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AVENDMVENT TO HOUSE BI LL 903

AMENDMVENT NO. . Anend House Bill 903 by replacing

everything after the enacting clause with the foll ow ng:

"Section 5. The Crimnal Code of 1961 is anended by

changi ng Section 24-3 as foll ows:

(720 ILCS 5/24-3) (fromCh. 38, par. 24-3)

Sec. 24-3. Unlawful Sale of Firearns.

(A) A person conmts the offense of wunlawful sale of
firearns when he or she know ngly does any of the foll ow ng:

(a) Sells or gives any firearmof a size which may
be conceal ed upon the person to any person under 18 years
of age.

(b) Sells or gives any firearmto a person under 21
years of age who has been convicted of a m sdeneanor
other than a traffic offense or adjudged delinquent.

(c) Sells or gives any firearm to any narcotic
addi ct .

(d) Sells or gives any firearmto any person who
has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this or
any other jurisdiction.

(e) Sells or gives any firearmto any person who

has been a patient in a mental hospital within the past 5
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years.

(f) Sells or gives any firearnms to any person who
is mentally retarded.

(g) Delivers any firearmof a size which my be
conceal ed upon the person, incidental to a sale, wthout
wi t hhol di ng delivery of such firearm for at |east 72
hours after application for its purchase has been made,
or delivers any rifle, shotgun or other |long gun,
incidental to a sale, wthout wthholding delivery of
such rifle, shotgun or other long gun for at |east 24
hours after application for its purchase has been nmade.
However, this paragraph (g) does not apply to: (1) the
sale of a firearmto a l|aw enforcenent officer or a
person who desires to purchase a firearmfor use in
pronoting the public interest incident to his or her
enpl oynent as a bank guard, arned truck guard, or other

simlar enploynent; (2) a mail order sale of a firearmto

a nonresident of Illinois under which the firearm is
mai l ed to a point outside the boundaries of Illinois; (3)
the sale of a firearmto a nonresident of Illinois while

at a firearm showing or display recognized by the
I1linois Departnent of State Police; or (4) the sale of a
firearmto a dealer licensed under the Federal Firearns
Act of the United States.

(h) Wile hol di ng any license as a dealer,
i nporter, manufacturer or pawnbroker under the federal
@Gun Control Act of 1968, manufactures, sells or delivers
to any unlicensed person a handgun having a barrel,
slide, frame or receiver which is a die casting of zinc
all oy or any ot her nonhonogeneous netal which wll nelt
or deform at a tenperature of |ess than 800 degrees
Fahr enhei t. For purposes of this par agr aph, (1)
"firearnt IS defi ned as in the Firearm Owners

| dentification Card Act; and (2) "handgun" is defined as
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a firearm designed to be held and fired by the use of a
singl e hand, and includes a conbination of parts from
whi ch such a firearm can be assenbl ed.

(1) Sells or gives a firearmof any size to any
person under 18 years of age who does not possess a valid
Firearm Omer's ldentification Card.

(1) Wile holding any |license as a deal er,

i mporter, manufacturer, or pawnbroker under the federal

@Qn Control Act of 1968, sells or gives a firearmto any

Illinois resident 18 vears of age or over who does not

possess and di spl ay a valid Firearm Oomer' s

| dentification Card.

(B) Paragraph (h) of subsection (A) does not include
firearnms sold wthin 6 nonths after enactnment of Public Act
78- 355 (approved August 21, 1973, effective COctober 1, 1973),
nor is any firearmlegally owed or possessed by any citizen
or purchased by any citizen within 6 nonths after the
enactnment of Public Act 78-355 subject to confiscation or
sei zure under the provisions of that Public Act. Nothing in
Public Act 78-355 shall be construed to prohibit the gift or
trade of any firearmif that firearm was legally held or
acquired wthin 6 nonths after the enactnent of that Public
Act .

(B-5) Paragraph (j) of subsection (A) does not apply to

any person who is not prohibited under State or federal | aw

from owning or possessing a firearm if the person is

participating in a firearns safety, training, or education

course.
(© Sentence.
(1) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of
firearms in violation of any of paragraphs (c) through
(h) and (]j) of subsection (A) commts a Class 4 felony.
(2) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of

firearms in violation of paragraph (b) or (i) of
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subsection (A) commts a Class 3 felony.

(3) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of
firearns in violation of paragraph (a) of subsection (A)
commits a Class 2 fel ony.

(4) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of

firearns in violation of paragraph (a), (b), or (i) of

subsection (A) in any school, on the real property
conprising a school, wthin 1,000 feet of +the real
property conprising a school, at a school related

activity, or on or within 1,000 feet of any conveyance
owned, |eased, or <contracted by a school or school
district to transport students to or from school or a
school related activity, regardless of the tinme of day or
time of year at which the offense was commtted, commts
a Cass 1 felony. Any person convicted of a second or
subsequent violation of wunlawful sale of firearns in
viol ati on of paragraph (a), (b), or (i) of subsection (A
in any school, on the real property conprising a school,
within 1,000 feet of the real property conprising a
school, at a school related activity, or on or wthin
1,000 feet of any conveyance owned, |eased, or contracted
by a school or school district to transport students to
or fromschool or a school related activity, regardless
of the time of day or tinme of year at which the offense
was conmtted, conmts a Class 1 felony for which the
sentence shall be a termof inprisonnment of no | ess than
5 years and no nore than 15 years.

(5 Any person convicted of wunlawful sale of
firearns in violation of paragraph (a) or (i) of
subsection (A) in residential property owned, operated,
or managed by a public housing agency or |eased by a
public housing agency as part of a scattered site or
m xed-i ncone devel opnent, in a public park, in a

court house, on residential property owed, operated, or
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managed by a public housing agency or |eased by a public
housing agency as part of a scattered site or
m xed-i ncome devel opnent, on the real property conprising
any public park, on the real property conprising any
court house, or on any public way within 1,000 feet of the
real property conprising any public park, courthouse, or
residential property owned, operated, or nmanaged by a
public housing agency or leased by a public housing
agency as part of a scattered site or m xed-incone
devel opnent commts a Class 2 felony.
(D) For purposes of this Section:
"School"™ neans a public or private el ementary or
secondary school, community college, college, or university.
"School related activity" mnmeans any sporting, social,
academc, or other activity for which students' attendance or
participation is sponsored, organized, or funded in whole or
in part by a school or school district.
(Source: P.A 91-12, eff. 1-1-00; 91-673, eff. 12-22-99;
91-696, eff. 4-13-00.)

Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect wupon

becom ng | aw. ".
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