Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

SCHOOLS
(105 ILCS 5/) School Code.

105 ILCS 5/27-5

    (105 ILCS 5/27-5) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-5)
    Sec. 27-5. Physical education and training. School boards of public schools and the Board of Governors of State Colleges and Universities shall provide for the physical education and training of pupils of the schools and laboratory schools under their respective control, and shall include physical education and training in the courses of study regularly taught therein. The physical education and training course offered in grades 5 through 10 may include the health education course required in the Critical Health Problems and Comprehensive Health Education Act.
(Source: P.A. 89-618, eff. 8-9-96.)

105 ILCS 5/27-6

    (105 ILCS 5/27-6) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-6)
    Sec. 27-6. Courses in physical education required; special activities.
    (a) Pupils enrolled in the public schools and State universities engaged in preparing teachers shall be required to engage during the school day, except on block scheduled days for those public schools engaged in block scheduling, in courses of physical education for such periods as are compatible with the optimum growth and developmental needs of individuals at the various age levels except when appropriate excuses are submitted to the school by a pupil's parent or guardian or by a person licensed under the Medical Practice Act of 1987 and except as provided in subsection (b) of this Section. A school board may determine the schedule or frequency of physical education courses, provided that a pupil engages in a course of physical education for a minimum of 3 days per 5-day week.
    Special activities in physical education shall be provided for pupils whose physical or emotional condition, as determined by a person licensed under the Medical Practice Act of 1987, prevents their participation in the courses provided for normal children.
    (b) A school board is authorized to excuse pupils enrolled in grades 11 and 12 from engaging in physical education courses if those pupils request to be excused for any of the following reasons: (1) for ongoing participation in an interscholastic athletic program; (2) to enroll in academic classes which are required for admission to an institution of higher learning, provided that failure to take such classes will result in the pupil being denied admission to the institution of his or her choice; or (3) to enroll in academic classes which are required for graduation from high school, provided that failure to take such classes will result in the pupil being unable to graduate. A school board may also excuse pupils in grades 9 through 12 enrolled in a marching band program for credit from engaging in physical education courses if those pupils request to be excused for ongoing participation in such marching band program. A school board may also, on a case-by-case basis, excuse pupils in grades 7 through 12 who participate in an interscholastic or extracurricular athletic program from engaging in physical education courses. In addition, a pupil in any of grades 3 through 12 who is eligible for special education may be excused if the pupil's parent or guardian agrees that the pupil must utilize the time set aside for physical education to receive special education support and services or, if there is no agreement, the individualized education program team for the pupil determines that the pupil must utilize the time set aside for physical education to receive special education support and services, which agreement or determination must be made a part of the individualized education program. However, a pupil requiring adapted physical education must receive that service in accordance with the individualized education program developed for the pupil. If requested, a school board is authorized to excuse a pupil from engaging in a physical education course if the pupil has an individualized educational program under Article 14 of this Code, is participating in an adaptive athletic program outside of the school setting, and documents such participation as determined by the school board. A school board may also excuse pupils in grades 9 through 12 enrolled in a Reserve Officer's Training Corps (ROTC) program sponsored by the school district from engaging in physical education courses. School boards which choose to exercise this authority shall establish a policy to excuse pupils on an individual basis.
    (b-5) A pupil shall be excused from engaging in any physical activity components of a physical education course during a period of religious fasting if the pupil's parent or guardian notifies the school principal in writing that the pupil is participating in religious fasting.
    (c) The provisions of this Section are subject to the provisions of Section 27-22.05.
(Source: P.A. 102-405, eff. 8-19-21.)

105 ILCS 5/27-6.3

    (105 ILCS 5/27-6.3)
    Sec. 27-6.3. Play time required in elementary school.
    (a) All public schools shall provide daily time for supervised, unstructured, child-directed play for all students in kindergarten through grade 5. Play time must allow unstructured play, and may include organized games, but shall not include the use of computers, tablets, phones, or videos. Schools are encouraged to provide play time outdoors, but it may be held indoors. If play time is held indoors, schools are encouraged to provide it in a space that promotes physical activity. Time spent dressing or undressing for outdoor play time shall not count towards the daily time for play.
    (b) Play time shall not count as a course of physical education that fulfills the requirements of Section 27-6, nor shall time spent in a course of physical education count towards the daily time for play.
    (c) Play time shall be considered clock hours for the purposes of Section 10-19.05. For any school day 5 clock hours or longer in length, the total time allotted for play for students in kindergarten through grade 5 must be at least 30 minutes. For any school day less than 5 clock hours in length, the total time allotted for play each school day must be at least one-tenth of a day of attendance for the student pursuant to Section 10-19.05. Play time may be divided into play periods of at least 15 consecutive minutes in length.
    (d) For students with disabilities, play time shall comply with a student's applicable individualized education program (IEP) or federal Section 504 plan.
    (e) All public schools shall prohibit the withholding of play time as a disciplinary or punitive action, except when a student's participation in play time poses an immediate threat to the safety of the student or others. School officials shall make all reasonable efforts to resolve such threats and minimize the use of exclusion from play to the greatest extent practicable and in accordance with subsection (d).
(Source: P.A. 102-357, eff. 8-13-21.)

