Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

775 ILCS 5/2-109

    (775 ILCS 5/2-109)
    Sec. 2-109. Sexual harassment prevention training.
    (A) The General Assembly finds that the organizational tolerance of sexual harassment has a detrimental influence in workplaces by creating a hostile environment for employees, reducing productivity, and increasing legal liability. It is the General Assembly's intent to encourage employers to adopt and actively implement policies to ensure their workplaces are safe for employees to report concerns about sexual harassment without fear of retaliation, loss of status, or loss of promotional opportunities.
    (B) The Department shall produce a model sexual harassment prevention training program aimed at the prevention of sexual harassment in the workplace. The model program shall be made available to employers and to the public online at no cost. This model program shall include, at a minimum, the following:
        (1) an explanation of sexual harassment consistent
with this Act;
        (2) examples of conduct that constitutes unlawful
sexual harassment;
        (3) a summary of relevant federal and State statutory
provisions concerning sexual harassment, including remedies available to victims of sexual harassment; and
        (4) a summary of responsibilities of employers in the
prevention, investigation, and corrective measures of sexual harassment.
    (C) Except for those employers subject to the requirements of Section 5-10.5 of the State Officials and Employees Ethics Act, every employer with employees working in this State shall use the model sexual harassment prevention training program created by the Department or establish its own sexual harassment prevention training program that equals or exceeds the minimum standards in subsection (B). The sexual harassment prevention training shall be provided at least once a year to all employees. For the purposes of satisfying the requirements under this Section, the Department's model sexual harassment prevention training program may be used to supplement any existing program an employer is utilizing or develops.
    (D) If an employer violates this Section, the Department shall issue a notice to show cause giving the employer 30 days to comply. If the employer does not comply within 30 days, the Department shall petition the Human Rights Commission for entry of an order imposing a civil penalty against the employer pursuant to Section 8-109.1. The civil penalty shall be paid into the Department of Human Rights Training and Development Fund.
(Source: P.A. 101-221, eff. 1-1-20.)