Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

765 ILCS 1030/3

    (765 ILCS 1030/3) (from Ch. 141, par. 143)
    Sec. 3. If the identity or location of the owner or other person entitled to possession of the property has not been ascertained within 6 months after the police department or other law enforcement agency obtains such possession, the sheriff, chief of police or other principal official thereof shall effectuate the sale of the property for cash to the highest bidder at a public auction, notice of which (including time, place and a brief description of such property) shall be published at least once in a newspaper of general circulation in the county wherein such official has authority at least 10 days prior to such auction. However, if the sheriff, chief of police, or other principal law enforcement official determines that the interests of the public would best be served thereby, he or she may donate property that is worth less than $100, if the donation is approved by the governing body of which the law enforcement agency is a part, to a charitable organization that is currently registered in the State of Illinois, transfer custody of the property to the government of which his or her law enforcement agency is a branch, or if the property is in the custody of a State law enforcement agency, it may be transferred to the Department of Central Management Services, rather than effectuating the sale of the property by public auction. Property offered but not sold at such public auction may be offered and sold at a subsequent public auction without such notice.
(Source: P.A. 97-28, eff. 1-1-12.)