105 ILCS 5/27-6.5

    (105 ILCS 5/27-6.5)
    Sec. 27-6.5. Physical fitness assessments in schools.
    (a) As used in this Section, "physical fitness assessment" means a series of assessments to measure aerobic capacity, body composition, muscular strength, muscular endurance, and flexibility.
    (b) To measure the effectiveness of State Goal 20 of the Illinois Learning Standards for Physical Development and Health, beginning with the 2016-2017 school year and every school year thereafter, the State Board of Education shall require all public schools to use a scientifically-based, health-related physical fitness assessment for grades 3 through 12 and periodically report fitness information to the State Board of Education, as set forth in subsections (c) and (e) of this Section, to assess student fitness indicators.
    Public schools shall integrate health-related fitness testing into the curriculum as an instructional tool, except in grades before the 3rd grade. Fitness tests must be appropriate to students' developmental levels and physical abilities. The testing must be used to teach students how to assess their fitness levels, set goals for improvement, and monitor progress in reaching their goals. Fitness scores shall not be used for grading students or evaluating teachers.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) The State Board of Education must adopt rules for the implementation of physical fitness assessments under this Section by each public school. The requirements of this Section do not apply if the Governor has declared a disaster due to a public health emergency pursuant to Section 7 of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act.
    (e) The State Board of Education shall adopt rules for data submission by school districts and develop a system for collecting and reporting the aggregated fitness information from the physical fitness assessments. This system shall also support the collection of data from school districts that use a fitness testing software program.
    (f) School districts may report the aggregate findings of physical fitness assessments by grade level and school to parents and members of the community through typical communication channels, such as Internet websites, school newsletters, school board reports, and presentations. Districts may also provide individual fitness assessment reports to students' parents.
    (g) Nothing in this Section precludes schools from implementing a physical fitness assessment before the 2016-2017 school year or from implementing more robust forms of a physical fitness assessment.
(Source: P.A. 101-643, eff. 6-18-20; 102-539, eff. 8-20-21.)

105 ILCS 5/27-7

    (105 ILCS 5/27-7) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-7)
    Sec. 27-7. Physical education course of study. A physical education course of study shall include a developmentally planned and sequential curriculum that fosters the development of movement skills, enhances health-related fitness, increases students' knowledge, offers direct opportunities to learn how to work cooperatively in a group setting, and encourages healthy habits and attitudes for a healthy lifestyle. A physical education course of study shall provide students with an opportunity for an appropriate amount of physical activity. A physical education course of study must be part of the regular school curriculum and not extra-curricular in nature or organization.
    The State Board of Education shall prepare and make available guidelines for the various grades and types of schools in order to make effective the purposes set forth in this Section and the requirements provided in Section 27-6, and shall see that the general provisions and intent of Sections 27-5 to 27-9, inclusive, are enforced.
(Source: P.A. 100-465, eff. 8-31-17.)

