Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

PROFESSIONS, OCCUPATIONS, AND BUSINESS OPERATIONS
(225 ILCS 65/) Nurse Practice Act.

225 ILCS 65/Art. 70

 
    (225 ILCS 65/Art. 70 heading) (was 225 ILCS 65/Tit. 20 heading)
ARTICLE 70. ADMINISTRATION AND ENFORCEMENT
(Article scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-5

    (225 ILCS 65/70-5) (was 225 ILCS 65/10-45)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-5. Grounds for disciplinary action.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue or to renew, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem appropriate, including fines not to exceed $10,000 per violation, with regard to a license for any one or combination of the causes set forth in subsection (b) below. All fines collected under this Section shall be deposited in the Nursing Dedicated and Professional Fund.
    (b) Grounds for disciplinary action include the following:
        (1) Material deception in furnishing information to
    
the Department.
        (2) Material violations of any provision of this Act
    
or violation of the rules of or final administrative action of the Secretary, after consideration of the recommendation of the Board.
        (3) Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
    
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or by sentencing of any crime, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States: (i) that is a felony; or (ii) that is a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
        (4) A pattern of practice or other behavior which
    
demonstrates incapacity or incompetency to practice under this Act.
        (5) Knowingly aiding or assisting another person in
    
violating any provision of this Act or rules.
        (6) Failing, within 90 days, to provide a response to
    
a request for information in response to a written request made by the Department by certified or registered mail or by email to the email address of record.
        (7) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public, as defined by rule.
        (8) Unlawful taking, theft, selling, distributing, or
    
manufacturing of any drug, narcotic, or prescription device.
        (9) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
    
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that could result in a licensee's inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill or safety.
        (10) Discipline by another U.S. jurisdiction or
    
foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section.
        (11) A finding that the licensee, after having her or
    
his license placed on probationary status or subject to conditions or restrictions, has violated the terms of probation or failed to comply with such terms or conditions.
        (12) Being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
    
report by the Department of Children and Family Services and under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee has caused a child to be an abused child or neglected child as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
        (13) Willful omission to file or record, or willfully
    
impeding the filing or recording or inducing another person to omit to file or record medical reports as required by law.
        (13.5) Willfully failing to report an instance of
    
suspected child abuse or neglect as required by the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
        (14) Gross negligence in the practice of practical,
    
professional, or advanced practice registered nursing.
        (15) Holding oneself out to be practicing nursing
    
under any name other than one's own.
        (16) Failure of a licensee to report to the
    
Department any adverse final action taken against him or her by another licensing jurisdiction of the United States or any foreign state or country, any peer review body, any health care institution, any professional or nursing society or association, any governmental agency, any law enforcement agency, or any court or a nursing liability claim related to acts or conduct similar to acts or conduct that would constitute grounds for action as defined in this Section.
        (17) Failure of a licensee to report to the
    
Department surrender by the licensee of a license or authorization to practice nursing or advanced practice registered nursing in another state or jurisdiction or current surrender by the licensee of membership on any nursing staff or in any nursing or advanced practice registered nursing or professional association or society while under disciplinary investigation by any of those authorities or bodies for acts or conduct similar to acts or conduct that would constitute grounds for action as defined by this Section.
        (18) Failing, within 60 days, to provide information
    
in response to a written request made by the Department.
        (19) Failure to establish and maintain records of
    
patient care and treatment as required by law.
        (20) Fraud, deceit or misrepresentation in applying
    
for or procuring a license under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal of a license under this Act.
        (21) Allowing another person or organization to use
    
the licensees' license to deceive the public.
        (22) Willfully making or filing false records or
    
reports in the licensee's practice, including but not limited to false records to support claims against the medical assistance program of the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) under the Illinois Public Aid Code.
        (23) Attempting to subvert or cheat on a licensing
    
examination administered under this Act.
        (24) Immoral conduct in the commission of an act,
    
