense if it is a felony, or within one year
and 6 months after its commission if it is a misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 100-149, eff. 1-1-18; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18; 101-130, eff. 1-1-20