105 ILCS 5/27-8.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-8.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-8.1)
    Sec. 27-8.1. Health examinations and immunizations.
    (1) In compliance with rules and regulations which the Department of Public Health shall promulgate, and except as hereinafter provided, all children in Illinois shall have a health examination as follows: within one year prior to entering kindergarten or the first grade of any public, private, or parochial elementary school; upon entering the sixth and ninth grades of any public, private, or parochial school; prior to entrance into any public, private, or parochial nursery school; and, irrespective of grade, immediately prior to or upon entrance into any public, private, or parochial school or nursery school, each child shall present proof of having been examined in accordance with this Section and the rules and regulations promulgated hereunder. Any child who received a health examination within one year prior to entering the fifth grade for the 2007-2008 school year is not required to receive an additional health examination in order to comply with the provisions of Public Act 95-422 when he or she attends school for the 2008-2009 school year, unless the child is attending school for the first time as provided in this paragraph.
    A tuberculosis skin test screening shall be included as a required part of each health examination included under this Section if the child resides in an area designated by the Department of Public Health as having a high incidence of tuberculosis. Additional health examinations of pupils, including eye examinations, may be required when deemed necessary by school authorities. Parents are encouraged to have their children undergo eye examinations at the same points in time required for health examinations.
    (1.5) In compliance with rules adopted by the Department of Public Health and except as otherwise provided in this Section, all children in kindergarten and the second, sixth, and ninth grades of any public, private, or parochial school shall have a dental examination. Each of these children shall present proof of having been examined by a dentist in accordance with this Section and rules adopted under this Section before May 15th of the school year. If a child in the second, sixth, or ninth grade fails to present proof by May 15th, the school may hold the child's report card until one of the following occurs: (i) the child presents proof of a completed dental examination or (ii) the child presents proof that a dental examination will take place within 60 days after May 15th. A school may not withhold a child's report card during a school year in which the Governor has declared a disaster due to a public health emergency pursuant to Section 7 of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act. The Department of Public Health shall establish, by rule, a waiver for children who show an undue burden or a lack of access to a dentist. Each public, private, and parochial school must give notice of this dental examination requirement to the parents and guardians of students at least 60 days before May 15th of each school year.
    (1.10) Except as otherwise provided in this Section, all children enrolling in kindergarten in a public, private, or parochial school on or after January 1, 2008 (the effective date of Public Act 95-671) and any student enrolling for the first time in a public, private, or parochial school on or after January 1, 2008 (the effective date of Public Act 95-671) shall have an eye examination. Each of these children shall present proof of having been examined by a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches or a licensed optometrist within the previous year, in accordance with this Section and rules adopted under this Section, before October 15th of the school year. If the child fails to present proof by October 15th, the school may hold the child's report card until one of the following occurs: (i) the child presents proof of a completed eye examination or (ii) the child presents proof that an eye examination will take place within 60 days after October 15th. A school may not withhold a child's report card during a school year in which the Governor has declared a disaster due to a public health emergency pursuant to Section 7 of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act. The Department of Public Health shall establish, by rule, a waiver for children who show an undue burden or a lack of access to a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches who provides eye examinations or to a licensed optometrist. Each public, private, and parochial school must give notice of this eye examination requirement to the parents and guardians of students in compliance with rules of the Department of Public Health. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to allow a school to exclude a child from attending because of a parent's or guardian's failure to obtain an eye examination for the child.
    (2) The Department of Public Health shall promulgate rules and regulations specifying the examinations and procedures that constitute a health examination, which shall include an age-appropriate developmental screening, an age-appropriate social and emotional screening, and the collection of data relating to asthma and obesity (including at a minimum, date of birth, gender, height, weight, blood pressure, and date of exam), and a dental examination and may recommend by rule that certain additional examinations be performed. The rules and regulations of the Department of Public Health shall specify that a tuberculosis skin test screening shall be included as a required part of each health examination included under this Section if the child resides in an area designated by the Department of Public Health as having a high incidence of tuberculosis. With respect to the developmental screening and the social and emotional screening, the Department of Public Health must, no later than January 1, 2019, develop rules and appropriate revisions to the Child Health Examination form in conjunction with a statewide organization representing school boards; a statewide organization representing pediatricians; statewide organizations representing individuals holding Illinois educator licenses with school support personnel endorsements, including school social workers, school psychologists, and school nurses; a statewide organization representing children's mental health experts; a statewide organization representing school principals; the Director of Healthcare and Family Services or his or her designee, the State Superintendent of Education or his or her designee; and representatives of other appropriate State agencies and, at a minimum, must recommend the use of validated screening tools appropriate to the child's age or grade, and, with regard to the social and emotional screening, require recording only whether or not the screening was completed. The rules shall take into consideration the screening recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics and must be consistent with the State Board of Education's social and emotional learning standards. The Department of Public Health shall specify that a diabetes screening as defined by rule shall be included as a required part of each health examination. Diabetes testing is not required.
    Physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, licensed advanced practice registered nurses, or licensed physician assistants shall be responsible for the performance of the health examinations, other than dental examinations, eye examinations, and vision and hearing screening, and shall sign all report forms required by subsection (4) of this Section that pertain to those portions of the health examination for which the physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant is responsible. If a registered nurse performs any part of a health examination, then a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches must review and sign all required report forms. Licensed dentists shall perform all dental examinations and shall sign all report forms required by subsection (4) of this Section that pertain to the dental examinations. Physicians licensed to practice medicine in all its branches or licensed optometrists shall perform all eye examinations required by this Section and shall sign all report forms required by subsection (4) of this Section that pertain to the eye examination. For purposes of this Section, an eye examination shall at a minimum include history, visual acuity, subjective refraction to best visual acuity near and far, internal and external examination, and a glaucoma evaluation, as well as any other tests or observations that in the professional judgment of the doctor are necessary. Vision and hearing screening tests, which shall not be considered examinations as that term is used in this Section, shall be conducted in accordance with rules and regulations of the Department of Public Health, and by individuals whom the Department of Public Health has certified. In these rules and regulations, the Department of Public Health shall require that individuals conducting vision screening tests give a child's parent or guardian written notification, before the vision screening is conducted, that states, "Vision screening is not a substitute for a complete eye and vision evaluation by an eye doctor. Your child is not required to undergo this vision screening if an optometrist or ophthalmologist has completed and signed a report form indicating that an examination has been administered within the previous 12 months.".
    (2.5) With respect to the developmental screening and the social and emotional screening portion of the health examination, each child may present proof of having been screened in accordance with this Section and the rules adopted under this Section before October 15th of the school year. With regard to the social and emotional screening only, the examining health care provider shall only record whether or not the screening was completed. If the child fails to present proof of the developmental screening or the social and emotional screening portions of the health examination by October 15th of the school year, qualified school support personnel may, with a parent's or guardian's consent, offer the developmental screening or the social and emotional screening to the child. Each public, private, and parochial school must give notice of the developmental screening and social and emotional screening requirements to the parents and guardians of students in compliance with the rules of the Department of Public Health. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to allow a school to exclude a child from attending because of a parent's or guardian's failure to obtain a developmental screening or a social and emotional screening for the child. Once a developmental screening or a social and emotional screening is completed and proof has been presented to the school, the school may, with a parent's or guardian's consent, make available appropriate school personnel to work with the parent or guardian, the child, and the provider who signed the screening form to obtain any appropriate evaluations and services as indicated on the form and in other information and documentation provided by the parents, guardians, or provider.
    (3) Every child shall, at or about the same time as he or she receives a health examination required by subsection (1) of this Section, present to the local school proof of having received such immunizations against preventable communicable diseases as the Department of Public Health shall require by rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to this Section and the Communicable Disease Prevention Act.
