Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(820 ILCS 140/7)
(from Ch. 48, par. 8g)
(Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-828
Any employer who violates any of the provisions of this Act, shall be
guilty of a petty offense, and shall be fined for each offense in a sum of
not less than $25 nor more than $100.
(Source: P.A. 77-2418
(Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-828
(a) Any employer who violates Sections 2, 3, or 3.1 shall be
guilty of a civil offense, and shall be subject to a civil penalty as follows:
(1) For an employer with fewer than 25 employees, a
penalty not to exceed $250 per offense, payable to the Department of Labor, and damages of up to $250 per offense, payable to the employee or employees affected.
(2) For an employer with 25 or more employees, a
penalty not to exceed $500 per offense, payable to the Department of Labor, and damages of up to $500 per offense, payable to the employee or employees affected.
(b) An offense under this Act shall be determined on an individual basis for each employee whose rights are violated.
(1) Each week that an employee is found to not have
been allowed 24 consecutive hours of rest as required in Section 2 shall constitute a separate offense.
(2) Each day that an employee is found not to have
been provided a meal period as required in Section 3 shall constitute a separate offense.
(3) A violation of Section 8.5 shall constitute a
single offense, and is subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $250 payable to the Department of Labor.
(c) The Director of Labor shall enforce this Act in accordance with the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act. The Director of Labor shall have the powers and the parties shall have the rights provided in the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act for contested cases, including, but not limited to, provisions for depositions, subpoena power and procedures, and discovery and protective order procedures.
(d) Any funds collected by the Department of Labor under this Act shall be deposited into the Child Labor and Day and Temporary Labor Services Enforcement Fund.
(Source: P.A. 102-828, eff. 1-1-23.)