Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

735 ILCS 5/15-1504.5

    (735 ILCS 5/15-1504.5)
    Sec. 15-1504.5. Homeowner notice to be attached to summons. For all residential foreclosure actions filed, the plaintiff must attach a Homeowner Notice to the summons. The Homeowner Notice must be in at least 12 point type and in English and Spanish. The Spanish translation shall be prepared by the Attorney General and posted on the Attorney General's website. A notice that includes the Attorney General's Spanish translation in substantially similar form shall be deemed to comply with the Spanish notice requirement in this Section. The Notice must be in substantially the following form:

        1. POSSESSION: The lawful occupants of a home have the right to
live in the home until a judge enters an eviction order.
        2. OWNERSHIP: You continue to own your home until the court rules
        3. REINSTATEMENT: As the homeowner you have the right to bring the
mortgage current within 90 days after you receive the summons.
        4. REDEMPTION: As the homeowner you have the right to sell your
home, refinance, or pay off the loan during the redemption period.
        5. SURPLUS: As the homeowner you have the right to petition the
court for any excess money that results from a foreclosure sale of your home.
        6. WORKOUT OPTIONS: The mortgage company does not want to foreclose on
your home if there is any way to avoid it. Call your mortgage company [insert name of the homeowner's current mortgage servicer in bold and 14 point type] or its attorneys to find out the alternatives to foreclosure.
        7. PAYOFF AMOUNT: You have the right to obtain a written statement of
the amount necessary to pay off your loan. Your mortgage company (identified above) must provide you this statement within 10 business days of receiving your request, provided that your request is in writing and includes your name, the address of the property, and the mortgage account or loan number. Your first payoff statement will be free.
        8. GET ADVICE: This information is not exhaustive and does not
replace the advice of a professional. You may have other options. Get professional advice from a lawyer or certified housing counselor about your rights and options to avoid foreclosure.
        9. LAWYER: If you do not have a lawyer, you may be able to
find assistance by contacting the Illinois State Bar Association or a legal aid organization that provides free legal assistance.
        10. PROCEED WITH CAUTION: You may be contacted by people offering to help you
avoid foreclosure. Before entering into any transaction with persons offering to help you, please contact a lawyer, government official, or housing counselor for advice.
(Source: P.A. 100-173, eff. 1-1-18.)