    (4) The individuals conducting the health examination, dental examination, or eye examination shall record the fact of having conducted the examination, and such additional information as required, including for a health examination data relating to asthma and obesity (including at a minimum, date of birth, gender, height, weight, blood pressure, and date of exam), on uniform forms which the Department of Public Health and the State Board of Education shall prescribe for statewide use. The examiner shall summarize on the report form any condition that he or she suspects indicates a need for special services, including for a health examination factors relating to asthma or obesity. The duty to summarize on the report form does not apply to social and emotional screenings. The confidentiality of the information and records relating to the developmental screening and the social and emotional screening shall be determined by the statutes, rules, and professional ethics governing the type of provider conducting the screening. The individuals confirming the administration of required immunizations shall record as indicated on the form that the immunizations were administered.
    (5) If a child does not submit proof of having had either the health examination or the immunization as required, then the child shall be examined or receive the immunization, as the case may be, and present proof by October 15 of the current school year, or by an earlier date of the current school year established by a school district. To establish a date before October 15 of the current school year for the health examination or immunization as required, a school district must give notice of the requirements of this Section 60 days prior to the earlier established date. If for medical reasons one or more of the required immunizations must be given after October 15 of the current school year, or after an earlier established date of the current school year, then the child shall present, by October 15, or by the earlier established date, a schedule for the administration of the immunizations and a statement of the medical reasons causing the delay, both the schedule and the statement being issued by the physician, advanced practice registered nurse, physician assistant, registered nurse, or local health department that will be responsible for administration of the remaining required immunizations. If a child does not comply by October 15, or by the earlier established date of the current school year, with the requirements of this subsection, then the local school authority shall exclude that child from school until such time as the child presents proof of having had the health examination as required and presents proof of having received those required immunizations which are medically possible to receive immediately. During a child's exclusion from school for noncompliance with this subsection, the child's parents or legal guardian shall be considered in violation of Section 26-1 and subject to any penalty imposed by Section 26-10. This subsection (5) does not apply to dental examinations, eye examinations, and the developmental screening and the social and emotional screening portions of the health examination. If the student is an out-of-state transfer student and does not have the proof required under this subsection (5) before October 15 of the current year or whatever date is set by the school district, then he or she may only attend classes (i) if he or she has proof that an appointment for the required vaccinations has been scheduled with a party authorized to submit proof of the required vaccinations. If the proof of vaccination required under this subsection (5) is not submitted within 30 days after the student is permitted to attend classes, then the student is not to be permitted to attend classes until proof of the vaccinations has been properly submitted. No school district or employee of a school district shall be held liable for any injury or illness to another person that results from admitting an out-of-state transfer student to class that has an appointment scheduled pursuant to this subsection (5).
    (6) Every school shall report to the State Board of Education by November 15, in the manner which that agency shall require, the number of children who have received the necessary immunizations and the health examination (other than a dental examination or eye examination) as required, indicating, of those who have not received the immunizations and examination as required, the number of children who are exempt from health examination and immunization requirements on religious or medical grounds as provided in subsection (8). On or before December 1 of each year, every public school district and registered nonpublic school shall make publicly available the immunization data they are required to submit to the State Board of Education by November 15. The immunization data made publicly available must be identical to the data the school district or school has reported to the State Board of Education.
    Every school shall report to the State Board of Education by June 30, in the manner that the State Board requires, the number of children who have received the required dental examination, indicating, of those who have not received the required dental examination, the number of children who are exempt from the dental examination on religious grounds as provided in subsection (8) of this Section and the number of children who have received a waiver under subsection (1.5) of this Section.
    Every school shall report to the State Board of Education by June 30, in the manner that the State Board requires, the number of children who have received the required eye examination, indicating, of those who have not received the required eye examination, the number of children who are exempt from the eye examination as provided in subsection (8) of this Section, the number of children who have received a waiver under subsection (1.10) of this Section, and the total number of children in noncompliance with the eye examination requirement.
    The reported information under this subsection (6) shall be provided to the Department of Public Health by the State Board of Education.
    (7) Upon determining that the number of pupils who are required to be in compliance with subsection (5) of this Section is below 90% of the number of pupils enrolled in the school district, 10% of each State aid payment made pursuant to Section 18-8.05 or 18-8.15 to the school district for such year may be withheld by the State Board of Education until the number of students in compliance with subsection (5) is the applicable specified percentage or higher.
    (8) Children of parents or legal guardians who object to health, dental, or eye examinations or any part thereof, to immunizations, or to vision and hearing screening tests on religious grounds shall not be required to undergo the examinations, tests, or immunizations to which they so object if such parents or legal guardians present to the appropriate local school authority a signed Certificate of Religious Exemption detailing the grounds for objection and the specific immunizations, tests, or examinations to which they object. The grounds for objection must set forth the specific religious belief that conflicts with the examination, test, immunization, or other medical intervention. The signed certificate shall also reflect the parent's or legal guardian's understanding of the school's exclusion policies in the case of a vaccine-preventable disease outbreak or exposure. The certificate must also be signed by the authorized examining health care provider responsible for the performance of the child's health examination confirming that the provider provided education to the parent or legal guardian on the benefits of immunization and the health risks to the student and to the community of the communicable diseases for which immunization is required in this State. However, the health care provider's signature on the certificate reflects only that education was provided and does not allow a health care provider grounds to determine a religious exemption. Those receiving immunizations required under this Code shall be provided with the relevant vaccine information statements that are required to be disseminated by the federal National Childhood Vaccine Injury Act of 1986, which may contain information on circumstances when a vaccine should not be administered, prior to administering a vaccine. A healthcare provider may consider including without limitation the nationally accepted recommendations from federal agencies such as the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, the information outlined in the relevant vaccine information statement, and vaccine package inserts, along with the healthcare provider's clinical judgment, to determine whether any child may be more susceptible to experiencing an adverse vaccine reaction than the general population, and, if so, the healthcare provider may exempt the child from an immunization or adopt an individualized immunization schedule. The Certificate of Religious Exemption shall be created by the Department of Public Health and shall be made available and used by parents and legal guardians by the beginning of the 2015-2016 school year. Parents or legal guardians must submit the Certificate of Religious Exemption to their local school authority prior to entering kindergarten, sixth grade, and ninth grade for each child for which they are requesting an exemption. The religious objection stated need not be directed by the tenets of an established religious organization. However, general philosophical or moral reluctance to allow physical examinations, eye examinations, immunizations, vision and hearing screenings, or dental examinations does not provide a sufficient basis for an exception to statutory requirements. The local school authority is responsible for determining if the content of the Certificate of Religious Exemption constitutes a valid religious objection. The local school authority shall inform the parent or legal guardian of exclusion procedures, in accordance with the Department's rules under Part 690 of Title 77 of the Illinois Administrative Code, at the time the objection is presented.
    If the physical condition of the child is such that any one or more of the immunizing agents should not be administered, the examining physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant responsible for the performance of the health examination shall endorse that fact upon the health examination form.
    Exempting a child from the health, dental, or eye examination does not exempt the child from participation in the program of physical education training provided in Sections 27-5 through 27-7 of this Code.
    (8.5) The school board of a school district shall include informational materials regarding influenza and influenza vaccinations and meningococcal disease and meningococcal vaccinations developed, provided, or approved by the Department of Public Health under Section 2310-700 of the Department of Public Health Powers and Duties Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois when the board provides information on immunizations, infectious diseases, medications, or other school health issues to the parents or guardians of students.
    (9) For the purposes of this Section, "nursery schools" means those nursery schools operated by elementary school systems or secondary level school units or institutions of higher learning.
(Source: P.A. 100-238, eff. 1-1-18; 100-465, eff. 8-31-17; 100-513, eff. 1-1-18; 100-829, eff. 1-1-19; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18; 100-977, eff. 1-1-19; 100-1011, eff. 8-21-18; 101-81, eff. 7-12-19; 101-643, eff. 6-18-20.)