including, but not limited to, sexual abuse, sexual misconduct, or sexual exploitation, related to the licensee's practice.
        (25) Willfully or negligently violating the
    
confidentiality between nurse and patient except as required by law.
        (26) Practicing under a false or assumed name, except
    
as provided by law.
        (27) The use of any false, fraudulent, or deceptive
    
statement in any document connected with the licensee's practice.
        (28) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
    
from a person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association a fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for professional services not actually or personally rendered. Nothing in this paragraph (28) affects any bona fide independent contractor or employment arrangements among health care professionals, health facilities, health care providers, or other entities, except as otherwise prohibited by law. Any employment arrangements may include provisions for compensation, health insurance, pension, or other employment benefits for the provision of services within the scope of the licensee's practice under this Act. Nothing in this paragraph (28) shall be construed to require an employment arrangement to receive professional fees for services rendered.
        (29) A violation of the Health Care Worker
    
Self-Referral Act.
        (30) Physical illness, mental illness, or disability
    
that results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (31) Exceeding the terms of a collaborative
    
agreement or the prescriptive authority delegated to a licensee by his or her collaborating physician or podiatric physician in guidelines established under a written collaborative agreement.
        (32) Making a false or misleading statement
    
regarding a licensee's skill or the efficacy or value of the medicine, treatment, or remedy prescribed by him or her in the course of treatment.
        (33) Prescribing, selling, administering,
    
distributing, giving, or self-administering a drug classified as a controlled substance (designated product) or narcotic for other than medically accepted therapeutic purposes.
        (34) Promotion of the sale of drugs, devices,
    
appliances, or goods provided for a patient in a manner to exploit the patient for financial gain.
        (35) Violating State or federal laws, rules, or
    
regulations relating to controlled substances.
        (36) Willfully or negligently violating the
    
confidentiality between an advanced practice registered nurse, collaborating physician, dentist, or podiatric physician and a patient, except as required by law.
        (37) Willfully failing to report an instance of
    
suspected abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, or self-neglect of an eligible adult as defined in and required by the Adult Protective Services Act.
        (38) Being named as an abuser in a verified report
    
by the Department on Aging and under the Adult Protective Services Act, and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee abused, neglected, or financially exploited an eligible adult as defined in the Adult Protective Services Act.
        (39) A violation of any provision of this Act or any
    
rules adopted under this Act.
        (40) Violating the Compassionate Use of Medical
    
Cannabis Program Act.
    (c) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, as amended, operates as an automatic suspension. The suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that the patient is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission and issues an order so finding and discharging the patient; and upon the recommendation of the Board to the Secretary that the licensee be allowed to resume his or her practice.
    (d) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend or otherwise discipline the license of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of the tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
    (e) In enforcing this Act, the Department, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel an individual licensed to practice under this Act or who has applied for licensure under this Act, to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, as required by and at the expense of the Department. The Department may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning the mental or physical examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Department. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of this examination. Failure of an individual to submit to a mental or physical examination, when directed, shall result in an automatic suspension without hearing.
    All substance-related violations shall mandate an automatic substance abuse assessment. Failure to submit to an assessment by a licensed physician who is certified as an addictionist or an advanced practice registered nurse with specialty certification in addictions may be grounds for an automatic suspension, as defined by rule.
    If the Department finds an individual unable to practice or unfit for duty because of the reasons set forth in this subsection (e), the Department may require that individual to submit to a substance abuse evaluation or treatment by individuals or programs approved or designated by the Department, as a condition, term, or restriction for continued, restored, or renewed licensure to practice; or, in lieu of evaluation or treatment, the Department may file, or the Board may recommend to the Department to file, a complaint to immediately suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline the license of the individual. An individual whose license was granted, continued, restored, renewed, disciplined or supervised subject to such terms, conditions, or restrictions, and who fails to comply with such terms, conditions, or restrictions, shall be referred to the Secretary for a determination as to whether the individual shall have his or her license suspended immediately, pending a hearing by the Department.
    In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a person's license under this subsection (e), a hearing on that person's license must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the subject individual's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
    An individual licensed under this Act and affected under this subsection (e) shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department that he or she can resume practice in compliance with nursing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18; 101-363, eff. 8-9-19.)

