Public Act 90-0534 of the 90th General Assembly

State of Illinois
Public Acts
90th General Assembly

[ Home ] [ Public Acts ] [ ILCS ] [ Search ] [ Bottom ]

Public Act 90-0534

HB1210 Enrolled                                LRB9004330NTsb

    AN ACT to amend the Illinois  Vehicle  Code  by  changing
Section 3-806.4.

    Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,
represented in the General Assembly:

    Section 5.  The  Illinois  Vehicle  Code  is  amended  by
changing Section 3-806.4 as follows:

    (625 ILCS 5/3-806.4) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-806.4)
    Sec. 3-806.4.  Gold Star recipients.  Commencing with the
1991   registration   year,   upon  proper  application,  the
Secretary of State  shall  issue  one  pair  of  registration
plates  to  any Illinois resident, who as the surviving widow
or widower, or in  the  absence  thereof,  as  the  surviving
parent,  is  awarded  the  Gold  Star by the United States in
recognition of spouses or children who served  in  the  Armed
Forces  of  the  United  States and lost their lives while in
service whether in peacetime or war. If the parent no  longer
survives,  the Secretary of State shall issue the plates to a
surviving sibling, of the person  who  served  in  the  Armed
Forces,  who is an Illinois resident. No more than one set of
plates shall be issued for each Gold Star awarded,  and  only
one  surviving  parent,  or  in  the  absence  of a surviving
parent, only one surviving sibling shall be issued a  set  of
registration  plates, except for those surviving parents who,
as recipients of the Gold Star,  have  legally  separated  or
divorced,  in  which  case  each  surviving  parent  shall be
allowed one set of registration plates.  Registration  plates
issued  under  this  Section  shall  be  for  first  division
vehicles  and  second  division  vehicles  of 8,000 pounds or
less. An applicant  shall  be  charged  a  $15  fee  for  the
original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration
fee  which  shall  be  deposited  into  the Road Fund to help
defray  the  administrative  processing  costs.    For   each
registration  renewal  period,  a  $2 fee, in addition to the
appropriate  registration   fee,   shall   be   charged   and
deposited into the Road Fund.
(Source: P.A. 86-390.)

    Section  99.  Effective date.  This Act takes effect upon
becoming law.

[ Top ]