105 ILCS 5/27-9

    (105 ILCS 5/27-9) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-9)
    Sec. 27-9. Training teachers to teach physical education. The curriculum in all elementary educator preparation programs approved by the State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board shall contain instruction in methods and materials of physical education and training for teachers. No teacher candidate shall be graduated from such an educator preparation program who has not successfully completed instruction in methods and materials in the teaching of physical education and training, whether by way of a specific course or as incorporated in existing courses taught in the educator preparation program.
(Source: P.A. 99-58, eff. 7-16-15.)

105 ILCS 5/27-9.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-9.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-9.1)
    Sec. 27-9.1. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 102-412, eff. 8-20-21. Repealed by P.A. 102-522, eff. 8-20-21.)

105 ILCS 5/27-9.1a

    (105 ILCS 5/27-9.1a)
    Sec. 27-9.1a. Comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education.
    (a) In this Section:
    "Adapt" means to modify an evidence-based or evidence-informed program model for use with a particular demographic, ethnic, linguistic, or cultural group.
    "Age and developmentally appropriate" means suitable to particular ages or age groups of children and adolescents, based on the developing cognitive, emotional, and behavioral capacity typical for the age or age group.
    "Characteristics of effective programs" includes development, content, and implementation of such programs that (i) have been shown to be effective in terms of increasing knowledge, clarifying values and attitudes, increasing skills, and impacting behavior, (ii) are widely recognized by leading medical and public health agencies to be effective in changing sexual behaviors that lead to sexually transmitted infections, including HIV, unintended pregnancy, interpersonal violence, and sexual violence among young people, and (iii) are taught by professionals who provide a safe learning space, free from shame, stigma, and ideology and are trained in trauma-informed teaching methodologies.
    "Complete" means information that aligns with the National Sex Education Standards, including information on consent and healthy relationships, anatomy and physiology, puberty and adolescent sexual development, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation and identity, sexual health, and interpersonal violence.
    "Comprehensive personal health and safety education" means age and developmentally appropriate education that aligns with the National Sex Education Standards, including information on consent and healthy relationships, anatomy and physiology, puberty and adolescent sexual development, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation and identity, sexual health, and interpersonal violence.
    "Comprehensive sexual health education" means age and developmentally appropriate education that aligns with the National Sex Education Standards, including information on consent and healthy relationships, anatomy and physiology, puberty and adolescent sexual development, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation and identity, sexual health, and interpersonal violence.
    "Consent" means an affirmative, knowing, conscious, ongoing, and voluntary agreement to engage in interpersonal, physical, or sexual activity, which can be revoked at any point, including during the course of interpersonal, physical, or sexual activity.
    "Culturally appropriate" means affirming culturally diverse individuals, families, and communities in an inclusive, respectful, and effective manner, including materials and instruction that are inclusive of race, ethnicity, language, cultural background, immigration status, religion, disability, gender, gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, and sexual behavior.
    "Evidence-based program" means a program for which systematic, empirical research or evaluation has provided evidence of effectiveness.
    "Evidence-informed program" means a program that uses the best available research and practice knowledge to guide program design and implementation.
    "Gender stereotype" means a generalized view or preconception about what attributes, characteristics, or roles are or ought to be taught, possessed by, or performed by people based on their gender identity.
    "Healthy relationships" means relationships between individuals that consist of mutual respect, trust, honesty, support, fairness, equity, separate identities, physical and emotional safety, and good communication.
    "Identity" means people's understanding of how they identify their sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, or gender expression without stereotypes, shame, or stigma.
    "Inclusive" means inclusion of marginalized communities that include, but are not limited to, people of color, immigrants, people of diverse sexual orientations, gender identities, and gender expressions, people who are intersex, people with disabilities, people who have experienced interpersonal or sexual violence, and others.
    "Interpersonal violence" means violent behavior used to establish power and control over another person.
    "Medically accurate" means verified or supported by the weight of research conducted in compliance with accepted scientific methods and published in peer-reviewed journals, if applicable, or comprising information recognized as accurate and objective.
    "Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP)" means medications approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and recommended by the United States Public Health Service or the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for HIV pre-exposure prophylaxis and related pre-exposure prophylaxis services, including, but not limited to, HIV and sexually transmitted infection screening, treatment for sexually transmitted infections, medical monitoring, laboratory services, and sexual health counseling, to reduce the likelihood of HIV infection for individuals who are not living with HIV but are vulnerable to HIV exposure.
    "Post-exposure Prophylaxis (PeP)" means the medications that are recommended by the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and other public health authorities to help prevent HIV infection after potential occupational or non-occupational HIV exposure.
    "Sexual violence" means discrimination, bullying, harassment, including sexual harassment, sexual abuse, sexual assault, intimate partner violence, incest, rape, and human trafficking.
    "Trauma informed" means to address vital information about sexuality and well-being that takes into consideration how adverse life experiences may potentially influence a person's well-being and decision making.
    (b) All classes that teach comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education shall satisfy the following criteria:
        (1) Course material and instruction shall be age and
    
developmentally appropriate, medically accurate, complete, culturally appropriate, inclusive, and trauma informed.
        (2) Course material and instruction shall replicate
    
evidence-based or evidence-informed programs or substantially incorporate elements of evidence-based programs or evidence-informed programs or characteristics of effective programs.
        (3) Course material and instruction shall be
    
inclusive and sensitive to the needs of students based on their status as pregnant or parenting, living with STIs, including HIV, sexually active, asexual, or intersex or based on their gender, gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, sexual behavior, or disability.
        (4) Course material and instruction shall be
    
accessible to students with disabilities, which may include the use of a modified curriculum, materials, instruction in alternative formats, assistive technology, and auxiliary aids.
        (5) Course material and instruction shall help
    
students develop self-advocacy skills for effective communication with parents or guardians, health and social service professionals, other trusted adults, and peers about sexual health and relationships.
        (6) Course material and instruction shall provide
    
