Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
725 ILCS 5/112A-5.5
(725 ILCS 5/112A-5.5)
Time for filing petition; service on respondent, hearing on petition, and default orders.
(a) A petition for a protective order may be filed at any time, in-person or online, after a criminal charge or delinquency petition is filed and before the charge or delinquency petition is dismissed, the defendant or juvenile is acquitted, or the defendant or juvenile completes service of his or her sentence.
(b) The request for an ex parte protective order may be considered without notice to the respondent under Section 112A-17.5 of this Code.
(c) A summons shall be issued and served for a protective order. The summons may be served by delivery to the respondent personally in open court in the criminal or juvenile delinquency proceeding, in the form prescribed by subsection (d) of Supreme Court Rule 101, except that it shall require respondent to answer or appear within 7 days. Attachments to the summons shall include the petition for protective order, supporting affidavits, if any, and any ex parte protective order that has been issued.
(d) The summons shall be served by the sheriff or other law enforcement officer at the earliest time available and shall take precedence over any other summons, except those of a similar emergency nature. Attachments to the summons shall include the petition for protective order, supporting affidavits, if any, and any ex parte protective order that has been issued. Special process servers may be appointed at any time and their designation shall not affect the responsibilities and authority of the sheriff or other official process servers. In a county with a population over 3,000,000, a special process server may not be appointed if the protective order grants the surrender of a child, the surrender of a firearm or Firearm Owner's Identification Card, or the exclusive possession of a shared residence.
(e) If the respondent is not served within 30 days of the filing of the petition, the court shall schedule a court proceeding on the issue of service. Either the petitioner, the petitioner's counsel, or the State's Attorney shall appear and the court shall either order continued attempts at personal service or shall order service by publication, in accordance with Sections 2-203, 2-206, and 2-207 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
(f) The request for a final protective order can be considered at any court proceeding in the delinquency or criminal case after service of the petition. If the petitioner has not been provided notice of the court proceeding at least 10 days in advance of the proceeding, the court shall schedule a hearing on the petition and provide notice to the petitioner.
(f-5) A court in a county with a population above 250,000 shall offer the option of a remote hearing to a petitioner for a protective order. The court has the discretion to grant or deny the request for a remote hearing. Each court shall determine the procedure for a remote hearing. The petitioner and respondent may appear remotely or in-person.
The court shall issue and publish a court order, standing order, or local rule detailing information about the process for requesting and participating in a remote court appearance. The court order, standing order, or local rule shall be published on the court's website and posted on signs throughout the courthouse, including in the clerk's office. The sign shall be written in plain language and include information about the availability of remote court appearances and the process for requesting a remote hearing.
(g) Default orders.
(1) A final domestic violence order of protection may
(A) for any of the remedies sought in the
petition, if respondent has been served with documents under subsection (b) or (c) of this Section and if respondent fails to appear on the specified return date or any subsequent hearing date agreed to by the petitioner and respondent or set by the court; or
(B) for any of the remedies provided under
paragraph (1), (2), (3), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (10), (11), (14), (15), (17), or (18) of subsection (b) of Section 112A-14 of this Code, or if the respondent fails to answer or appear in accordance with the date set in the publication notice or the return date indicated on the service of a household member.
(2) A final civil no contact order may be entered by
default for any of the remedies provided in Section 112A-14.5 of this Code, if respondent has been served with documents under subsection (b) or (c) of this Section, and if the respondent fails to answer or appear in accordance with the date set in the publication notice or the return date indicated on the service of a household member.
(3) A final stalking no contact order may be entered
by default for any of the remedies provided by Section 112A-14.7 of this Code, if respondent has been served with documents under subsection (b) or (c) of this Section and if the respondent fails to answer or appear in accordance with the date set in the publication notice or the return date indicated on the service of a household member.
(Source: P.A. 102-853, eff. 1-1-23