Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

820 ILCS 180/35

    (820 ILCS 180/35)
    Sec. 35. Enforcement.
    (a) Department of Labor.
        (1) The Director or his or her authorized
representative shall administer and enforce the provisions of this Act. Any employee or a representative of employees who believes his or her rights under this Act have been violated may, within 3 years after the alleged violation occurs, file a complaint with the Department requesting a review of the alleged violation. A copy of the complaint shall be sent to the person who allegedly committed the violation, who shall be the respondent. Upon receipt of a complaint, the Director shall cause such investigation to be made as he or she deems appropriate. The investigation shall provide an opportunity for a public hearing at the request of any party to the review to enable the parties to present information relating to the alleged allegation. The parties shall be given written notice of the time and place of the hearing at least 7 days before the hearing. Upon receiving the report of the investigation, the Director shall make findings of fact. If the Director finds that a violation did occur, he or she shall issue a decision incorporating his or her findings and requiring the party committing the violation to take such affirmative action to abate the violation as the Director deems appropriate, including:
            (A) damages equal to the amount of wages, salary,
employment benefits, public assistance, or other compensation denied or lost to such individual by reason of the violation, and the interest on that amount calculated at the prevailing rate;
            (B) such equitable relief as may be appropriate,
including but not limited to hiring, reinstatement, promotion, and reasonable accommodations; and
            (C) reasonable attorney's fees, reasonable expert
witness fees, and other costs of the action to be paid by the respondent to a prevailing employee.
        If the Director finds that there was no violation, he
or she shall issue an order denying the complaint. An order issued by the Director under this Section shall be final and subject to judicial review under the Administrative Review Law.
        (2) The Director shall adopt rules necessary to
administer and enforce this Act in accordance with the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act. The Director shall have the powers and the parties shall have the rights provided in the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act for contested cases, including, but not limited to, provisions for depositions, subpoena power and procedures, and discovery and protective order procedures.
        (3) Intervention. The Attorney General of Illinois
may intervene on behalf of the Department if the Department certifies that the case is of general public importance. Upon such intervention the court may award such relief as is authorized to be granted to an employee who has filed a complaint or whose representative has filed a complaint under this Section.
    (b) Refusal to pay damages. Any employer who has been ordered by the Director of Labor or the court to pay damages under this Section and who fails to do so within 30 days after the order is entered is liable to pay a penalty of 1% per calendar day to the employee for each day of delay in paying the damages to the employee.
(Source: P.A. 93-591, eff. 8-25-03.)