225 ILCS 65/70-10

    (225 ILCS 65/70-10) (was 225 ILCS 65/10-50)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-10. Intoxication and drug abuse.
    (a) Any nurse who is an administrator or officer in any hospital, nursing home, other health care agency or facility, or nurse agency and has knowledge of any action or condition which reasonably indicates that a registered professional nurse or licensed practical nurse is impaired due to the use of alcohol or mood altering drugs to the extent that such impairment adversely affects such nurse's professional performance, or unlawfully possesses, uses, distributes or converts mood altering drugs belonging to the place of employment, shall promptly report the individual to the Department or designee of the Department; provided however, an administrator or officer need not file the report if the nurse participates in a course of remedial professional counseling or medical treatment for substance abuse, as long as such nurse actively pursues such treatment under monitoring by the administrator or officer or by the hospital, nursing home, health care agency or facility, or nurse agency and the nurse continues to be employed by such hospital, nursing home, health care agency or facility, or nurse agency. The Department shall review all reports received by it in a timely manner. Its initial review shall be completed no later than 60 days after receipt of the report. Within this 60 day period, the Department shall, in writing, make a determination as to whether there are sufficient facts to warrant further investigation or action. Any nurse participating in mandatory reporting to the Department under this Section or in good faith assisting another person in making such a report shall have immunity from any liability, either criminal or civil, that might result by reason of such action.
    Should the Department find insufficient facts to warrant further investigation, or action, the report shall be accepted for filing and the matter shall be deemed closed and so reported.
    Should the Department find sufficient facts to warrant further investigation, such investigation shall be completed within 60 days of the date of the determination of sufficient facts to warrant further investigation or action. Final action shall be determined no later than 30 days after the completion of the investigation. If there is a finding which verifies habitual intoxication or drug addiction which adversely affects professional performance or the unlawful possession, use, distribution or conversion of habit-forming drugs by the reported nurse, the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke that nurse's license as a registered professional nurse or a licensed practical nurse.
    Any of the aforementioned actions or a determination that there are insufficient facts to warrant further investigation or action shall be considered a final action. The nurse administrator or officer who filed the original report or complaint, and the nurse who is the subject of the report, shall be notified in writing by the Department within 15 days of any final action taken by the Department.
    (b) (Blank).
    (c) Any person making a report under this Section or in good faith assisting another person in making such a report shall have immunity from any liability, either criminal or civil, that might result by reason of such action. For the purpose of any legal proceeding, criminal or civil, there shall be a rebuttable presumption that any person making a report under this Section or assisting another person in making such report was acting in good faith. All such reports and any information disclosed to or collected by the Department pursuant to this Section shall remain confidential records of the Department and shall not be disclosed nor be subject to any law or rule of this State relating to freedom of information or public disclosure of records.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-15

    (225 ILCS 65/70-15)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-15. Disciplinary and non-disciplinary options for the impaired nurse. The Department shall establish by rule a program of care, counseling, and treatment for the impaired nurse. This program shall allow an impaired nurse to self-refer to the program. Individual licensee health care records shall be privileged and confidential, unavailable for use in any proceeding, and not subject to disclosure. Nothing in this Section nor the rules adopted under this Section shall impair or prohibit the Department from taking disciplinary action based upon the grounds set forth in Section 70-5 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-20

    (225 ILCS 65/70-20) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-13)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-20. Suspension of license for failure to pay restitution. The Department, without further process or hearing, shall suspend the license or other authorization to practice of any person issued under this Act who has been certified by court order as not having paid restitution to a person under Section 8A-3.5 of the Illinois Public Aid Code or under Section 17-10.5 or 46-1 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012. A person whose license or other authorization to practice is suspended under this Section is prohibited from practicing until the restitution is made in full.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-25

