Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

725 ILCS 5/110-14

    (725 ILCS 5/110-14) (from Ch. 38, par. 110-14)
    Sec. 110-14. Credit toward fines for pretrial incarceration.
    (a) Any person denied pretrial release and against whom a fine is levied on conviction of the offense shall be automatically credited $30 for each day so incarcerated upon application of the defendant. However, in no case shall the amount so credited exceed the amount of the fine.
    (b) Subsection (a) does not apply to a person incarcerated for sexual assault as defined in paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 5-9-1.7 of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    (c) A person subject to bail on a Category B offense, before January 1, 2023, shall have $30 deducted from his or her 10% cash bond amount every day the person is incarcerated. The sheriff shall calculate and apply this $30 per day reduction and send notice to the circuit clerk if a defendant's 10% cash bond amount is reduced to $0, at which point the defendant shall be released upon his or her own recognizance.
    (d) The court may deny the incarceration credit in subsection (c) of this Section if the person has failed to appear as required before the court and is incarcerated based on a warrant for failure to appear on the same original criminal offense.
    (e) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 101-408, eff. 1-1-20; P.A. 101-652, eff. 7-1-21. Repealed by P.A. 102-28. Reenacted by P.A. 102-687, eff. 12-17-21. P.A. 102-1104, eff. 12-6-22.)