Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

765 ILCS 905/4

    (765 ILCS 905/4) (from Ch. 95, par. 54)
    Sec. 4. If any mortgagee or trustee, in a deed in the nature of a mortgage, of real property, or his or her executor or administrator, heirs or assigns, knowing the same to be paid, shall not, within 30 days after the payment of the debt secured by such mortgage or trust deed, comply with the requirements of Section 2 of this Act, he or she shall, for every such offense, be liable for and pay to the party aggrieved the sum of $200 which may be recovered by the party aggrieved in a civil action, together with reasonable attorney's fees. In any such action, introduction of a loan payment book or receipt which indicates that the obligation has been paid shall be sufficient evidence to raise a presumption that the obligation has been paid. Upon a finding for the party aggrieved, the court shall order the mortgagee or trustee, or his or her executor or administrator, heirs or assigns, to make, execute and deliver the release as provided in Section 2 of this Act. The successor in interest to the mortgagee or trustee in a deed in the nature of a mortgage shall not be liable for the penalty prescribed in this Section if he or she complies with the requirements of Section 2 of this Act within 30 days after succeeding to the interest.
(Source: P.A. 101-97, eff. 1-1-20.)