    (225 ILCS 65/70-25) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-25)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-25. Returned checks; fines. Any person who delivers a check or other payment to the Department that is returned to the Department unpaid by the financial institution upon which it is drawn shall pay to the Department, in addition to the amount already owed to the Department, a fine of $50. The fines imposed by this Section are in addition to any other discipline provided under this Act for unlicensed practice or practice on a nonrenewed license. The Department shall notify the person that payment of fees and fines shall be paid to the Department by certified check or money order within 30 calendar days of the notification. If, after the expiration of 30 days from the date of the notification, the person has failed to submit the necessary remittance, the Department shall automatically terminate the license or deny the application, without hearing. If, after termination or denial, the person seeks a license, he or she shall apply to the Department for restoration or issuance of the license and pay all fees and fines due to the Department. The Department may establish a fee for the processing of an application for restoration of a license to pay all expenses of processing this application. The Secretary may waive the fines due under this Section in individual cases where the Secretary finds that the fines would be unreasonable or unnecessarily burdensome.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-30

    (225 ILCS 65/70-30) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-30)
    Sec. 70-30. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07. Repealed by P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-35

    (225 ILCS 65/70-35) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-31)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-35. Licensure requirements; Internet site. The Department shall make available to the public the requirements for licensure on the Internet through the Department's World Wide Web site. This information shall include the requirements for licensure of individuals currently residing in another state or territory of the United States or a foreign country, territory, or province. The Department shall establish an e-mail link to the Department for information on the requirements for licensure.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-40

    (225 ILCS 65/70-40) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-32)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-40. Educational resources; Internet link. The Department may work with the Board, the Board of Higher Education, the Illinois Student Assistance Commission, Statewide organizations, and community-based organizations to develop a list of Department-approved nursing programs and other educational resources related to the Test of English as a Foreign Language and the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools Examination. The Department shall provide a link to a list of these resources on the Department's World Wide Web site.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-45

    (225 ILCS 65/70-45) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-35)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-45. Fees.
    (a) The Department shall provide by rule for a schedule of fees to be paid for licenses by all applicants.
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this Section, the fees for the administration and enforcement of this Act, including but not limited to original licensure, renewal, and restoration, shall be set by rule. The fees shall not be refundable.
    (c) In addition, applicants for any examination as a Registered Professional Nurse or a Licensed Practical Nurse shall be required to pay, either to the Department or to the designated testing service, a fee covering the cost of providing the examination. Failure to appear for the examination on the scheduled date, at the time and place specified, after the applicant's application for examination has been received and acknowledged by the Department or the designated testing service, shall result in the forfeiture of the examination fee.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-50

    (225 ILCS 65/70-50) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-40)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-50. Fund.
    (a) There is hereby created within the State Treasury the Nursing Dedicated and Professional Fund. The monies in the Fund may be used by and at the direction of the Department for the administration and enforcement of this Act, including, but not limited to:
        (1) Distribution and publication of this Act and
    
rules.
        (2) Employment of secretarial, nursing,
    
administrative, enforcement, and other staff for the administration of this Act.
    (b) Disposition of fees:
        (1) $5 of every licensure fee shall be placed in a
    
fund for assistance to nurses enrolled in a diversionary program as approved by the Department.
        (2) All of the fees, fines, and penalties collected
    
pursuant to this Act shall be deposited in the Nursing Dedicated and Professional Fund.
        (3) Each fiscal year, the moneys deposited in the
    
