Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

820 ILCS 205/12.5

    (820 ILCS 205/12.5)
    Sec. 12.5. Child performers; trust fund.
    (a) In this Section:
    "Artistic or creative services" includes, but is not limited to, services as: an actor, actress, dancer, musician, comedian, singer, stunt person, voice-over artist, runway or print model, other performer or entertainer, songwriter, musical producer, arranger, writer, director, producer, production executive, choreographer, composer, conductor, or designer.
    "Child performer" means an unemancipated person under the age of 16 who is employed in this State and who agrees to render artistic or creative services.
    (b) In addition to the requirements of Section 12, the person authorized to issue employment certificates must determine that a trust account, established by the child performer's parent or guardian, that meets the requirements of subsection (c) has been established designating the minor as the beneficiary of the trust account before an employment certificate for work as a child performer may be issued for a minor under the age of 16 years. The person authorized to issue employment certificates shall issue a temporary employment certificate having a duration of not more than 15 days without the establishment of a trust fund to permit a minor to provide artistic or creative services. No more than one temporary employment certificate may be issued for each child performer. The Department of Labor shall prescribe the form in which temporary employment certificates shall be issued and shall make the forms available on its website.
    (c) A trust account subject to this Section must provide, at a minimum, the following:
        (1) that at least 15% of the gross earnings of the
child performer shall be deposited into the account;
        (2) that the funds in the account shall be available
only to the child performer;
        (3) that the account shall be held by a bank,
corporate fiduciary, or trust company, as those terms are defined in the Corporate Fiduciary Act;
        (4) that the funds in the account shall become
available to the child performer upon the child performer attaining the age of 18 years or until the child performer is declared emancipated; and
        (5) that the account meets the requirements of the
Illinois Uniform Transfers to Minors Act.
    (d) The parent or guardian of the child performer shall provide the employer with the information necessary to transfer moneys into the trust account. Once the child performer's employer deposits the money into the trust account, the child performer's employer shall have no further obligation or duty to monitor or account for the money. The trustee or trustees of the trust shall be the only individual, individuals, entity, or entities with the obligation or duty to monitor and account for money once it has been deposited by the child performer's employer.
    (e) If the parent or guardian of the child performer fails to provide the employer with the information necessary to transfer funds into the trust account within 30 days after an employment certificate has been issued, the funds that were to be transferred to the trust account shall be transferred to the Office of the State Treasurer in accordance with Section 15-608 of the Revised Uniform Unclaimed Property Act.
    (f) This Section does not apply to an employer of a child performer employed to perform services as an extra, services as a background performer, or services in a similar capacity.
    (g) The Department of Labor may adopt rules to implement this Section.
(Source: P.A. 101-526, eff. 1-1-20.)