Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

740 ILCS 82/20

    (740 ILCS 82/20)
    Sec. 20. Limitation. An action based on gender-related violence as defined in paragraph (1) or (2) of Section 5 must be commenced within 7 years after the cause of action accrued, except that if the person entitled to bring the action was a minor at the time the cause of action accrued, the action must be commenced within 7 years after the person reaches the age of 18. An action based on gender-related violence as defined in paragraph (3) of Section 5 must be commenced within 2 years after the cause of action accrued, except that if the person entitled to bring the action was a minor at the time the cause of action accrued, the action must be commenced within 2 years after the person reaches the age of 18.
(Source: P.A. 93-416, eff. 1-1-04.)