Nursing Dedicated and Professional Fund shall be appropriated to the Department for expenses of the Department and the Board in the administration of this Act. All earnings received from investment of moneys in the Nursing Dedicated and Professional Fund shall be deposited in the Nursing Dedicated and Professional Fund and shall be used for the same purposes as fees deposited in the Fund.
        (4) For the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2009 and
    
for each fiscal year thereafter, $2,000,000 of the moneys deposited in the Nursing Dedicated and Professional Fund each year shall be set aside and appropriated to the Department of Public Health for nursing scholarships awarded pursuant to the Nursing Education Scholarship Law.
        (5) Moneys in the Fund may be transferred to the
    
Professions Indirect Cost Fund as authorized under Section 2105-300 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law (20 ILCS 2105/2105-300).
    (c) Moneys set aside for nursing scholarships awarded pursuant to the Nursing Education Scholarship Law as provided in item (4) of subsection (b) of this Section may not be transferred under Section 8h of the State Finance Act.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-55

    (225 ILCS 65/70-55) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-50)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-55. Statute of limitations. All proceedings to suspend, revoke, or take any other disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, with regard to a license on any of the grounds under Section 70-5 of this Act may not be commenced later than 5 years next after the commission of any act which is a ground for discipline or a final conviction order for any of the acts described. In the event of the settlement of any claim or cause of action in favor of the claimant or the reduction to the final judgment of any civil action in favor of the plaintiff, such claim, cause of action or civil action being rounded on the allegation that a person licensed under this Act was negligent in providing care, the Department shall have an additional period of 2 years from the date of such settlement or final judgment in which to investigate and commence formal disciplinary proceedings under this Act, except as otherwise provided by law. The time during which the holder of the license was outside the State of Illinois shall not be included within any period of time limiting the commencement of disciplinary action by the Board.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07; 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-60

    (225 ILCS 65/70-60) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-55)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-60. Summary suspension; imminent danger. The Secretary of the Department may, upon receipt of a written communication from the Secretary of Human Services, the Director of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Director of Public Aid), or the Director of Public Health that continuation of practice of a person licensed under this Act constitutes an immediate danger to the public, immediately suspend the license of such person without a hearing. In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a license under this Section, a hearing upon such person's license must be convened by the Department within 30 days after such suspension and completed without appreciable delay, such hearing held to determine whether to recommend to the Secretary that the person's license be revoked, suspended, placed on probationary status or restored, or such person be subject to other disciplinary action. In such hearing, the written communication and any other evidence submitted therewith may be introduced as evidence against such person; provided, however, the person, or his or her counsel, shall have the opportunity to discredit or impeach and submit evidence rebutting such evidence.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-65

    (225 ILCS 65/70-65) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-65)
    Sec. 70-65. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07. Repealed by P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-70

    (225 ILCS 65/70-70) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-70)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-70. Right to legal counsel. No action of a disciplinary nature that is predicated on charges alleging unethical or unprofessional conduct of a person who is licensed under this Act and that can be reasonably expected to affect adversely that person's maintenance of her or his present, or her or his securing of future, employment as such a nurse may be taken by the Department, unless the person against whom such charges are made is afforded the right to be represented by legal counsel of her or his choosing and to present any witness, whether an attorney or otherwise to testify on matters relevant to such charges.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-75

    (225 ILCS 65/70-75) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-75)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-75. Injunctive remedies.
    (a) If any person violates the provision of this Act, the Secretary may, in the name of the People of the State of Illinois, through the Attorney General of the State of Illinois, or the State's Attorney of any county in which the action is brought, petition for an order enjoining such violation or for an order enforcing compliance with this Act. Upon the filing of a petition in court, the court may issue a temporary restraining order, without notice or bond, and may preliminarily and permanently enjoin such violation, and if it is established that such person has violated or is violating the injunction, the court may punish the offender for contempt of court. Proceedings under this Section shall be in addition to, and not in lieu of, all other remedies and penalties provided by this Act.
    (b) If any person shall practice as a nurse or hold herself or himself out as a nurse without being licensed under the provisions of this Act, then any licensed nurse, any interested party, or any person injured thereby may, in addition to the Secretary, petition for relief as provided in subsection (a) of this Section.
    (b-5) Whoever knowingly practices or offers to practice nursing in this State without a license for that purpose shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and for each subsequent conviction, shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony. All criminal fines, monies, or other property collected or received by the Department under this Section or any other State or federal statute, including, but not limited to, property forfeited to the Department under Section 505 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or Section 85 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, shall be deposited into the Professional Regulation Evidence Fund.
    (c) Whenever in the opinion of the Department any person violates any provision of this Act, the Department may issue a rule to show cause why an order to cease and desist should not be entered against him. The rule shall clearly set forth the grounds relied upon by the Department and shall provide a period of 7 days from the date of the rule to file an answer to the satisfaction of the Department. Failure to answer to the satisfaction of the Department shall cause an order to cease and desist to be issued forthwith.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-80