information to help students develop skills for developing healthy relationships and preventing and dealing with interpersonal violence and sexual violence.
        (7) Course material and instruction shall provide
    
information to help students safely use the Internet, including social media, dating or relationship websites or applications, and texting.
        (8) Course material and instruction shall provide
    
information about local resources where students can obtain additional information and confidential services related to parenting, bullying, interpersonal violence, sexual violence, suicide prevention, sexual and reproductive health, mental health, substance abuse, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, and other related issues.
        (9) Course material and instruction shall include
    
information about State laws related to minor confidentiality and minor consent, including exceptions, consent education, mandated reporting of child abuse and neglect, the safe relinquishment of a newborn child, minors' access to confidential health care and related services, school policies addressing the prevention of and response to interpersonal and sexual violence, school breastfeeding accommodations, and school policies addressing the prevention of and response to sexual harassment.
        (10) Course material and instruction may not reflect
    
or promote bias against any person on the basis of the person's race, ethnicity, language, cultural background, citizenship, religion, HIV status, family structure, disability, gender, gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, or sexual behavior.
        (11) Course material and instruction may not employ
    
gender stereotypes.
        (12) Course material and instruction shall be
    
inclusive of and may not be insensitive or unresponsive to the needs of survivors of interpersonal violence and sexual violence.
        (13) Course material and instruction may not
    
proselytize any religious doctrine.
        (14) Course material and instruction may not
    
deliberately withhold health-promoting or life-saving information about culturally appropriate health care and services, including reproductive health services, hormone therapy, and FDA-approved treatments and options, including, but not limited to, Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) and Post-exposure Prophylaxis (PeP).
        (15) Course material and instruction may not be
    
inconsistent with the ethical imperatives of medicine and public health.
    (c) A school may utilize guest lecturers or resource persons to provide instruction or presentations in accordance with Section 10-22.34b. Comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education instruction and materials provided by guest lecturers or resource persons may not conflict with the provisions of this Section.
    (d) No student shall be required to take or participate in any class or course in comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education. A student's parent or guardian may opt the student out of comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education by submitting the request in writing. Refusal to take or participate in such a course or program may not be a reason for disciplinary action, academic penalty, suspension, or expulsion or any other sanction of a student. A school district may not require active parental consent for comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education.
    (e) An opportunity shall be afforded to individuals, including parents or guardians, to review the scope and sequence of instructional materials to be used in a class or course under this Section, either electronically or in person. A school district shall annually post, on its Internet website if one exists, which curriculum is used to provide comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education and the name and contact information, including an email address, of school personnel who can respond to inquiries about instruction and materials.
    (f) On or before August 1, 2022, the State Board of Education, in consultation with youth, parents, sexual health and violence prevention experts, health care providers, advocates, and education practitioners, including, but not limited to, administrators, regional superintendents of schools, teachers, and school support personnel, shall develop and adopt rigorous learning standards in the area of comprehensive personal health and safety education for pupils in kindergarten through the 5th grade and comprehensive sexual health education for pupils in the 6th through 12th grades, including, but not limited to, all of the National Sex Education Standards, including information on consent and healthy relationships, anatomy and physiology, puberty and adolescent sexual development, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation and identity, sexual health, and interpersonal violence, as authored by the Future of Sex Education Initiative. As the National Sex Education Standards are updated, the State Board of Education shall update these learning standards.
    (g) By no later than August 1, 2022, the State Board of Education shall make available resource materials developed in consultation with stakeholders, with the cooperation and input of experts that provide and entities that promote age and developmentally appropriate, medically accurate, complete, culturally appropriate, inclusive, and trauma-informed comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education policy. Materials may include, without limitation, model comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education resources and programs. The State Board of Education shall make these resource materials available on its Internet website, in a clearly identified and easily accessible place.
    (h) Schools may choose and adapt the age and developmentally appropriate, medically accurate, complete, culturally appropriate, inclusive, and trauma-informed comprehensive personal health and safety and comprehensive sexual health education curriculum that meets the specific needs of their community. All instruction and materials, including materials provided or presented by outside consultants, community groups, or organizations, may not conflict with the provisions of this Section.
    (i) The State Board of Education shall, through existing reporting mechanisms if available, direct each school district to identify the following:
        (1) if instruction on comprehensive personal health
    
and safety and comprehensive sexual health education is provided;
        (2) whether the instruction was provided by a teacher
    
in the school, a consultant, or a community group or organization and specify the name of the outside consultant, community group, or organization;
        (3) the number of students receiving instruction;
        (4) the number of students excused from instruction;
    
and
        (5) the duration of instruction.
    The State Board of Education shall report the results of this inquiry to the General Assembly annually, for a period of 5 years beginning one year after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 102nd General Assembly.
(Source: P.A. 102-522, eff. 8-20-21.)

105 ILCS 5/27-9.1b

    (105 ILCS 5/27-9.1b)
    Sec. 27-9.1b. Consent education.
    (a) In this Section:
    "Age and developmentally appropriate" has the meaning ascribed to that term in Section 27-9.1a.
    "Consent" has the meaning ascribed to that term in Section 27-9.1a.
    (b) A school district may provide age and developmentally appropriate consent education in kindergarten through the 12th grade.
        (1) In kindergarten through the 5th grade,
    
instruction and materials shall include age and developmentally appropriate instruction on consent and how to give and receive consent, including a discussion that includes, but is not limited to, all of the following:
            (A) Setting appropriate physical boundaries with
        
others.
            (B) Respecting the physical boundaries of others.
            (C) The right to refuse to engage in behaviors or
        
activities that are uncomfortable or unsafe.
            (D) Dealing with unwanted physical contact.
            (E) Helping a peer deal with unwanted physical
        
contact.
        (2) In the 6th through 12th grades, instruction and
    
materials shall include age and developmentally appropriate instruction on consent and how to give and receive consent, including a discussion that includes, but is not limited to, all of the following:
            (A) That consent is a freely given agreement to
        
