Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

730 ILCS 150/5-5

    (730 ILCS 150/5-5)
    Sec. 5-5. Discharge of sex offender or sexual predator from a hospital or other treatment facility; duties of the official in charge. Any sex offender, as defined in Section 2 of this Act, or sexual predator, as defined in this Article, who is discharged or released from a hospital or other treatment facility where he or she was confined shall be informed by the hospital or treatment facility in which he or she was confined, prior to discharge or release from the hospital or treatment facility, of his or her duty to register under this Article.
    The facility shall require the person to read and sign such form as may be required by the Illinois State Police stating that the duty to register and the procedure for registration has been explained to him or her and that he or she understands the duty to register and the procedure for registration. The facility shall give one copy of the form to the person, retain one copy for their records, and forward the original to the Illinois State Police. The facility shall obtain information about where the person expects to reside, work, and attend school upon his or her discharge, parole, or release and shall report the information to the Illinois State Police within 3 days. The facility or institution shall also inform any person who must register that if he or she establishes a residence outside of the State of Illinois, is employed outside of the State of Illinois, or attends school outside of the State of Illinois, he or she must register in the new state within 3 days after establishing the residence, beginning school, or beginning employment. The Illinois State Police shall notify the law enforcement agencies having jurisdiction where the person expects to reside, work, and attend school upon his or her release.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)