    (225 ILCS 65/70-80) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-80)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-80. Investigation; notice; hearing.
    (a) The Department may investigate the actions of any applicant or of any person or persons holding or claiming to hold a license under this Act.
    (b) The Department shall, before disciplining a license under this Section or refusing to issue a license, at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, (i) notify the accused in writing of any charges made and the time and place for the hearing of the charges, (ii) direct her or him to file a written answer to the charges under oath within 20 days after service; and (iii) inform the applicant or licensee that failure to answer will result in a default being entered against the applicant or licensee. As a result of the default, such license may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or have other disciplinary action, including limiting the scope, nature or extent of her or his practice, as the Department may deem proper taken with regard thereto.
    (c) At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence and arguments. The Department may continue a hearing from time to time. In case the accused person, after receiving notice, fails to file an answer, her or his license may in the discretion of the Secretary, having received first the recommendation of the Board, be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or be subject to whatever disciplinary action the Secretary considers proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of said person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for such action under this Act.
    (d) The written notice and any notice in the subsequent proceeding may be served by personal delivery or regular or certified mail to the respondent at the respondent's address of record or by email to the respondent's email address of record.
    (e) The Secretary has the authority to appoint any attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois to serve as the hearing officer in any action for refusal to issue, restore, or renew a license or to discipline a licensee. The hearing officer has full authority to conduct the hearing. The Board may have a member or members present at any hearing. The Board members shall have equal or greater licensing qualifications than those of the licensee being prosecuted.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-81

    (225 ILCS 65/70-81)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-81. Confidentiality. All information collected by the Department in the course of an examination or investigation of a licensee or applicant, including, but not limited to, any complaint against a licensee filed with the Department and information collected to investigate any such complaint, shall be maintained for the confidential use of the Department and shall not be disclosed. The Department may not disclose the information to anyone other than law enforcement officials, other regulatory agencies that have an appropriate regulatory interest as determined by the Secretary of the Department, or a party presenting a lawful subpoena to the Department. Information and documents disclosed to a federal, State, county, or local law enforcement agency shall not be disclosed by the agency for any purpose to any other agency or person. A formal complaint filed by the Department against a licensee or applicant shall be a public record, except as otherwise prohibited by law.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-85

    (225 ILCS 65/70-85) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-85)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-85. Stenographer; transcript. The Department, at its expense, shall provide a stenographer to take down the testimony and preserve a record of all formal hearing proceedings if a license may be revoked, suspended, or placed on probationary status or other disciplinary action may be taken. Any licensee who is found to have violated this Act or who fails to appear for a hearing to refuse to issue, restore, or renew a license or to discipline a license may be required by the Department to pay for the costs of the proceeding. These costs are limited to costs for court reporters, transcripts, and witness attendance and mileage fees. The Secretary may waive payment of costs by a licensee in whole or in part where there is an undue financial hardship. The notice of hearing, complaint and all other documents in the nature of pleadings and written motions filed in the proceedings, the transcript of testimony, the report of the Board and the orders of the Department shall be the record of the proceedings. The Department shall furnish a transcript of the record to any person interested in the hearing upon payment of the fee required under Section 2105-115 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law (20 ILCS 2105/2105-115).
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-90