sexual activity.
            (B) That consent to one particular sexual
        
activity does not constitute consent to other types of sexual activities.
            (C) That a person's lack of verbal or physical
        
resistance or submission resulting from the use or threat of force does not constitute consent.
            (D) That a person's manner of dress does not
        
constitute consent.
            (E) That a person's consent to past sexual
        
activity does not constitute consent to future sexual activity.
            (F) That a person's consent to engage in sexual
        
activity with one person does not constitute consent to engage in sexual activity with another person.
            (G) That a person can withdraw consent at any
        
time.
            (H) That a person cannot consent to sexual
        
activity if that person is unable to understand the nature of the activity or give knowing consent due to certain circumstances that include, but are not limited to:
                (i) the person is incapacitated due to the
            
use or influence of alcohol or drugs;
                (ii) the person is asleep or unconscious;
                (iii) the person is a minor; or
                (iv) the person is incapacitated due to a
            
mental disability.
            (I) The legal age of consent in this State.
(Source: P.A. 102-522, eff. 8-20-21.)

105 ILCS 5/27-9.2

    (105 ILCS 5/27-9.2)
    Sec. 27-9.2. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 86-941. Repealed by P.A. 102-522, eff. 8-20-21.)

105 ILCS 5/27-11

    (105 ILCS 5/27-11)
    Sec. 27-11. (Repealed).
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31. Repealed by P.A. 102-522, eff. 8-20-21.)

105 ILCS 5/27-12

    (105 ILCS 5/27-12) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-12)
    Sec. 27-12. Character education. Every public school teacher shall teach character education, which includes the teaching of respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, trustworthiness, and citizenship, in order to raise pupils' honesty, kindness, justice, discipline, respect for others, and moral courage for the purpose of lessening crime and raising the standard of good character.
(Source: P.A. 94-187, eff. 7-12-05.)

105 ILCS 5/27-12.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-12.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-12.1)
    Sec. 27-12.1. Consumer education.
    (a) Pupils in the public schools in grades 9 through 12 shall be taught and be required to study courses which include instruction in the area of consumer education, including but not necessarily limited to (i) understanding the basic concepts of financial literacy, including consumer debt and installment purchasing (including credit scoring, managing credit debt, and completing a loan application), budgeting, savings and investing, banking (including balancing a checkbook, opening a deposit account, and the use of interest rates), understanding simple contracts, State and federal income taxes, personal insurance policies, the comparison of prices, higher education student loans, identity-theft security, and homeownership (including the basic process of obtaining a mortgage and the concepts of fixed and adjustable rate mortgages, subprime loans, and predatory lending), and (ii) understanding the roles of consumers interacting with agriculture, business, labor unions and government in formulating and achieving the goals of the mixed free enterprise system. The State Board of Education shall devise or approve the consumer education curriculum for grades 9 through 12 and specify the minimum amount of instruction to be devoted thereto.
    (b) (Blank).
    (c) The Financial Literacy Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. State funds and private contributions for the promotion of financial literacy shall be deposited into the Financial Literacy Fund. All money in the Financial Literacy Fund shall be used, subject to appropriation, by the State Board of Education to award grants to school districts for the following:
        (1) Defraying the costs of financial literacy
    
training for teachers.
        (2) Rewarding a school or teacher who wins or
    
achieves results at a certain level of success in a financial literacy competition.
        (3) Rewarding a student who wins or achieves
    
results at a certain level of success in a financial literacy competition.
        (4) Funding activities, including books, games,
    
field trips, computers, and other activities, related to financial literacy education.
    In awarding grants, every effort must be made to ensure that all geographic areas of the State are represented.
    (d) A school board may establish a special fund in which to receive public funds and private contributions for the promotion of financial literacy. Money in the fund shall be used for the following:
        (1) Defraying the costs of financial literacy
    
training for teachers.
        (2) Rewarding a school or teacher who wins or
    
achieves results at a certain level of success in a financial literacy competition.
        (3) Rewarding a student who wins or achieves
    
results at a certain level of success in a financial literacy competition.
        (4) Funding activities, including books, games,
    
field trips, computers, and other activities, related to financial literacy education.
    (e) The State Board of Education, upon the next comprehensive review of the Illinois Learning Standards, is urged to include the basic principles of personal insurance policies and understanding simple contracts.
(Source: P.A. 99-284, eff. 8-5-15.)

105 ILCS 5/27-13.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-13.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-13.1)
    Sec. 27-13.1. In every public school there shall be instruction, study and discussion of current problems and needs in the conservation of natural resources, including but not limited to air pollution, water pollution, waste reduction and recycling, the effects of excessive use of pesticides, preservation of wilderness areas, forest management, protection of wildlife and humane care of domestic animals.
(Source: P.A. 86-229.)

105 ILCS 5/27-13.2

    (105 ILCS 5/27-13.2) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-13.2)
    Sec. 27-13.2. Required instruction. In every public school there shall be instruction, study, and discussion of effective methods by which pupils may recognize the danger of and avoid abduction, and in every public school maintaining any of grades kindergarten through 8 there shall be, for such grades, instruction, study, and discussion of effective methods for the prevention and avoidance of drugs and the dangers of opioid and substance abuse. School boards may include such required instruction, study and discussion in the courses of study regularly taught in the public schools of their respective districts; provided, however, that such instruction shall be given each year to all pupils in grades kindergarten through 8. The State Superintendent of Education may prepare and make available to all public and non-public schools instructional materials which may be used by such schools as guidelines for development of a program of instruction under this Section; provided, however, that each school board shall itself determine the minimum amount of instruction time which shall qualify as a program of instruction which will satisfy the requirements of this Section.
    The State Superintendent of Education, in cooperation with the Department of Children and Family Services, shall prepare and disseminate to all public schools and non-public schools, information on instructional materials and programs about child sexual abuse which may be used by such schools for their own or community programs. Such information may also be disseminated by such schools to parents.
    Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this Section, no pupil in any of grades kindergarten through 8 shall be required to take or participate in any class or course providing instruction in recognizing and avoiding sexual abuse if the parent or guardian of the pupil submits written objection thereto; and refusal to take or participate in such class or course after such written objection is made shall not be reason for failing, suspending or expelling such pupil. Each school board intending to offer any such class or course to pupils in any of grades kindergarten through 8 shall give not less than 5 days written notice to the parents or guardians of such pupils before commencing the class or course.
(Source: P.A. 102-195, eff. 7-30-21.)

