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 1        AN ACT in relation to public employee benefits.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Pension  Code  is  amended  by

 5    changing Sections 5-154 and 5-154.1 as follows:

 6        (40 ILCS 5/5-154) (from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 5-154)

 7        Sec.  5-154.  Duty disability benefit; child's disability

 8    benefit.

 9        (a)  An active policeman who becomes disabled on or after

10    the effective date as the result of  injury  incurred  on  or

11    after  such  date in the performance of an act of duty, has a

12    right to receive duty disability benefit during any period of

13    such disability for which he does not have a right to receive

14    salary, equal to 75% of his salary, as salary is  defined  in

15    this  Article,  at  the time the disability is allowed; or in

16    the case of a policeman on duty  disability  who  returns  to

17    active  employment  at  any  time  for a period of at least 2

18    years and is again disabled from the same  cause  or  causes,

19    75%  of  his salary, as salary is defined in this Article, at

20    the  time  disability  is  allowed;  provided,  that  if  the

21    disability  resulted  from  any  physical  defect  or  mental

22    disorder or any disease which existed at the time the  injury

23    was sustained, or if the disability is less than 50% of total

24    disability  for  any service of a remunerative character, the

25    duty disability benefit shall be 50% of salary as defined  in

26    this  Article.   However,  beginning January 1, 1996, no duty

27    disability benefit that has been payable under  this  Section

28    for  at  least 10 years shall be less than 50% of the current

29    salary attached from time to time to the  rank  held  by  the

30    policeman  at  the time of removal from the police department

31    payroll, regardless of whether that removal  occurred  before
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 1    the effective date of this amendatory Act 1995.

 2        (b)  The  policeman  shall  also  have a right to child's

 3    disability benefit of $100 $30 per month for each natural  or                            ____                        ___________                                 ---

 4    legally  adopted unmarried child, the issue of the policeman,      ________________                                      -----------------------------

 5    less than age 18, but the total amount of child's  disability

 6    benefit shall not exceed 25% of his salary as defined in this

 7    Article.  The increase in child's disability benefit provided                ___________________________________________________

 8    by  this  amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly applies      _____________________________________________________________

 9    to all such benefits payable on or after the  effective  date      _____________________________________________________________

10    of  this  amendatory  Act, regardless of whether the disabled      _____________________________________________________________

11    policeman is in active service on  or  after  that  effective      _____________________________________________________________

12    date.      _____

13        (c)  Duty  disability  benefit shall be payable until the

14    policeman becomes age  63  or  would  have  been  retired  by

15    operation  of law, whichever is later, and child's disability

16    benefit shall be paid during any such  period  of  disability

17    until  the  child  attains  age 18.  Thereafter the policeman

18    shall receive the annuity provided  in  accordance  with  the

19    other provisions of this Article.

20        (d)  A  policeman  who  suffers a heart attack during the

21    performance and discharge of his or her duties as a policeman

22    shall be considered injured in the performance of an  act  of

23    duty  and  shall  be  eligible for all benefits that the City

24    provides for police officers injured in the performance of an

25    act of  duty.   This  subsection  (d)  is  a  restatement  of

26    existing  law  and  applies  without  regard  to  whether the

27    policeman is in service on or after  the  effective  date  of

28    Public Act 89-12 or this amendatory Act of 1996.

29    (Source: P.A. 89-12, eff. 4-20-95; 89-643, eff. 8-9-96.)

30        (40 ILCS 5/5-154.1) (from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 5-154.1)

31        Sec. 5-154.1. Occupational disease disability benefit.

32        (a)  The  General  Assembly  finds  that  service  in the

33    police department requires police officers in times of stress
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 1    and danger to perform unusual tasks; that police officers are

 2    subject to exposure  to  extreme  heat  or  extreme  cold  in

 3    certain seasons while performing their duties; and that these

 4    conditions  exist  and  arise  out  of  or  in  the course of

 5    employment.

 6        (b)  Any police officer with at least 10 years of service

 7    who suffers a heart  attack  or  any  other  disabling  heart

 8    disease  but is not entitled to a benefit under Section 5-154

 9    is entitled to receive  an  occupational  disease  disability

10    benefit   under   this  Section.   The  occupational  disease

11    disability benefit shall be 65% of the salary attached to the

12    rank held by the police officer in the police service at  the

13    time  of  his  or  her  removal  from  the  police department

14    payroll.  However, no occupational disease disability benefit

15    that has been payable under this  Section  for  at  least  10

16    years  shall  be less than 50% of the current salary attached

17    from time to time to the rank held by the police  officer  at

18    the  time  of  his  or her removal from the police department

19    payroll.

20        The  police  officer  is  also  entitled  to  a   child's

21    disability  benefit of $100 $50 per month for each natural or                             ____                                  ---

22    legally adopted unmarried child less than  age  18  dependent

23    upon  the  police  officer  for  support.   The total child's

24    disability  benefit  shall  not  exceed  10%  of  the  police

25    officer's salary at the  time  of  removal  from  the  police

26    department  payroll.   The  increase  in  child's  disability                             ______________________________________

27    benefit  provided  by this amendatory Act of the 92nd General      _____________________________________________________________

28    Assembly applies to all such benefits payable on or after the      _____________________________________________________________

29    effective date of this amendatory Act, regardless of  whether      _____________________________________________________________

30    the  disabled policeman is in active service on or after that      _____________________________________________________________

31    effective date.      _______________

32        The occupational disease disability  benefit  is  payable

33    during  the  period  of  disability  until the police officer

34    attains age 63 or compulsory retirement age, whichever occurs

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



                            -4-                LRB9207359EGfg

 1    later;  thereafter  the  police  officer  shall  receive  the

 2    benefits provided under the other provisions of this Article.

 3    If the police officer ceases to be disabled, the occupational

 4    disease disability benefit shall cease.

 5        The child's disability  benefit  is  payable  during  the

 6    period  of  disability  until  the  child  attains  age 18 or

 7    marries, whichever event occurs first, except that a  benefit

 8    payable on account of a child under this Section shall not be

 9    reduced  or terminated by reason of the child's attainment of

10    age 18 if he or she is then dependent by reason of a physical

11    or mental disability, but shall continue to be paid  as  long

12    as the child's dependency and disability continue.

13    (Source: P.A. 89-12, eff. 4-20-95; 89-643, eff. 8-9-96.)

14        Section  90.  The State Mandates Act is amended by adding

15    Section 8.25 as follows:

16        (30 ILCS 805/8.25 new)

17        Sec. 8.25. Exempt mandate.   Notwithstanding  Sections  6          _________________________________________________________

18    and  8 of this Act, no reimbursement by the State is required      _____________________________________________________________

19    for  the  implementation  of  any  mandate  created  by  this      _____________________________________________________________

20    amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly.      ____________________________________________

21        Section 99. Effective date.  This Act takes  effect  upon

22    becoming law.
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