    (225 ILCS 65/70-90) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-90)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-90. Compelled testimony and production of documents. Any circuit court may, upon application of the Department or designee or of the applicant or licensee against whom proceedings upon Section 70-80 of this Act are pending, enter an order requiring the attendance of witnesses and their testimony, and the production of documents, papers, files, books and records in connection with any hearing or investigation. The court may compel obedience to its order by proceedings for contempt.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-95

    (225 ILCS 65/70-95) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-95)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-95. Subpoena power; oaths. The Department shall have power to subpoena and bring before it any person in this State and to take testimony, either orally or by deposition or both, with the same fees and mileage and in the same manner as prescribed by law in judicial proceedings in civil cases in circuit courts of this State.
    The Secretary and any member of the Board designated by the Secretary shall each have power to administer oaths to witnesses at any hearing which the Department is authorized to conduct under this Act, and any other oaths required or authorized to be administered by the Department under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-100

    (225 ILCS 65/70-100) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-100)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-100. Hearing; findings and recommendations; rehearing.
    (a) The Board or the hearing officer authorized by the Department shall hear evidence in support of the formal charges and evidence produced by the licensee. At the conclusion of the hearing the Board shall present to the Secretary a written report of its findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations. The report shall contain a finding whether or not the accused person violated this Act or failed to comply with the conditions required in this Act. The report shall specify the nature of the violation or failure to comply, and the Board shall make its recommendations to the Secretary.
    (b) At the conclusion of the hearing, a copy of the Board's or hearing officer's report shall be served upon the applicant or licensee by the Department, either personally or as provided in this Act for the service of a notice of hearing. Within 20 calendar days after service, the applicant or licensee may present to the Department a motion in writing for a rehearing, which shall specify the particular grounds for hearing. The Department shall respond to the motion for rehearing within 20 calendar days after its service on the Department. If no motion for rehearing is filed, then upon the expiration of the time specified for filing such a motion, or upon denial of a motion for rehearing, the Secretary may enter an order in accordance with the recommendations of the Board or hearing officer. If the applicant or licensee orders from the reporting service and pays for a transcript of the record within the time for filing a motion for rehearing, the 20-day period within which a motion may be filed shall commence upon the delivery of the transcript to the applicant or licensee.
    (c) If the Secretary disagrees in any regard with the report of the Board, the Secretary may issue an order contrary to the report. The findings are not admissible in evidence against the person in a criminal prosecution brought for the violation of this Act, but the hearing and findings are not a bar to a criminal prosecution brought for the violation of this Act.
    (d) Whenever the Secretary is not satisfied that substantial justice has been done, the Secretary may order a rehearing by the same or another hearing officer.
    (e) All proceedings under this Section are matters of public record and shall be preserved.
    (f) Upon the suspension or revocation of a license, the licensee shall surrender the license to the Department, and, upon failure to do so, the Department shall seize the same.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-103

    (225 ILCS 65/70-103)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-103. Disposition by consent order. At any point in any investigation or disciplinary proceeding provided for in this Act, both parties may agree to a negotiated consent order. The consent order shall be final upon signature of the Secretary.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-105

    (225 ILCS 65/70-105) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-105)
    Sec. 70-105. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07. Repealed by P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-110

    (225 ILCS 65/70-110) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-110)
    Sec. 70-110. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07. Repealed by P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-115

    (225 ILCS 65/70-115) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-115)
    Sec. 70-115. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07. Repealed by P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-120

    (225 ILCS 65/70-120) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-120)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-120. Order of Secretary. An order regarding any disciplinary action or a certified copy thereof, over the seal of the Department and purporting to be signed by the Secretary, shall be prima facie evidence that:
        (a) the signature is the genuine signature of the
    