105 ILCS 5/27-13.3

    (105 ILCS 5/27-13.3)
    Sec. 27-13.3. Internet safety education curriculum.
    (a) The purpose of this Section is to inform and protect students from inappropriate or illegal communications and solicitation and to encourage school districts to provide education about Internet threats and risks, including without limitation child predators, fraud, and other dangers.
    (b) The General Assembly finds and declares the following:
        (1) it is the policy of this State to protect
    
consumers and Illinois residents from deceptive and unsafe communications that result in harassment, exploitation, or physical harm;
        (2) children have easy access to the Internet at
    
home, school, and public places;
        (3) the Internet is used by sexual predators and
    
other criminals to make initial contact with children and other vulnerable residents in Illinois; and
        (4) education is an effective method for preventing
    
children from falling prey to online predators, identity theft, and other dangers.
    (c) Each school may adopt an age-appropriate curriculum for Internet safety instruction of students in grades kindergarten through 12. However, beginning with the 2009-2010 school year, a school district must incorporate into the school curriculum a component on Internet safety to be taught at least once each school year to students in grades 3 through 12. The school board shall determine the scope and duration of this unit of instruction. The age-appropriate unit of instruction may be incorporated into the current courses of study regularly taught in the district's schools, as determined by the school board, and it is recommended that the unit of instruction include the following topics:
        (1) Safe and responsible use of social networking
    
websites, chat rooms, electronic mail, bulletin boards, instant messaging, and other means of communication on the Internet.
        (2) Recognizing, avoiding, and reporting online
    
solicitations of students, their classmates, and their friends by sexual predators.
        (3) Risks of transmitting personal information on the
    
Internet.
        (4) Recognizing and avoiding unsolicited or deceptive
    
communications received online.
        (5) Recognizing and reporting online harassment and
    
cyber-bullying.
        (6) Reporting illegal activities and communications
    
on the Internet.
        (7) Copyright laws on written materials, photographs,
    
music, and video.
    (d) Curricula devised in accordance with subsection (c) of this Section may be submitted for review to the Office of the Illinois Attorney General.
    (e) The State Board of Education shall make available resource materials for educating children regarding child online safety and may take into consideration the curriculum on this subject developed by other states, as well as any other curricular materials suggested by education experts, child psychologists, or technology companies that work on child online safety issues. Materials may include without limitation safe online communications, privacy protection, cyber-bullying, viewing inappropriate material, file sharing, and the importance of open communication with responsible adults. The State Board of Education shall make these resource materials available on its Internet website.
(Source: P.A. 95-509, eff. 8-28-07; 95-869, eff. 1-1-09; 96-734, eff. 8-25-09.)

105 ILCS 5/27-14

    (105 ILCS 5/27-14) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-14)
    Sec. 27-14. Experiments upon animals.
    No experiment upon any living animal for the purpose of demonstration in any study shall be made in any public school. No animal provided by, or killed in the presence of any pupil of a public school shall be used for dissection in such school, and in no case shall dogs or cats be killed for such purposes. Dissection of dead animals, or parts thereof, shall be confined to the classroom and shall not be practiced in the presence of any pupil not engaged in the study to be illustrated thereby.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/27-15

    (105 ILCS 5/27-15) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-15)
    Sec. 27-15. Moral and humane education - In institute programs. The superintendent of each region and city shall include once each year moral and humane education in the program of the teachers' institute which is held under his supervision.
(Source: P.A. 79-597.)

105 ILCS 5/27-16

    (105 ILCS 5/27-16)
    Sec. 27-16. (Repealed).
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31. Repealed by P.A. 94-1105, eff. 6-1-07.)

105 ILCS 5/27-17

    (105 ILCS 5/27-17) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-17)
    Sec. 27-17. Safety education. School boards of public schools and all boards in charge of educational institutions supported wholly or partially by the State may provide instruction in safety education in all grades and include such instruction in the courses of study regularly taught therein.
    In this section "safety education" means and includes instruction in the following:
        1. automobile safety, including traffic regulations,
    
highway safety, and the consequences of alcohol consumption and the operation of a motor vehicle;
        2. safety in the home, including safe gun storage;
        3. safety in connection with recreational activities;
        4. safety in and around school buildings;
        5. safety in connection with vocational work or
    
training;
        6. cardio-pulmonary resuscitation for students
    
enrolled in grades 9 through 11; and
        7. for students enrolled in grades 6 through 8,
    
cardio-pulmonary resuscitation and how to use an automated external defibrillator by watching a training video on those subjects.
    Such boards may make suitable provisions in the schools and institutions under their jurisdiction for instruction in safety education for not less than 16 hours during each school year.
    The curriculum in all educator preparation programs approved by the State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board shall contain instruction in safety education for teachers that is appropriate to the grade level of the educator license. This instruction may be by specific courses in safety education or may be incorporated in existing subjects taught in the educator preparation program.
(Source: P.A. 102-971, eff. 1-1-23.)

105 ILCS 5/27-18

    (105 ILCS 5/27-18) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-18)
    Sec. 27-18. Arbor and bird day. The last Friday in April is designated as "Arbor and Bird Day," to be observed throughout the State as a day for planting trees, shrubs and vines about public grounds, and as a day on which to hold appropriate exercises in the public schools and elsewhere tending to show the value of trees and birds and the necessity for their protection.
(Source: P.A. 92-85, eff. 7-12-01.)