Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

720 ILCS 678/7

    (720 ILCS 678/7)
    Sec. 7. Age verification and shipping requirements to prevent delivery sales to persons under 21 years of age.
    (a) No person, other than a delivery service, shall mail, ship, or otherwise cause to be delivered a shipping package in connection with a delivery sale unless the person:
        (1) prior to the first delivery sale to the
prospective consumer, obtains from the prospective consumer a written certification which includes a statement signed by the prospective consumer that certifies:
            (A) the prospective consumer's current address;
            (B) that the prospective consumer is at least
the legal minimum age;
        (2) informs, in writing, such prospective consumer
            (A) the signing of another person's name to the
certification described in this Section is illegal;
            (B) sales of cigarettes or electronic cigarettes
to individuals under 21 years of age are illegal;
            (C) the purchase of cigarettes or electronic
cigarettes by individuals under 21 years of age is illegal; and
            (D) the name and identity of the prospective
consumer may be reported to the state of the consumer's current address under the Act of October 19, 1949 (15 U.S.C. 375, et seq.), commonly known as the Jenkins Act;
        (3) makes a good faith effort to verify the date of
birth of the prospective consumer provided pursuant to this Section by:
            (A) comparing the date of birth against a
commercially available database; or
            (B) obtaining a photocopy or other image of a
valid, government-issued identification stating the date of birth or age of the prospective consumer;
        (4) provides to the prospective consumer a notice
that meets the requirements of subsection (b);
        (5) receives payment for the delivery sale from the
prospective consumer by a credit or debit card that has been issued in such consumer's name, or by a check or other written instrument in such consumer's name; however, no money order or cash payment shall be received or permitted and the seller shall submit to each credit card acquiring company with which it has credit card sales identification information in an appropriate form and format so that the words "tobacco product" may be printed in the purchaser's credit card statement when a purchase of a cigarette or electronic cigarette is made by credit card payment; and
        (6) ensures that the shipping package is delivered
to the same address as is shown on the government-issued identification or contained in the commercially available database. No delivery described under this Section shall be permitted to any post office box.
    (b) The notice required under this Section shall include:
        (1) a statement that cigarette and electronic
cigarette sales to consumers below 21 years of age are illegal;
        (2) a statement that sales of cigarettes and
electronic cigarettes are restricted to those consumers who provide verifiable proof of age in accordance with subsection (a);
        (3) a statement that cigarette or electronic
cigarette sales are subject to tax under Section 2 of the Cigarette Tax Act, Section 2 of the Cigarette Use Tax Act, Section 3 of the Use Tax Act, and Section 10-10 of the Tobacco Products Tax Act of 1995 and an explanation of how the correct tax has been, or is to be, paid with respect to such delivery sale.
    (c) A statement meets the requirement of this Section if:
        (1) the statement is clear and conspicuous;
        (2) the statement is contained in a printed box set
apart from the other contents of the communication;
        (3) the statement is printed in bold, capital
        (4) the statement is printed with a degree of color
contrast between the background and the printed statement that is no less than the color contrast between the background and the largest text used in the communication; and
        (5) for any printed material delivered by electronic
means, the statement appears at both the top and the bottom of the electronic mail message or both the top and the bottom of the Internet website homepage.
    (d) Each person, other than a delivery service, who mails, ships, or otherwise causes to be delivered a shipping package in connection with a delivery sale shall:
        (1) include as part of the shipping documents a clear
and conspicuous statement stating: "Cigarettes or Electronic Cigarettes: Illinois Law Prohibits Shipping to Individuals Under 21 and Requires the Payment of All Applicable Taxes";
        (2) use a method of mailing, shipping, or delivery
that requires a signature before the shipping package is released to the consumer; and
        (3) ensure that the shipping package is not delivered
to any post office box.
(Source: P.A. 101-2, eff. 7-1-19; 102-558, eff. 8-20-21; 102-575, eff. 1-1-22.)