Secretary;
        (b) the Secretary is duly appointed and qualified; and
        (c) the Board and the Board members are qualified to
    
act.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-125

    (225 ILCS 65/70-125) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-125)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-125. Restoration after suspension or revocation. At any time after the suspension or revocation of any license, the Department may restore it to the accused person unless, after an investigation and a hearing, the Department determines that restoration is not in the public interest.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-130

    (225 ILCS 65/70-130) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-130)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-130. Surrender of license. Upon revocation or suspension of any license, the licensee shall forthwith surrender the license to the Department and if the licensee fails to do so, the Department shall have the right to seize the license.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-135

    (225 ILCS 65/70-135) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-135)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-135. Temporary suspension. The Secretary may temporarily suspend the license of a licensee without a hearing, simultaneously with the institution of proceedings for a hearing provided for in Section 70-80 of this Act, if the Secretary finds that evidence in his or her possession indicates that continuation in practice would constitute an imminent danger to the public. In the event that the Secretary suspends, temporarily, this license without a hearing, a hearing by the Department must be held within 30 days after the suspension has occurred, and be concluded without appreciable delay.
    Proceedings for judicial review shall be commenced in the circuit court of the county in which the party applying for review resides; but if the party is not a resident of this State, the venue shall be in Sangamon County.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-140

    (225 ILCS 65/70-140) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-140)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-140. Review under Administrative Review Law. All final administrative decisions of the Department are subject to judicial review pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Review Law, and all rules adopted under the Administrative Review Law. The term "administrative decision" is defined as in Section 3-101 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
    Proceedings for judicial review shall be commenced in the circuit court of the county in which the party applying for review resides; however, if the party is not a resident of this State, the venue shall be Sangamon County.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-145

    (225 ILCS 65/70-145) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-145)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-145. Certification of record. The Department shall not be required to certify any record to the court, file any answer in court, or otherwise appear in any court in a judicial review proceeding, unless and until the Department has received from the plaintiff payment of the costs of furnishing and certifying the record, which costs shall be determined by the Department. Exhibits shall be certified without cost. Failure on the part of the plaintiff to file such receipt in Court shall be grounds for dismissal of the action.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-150

    (225 ILCS 65/70-150) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-150)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-150. Criminal penalties. Any person who is found to have violated any provision of this Act is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. On conviction of a second or subsequent offense, the violator shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-155

    (225 ILCS 65/70-155) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-155)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-155. Pending actions. All disciplinary actions taken or pending pursuant to the Illinois Nursing Act, approved June 14, 1951, as amended, shall, for the actions taken, remain in effect, and for the actions pending, shall be continued, on the effective date of this Act without having separate actions filed by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-160

    (225 ILCS 65/70-160) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-160)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-160. Illinois Administrative Procedure Act. The Illinois Administrative Procedure Act is hereby expressly adopted and incorporated herein as if all of the provisions of that Act were included in this Act, except that the provision of subsection (d) of Section 10-65 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act that provides that at hearings the licensee has the right to show compliance with all lawful requirements for retention, continuation or renewal of the license is specifically excluded. For the purposes of this Act, the notice required under Section 10-25 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act is deemed sufficient when mailed to the address of record.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)

225 ILCS 65/70-165

    (225 ILCS 65/70-165) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-165)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-165. Home rule preemption. It is declared to be the public policy of this State, pursuant to paragraph (h) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution of 1970, that any power or function set forth in this Act to be exercised by the State is an exclusive State power or function. Such power or function shall not be exercised concurrently, either directly or indirectly, by any unit of local government, including home rule units, except as otherwise provided in this Act.
(Source: P.A. 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)

225 ILCS 65/70-170

    (225 ILCS 65/70-170)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-170. Sexually Transmissible Disease Control Act. No licensee under this Act may be disciplined for providing expedited partner therapy in accordance with the provisions of the Illinois Sexually Transmissible Disease Control Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-613, eff. 1-1-10.)