Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
815 ILCS 205/4.1a
(815 ILCS 205/4.1a)
(from Ch. 17, par. 6406)
Charges for and cost of the following items paid or
incurred by any lender in connection with any loan shall not be deemed
to be charges for or in connection with any loan of money referred to in
Section 6 of this Act, or charges by the lender as a consideration for
the loan referred to in this Section:
(a) hazard, mortgage or life insurance premiums,
survey, credit report, title insurance, abstract and attorneys' fees, recording charges, escrow and appraisal fees, and similar charges.
(b) in the case of construction loans, in addition to
the matters referred to in clause (a) above, the actual cost incurred by the lender for services for making physical inspections, processing payouts, examining and reviewing contractors' and subcontractors' sworn statements and waivers of lien and the like.
(c) in the case of any loan made pursuant to the
provisions of the Emergency Home Purchase Assistance Act of 1974 (Section 313 of the National Housing Act, Chapter B of Title 12 of the United States Code), in addition to the matters referred to in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Section all charges required or allowed by the Government National Mortgage Association, whether designated as processing fees, commitment fees, loss reserve and marketing fees, discounts, origination fees or otherwise designated.
(d) in the case of a single payment loan, made for a
period of 6 months or less, a regulated financial institution or licensed lender may contract for and receive a maximum charge of $15 in lieu of interest. Such charge may be collected when the loan is made, but only one such charge may be contracted for, received, or collected for any such loan, including any extension or renewal thereof.
(e) if the agreement governing the loan so provides,
a charge not to exceed the rate permitted under Section 3-806 of the Uniform Commercial Code-Commercial Paper for any check, draft or order for the payment of money submitted in accordance with said agreement which is unpaid or not honored by a bank or other depository institution.
(f) if the agreement governing the loan so provides,
for each loan installment in default for a period of not less than 10 days, a charge in an amount not in excess of 5% of such loan installment. Only one delinquency charge may be collected on any such loan installment regardless of the period during which it remains in default. Payments timely received by the lender under a written extension or deferral agreement shall not be subject to any delinquency charge.
Notwithstanding items (k) and (l) of subsection (1) of Section 4 of this Act, the lender, in the case of any nonexempt residential mortgage loan, as defined in Section 1-4 of the Residential Mortgage License Act of 1987, other than a high risk home loan as defined in Section 10 of the High Risk Home Loan Act, shall have the right to include a prepayment penalty that extends no longer than the fixed rate period of a variable rate mortgage provided that, if a prepayment is made during the fixed rate period and not in connection with the sale or destruction of the dwelling securing the loan, the lender shall receive an amount that is no more than:
(1) 3% of the total loan amount if the prepayment is
made within the first 12-month period following the date the loan was made;
(2) 2% of the total loan amount if the prepayment is
made within the second 12-month period following the date the loan was made; or
(3) 1% of the total loan amount if the prepayment is
made within the third 12-month period following the date the loan was made, if the fixed rate period extends 3 years.
This Section applies to loans made, refinanced, renewed, extended, or modified on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly.
Where there is a charge in addition to the stated rate of interest
payable directly or indirectly by the borrower and imposed directly or
indirectly by the lender as a consideration for the loan, or for or in
connection with the loan of money, whether paid or payable by the
borrower, the seller, or any other person on behalf of the borrower to
the lender or to a third party, or for or in connection with the loan of
money, other than as hereinabove in this Section provided, whether
denominated "points," "service charge," "discount," "commission," or
otherwise, and without regard to declining balances of principal which
would result from any required or optional amortization of the principal
of the loan, the rate of interest shall be calculated in the following
The percentage of the principal amount of the loan represented by all
of such charges shall first be computed, which in the case of a loan
with an interest rate in excess of 8% per annum secured by residential
real estate, other than loans described in paragraphs (e) and (f) of
Section 4, shall not exceed 3% of such principal amount. Said
percentage shall then be divided by the number of years and fractions
thereof of the period of the loan according to its stated maturity. The
percentage thus obtained shall then be added to the percentage of the
stated annual rate of interest.
P.A. 97-849, eff. 1-10-14 (see Section 10 of P.A. 97-1159, 78 Fed. Reg. 6855, 6857, 78 Fed. Reg. 10695, 10696, and 78 Fed. Reg. 44685, 44686).)