

October 26, 2022

The Honorable J B Pritzker Governor of the State of Illinois 207 Statehouse Springfield, IL 62706 Mr. Matthew Wells Cheiron, Incorporated 200 West Monroe Street, Suite 1800 Chicago, IL 60606

Re: Proposed Certification of Required State Contribution to the State Universities Retirement System for State Fiscal Year 2024

Dear Governor Pritzker and Mr. Wells:

Pursuant to Section 15-165 (a-10) of the Illinois Pension Code, the Board of Trustees of the State Universities Retirement System (the "System") hereby submits the System's preliminary certification of the required State contribution for Fiscal Year 2024 for the purposes of the System.

The Board submits \$2,129,109,000 as the preliminary total net required contribution for Fiscal Year 2024. The System anticipates receiving finalized financial information which will require us to modify this contribution amount.

As required by Section 15-165 of the Illinois Pension Code, a copy of the preliminary actuarial recommendations, upon which the preliminary certification is based, is also enclosed.

Please note that the updated actuarial valuation results recommend an actuarially determined funding policy that funds the normal cost of the plan, as well as an amortization payment that would seek to pay the total unfunded accrued liability over a closed period to attain 100% funding by 2045 (22 years remaining in the actuarial valuation as of June 30, 2022) or earlier. The current statutory contribution does not comply with this recommendation. Underfunding the System creates a risk that, ultimately, benefit obligations cannot be met from the trust.

While State statute governs funding policy, it is important to highlight the differences between the current statutory appropriation and the recommended actuarially determined funding policy so that potential risks and additional ramifications of underfunding are fully understood.

Sincerely,

Suzanne M. Mayer Executive Director

usane M. Mayer

Enclosures: Proposed Certification

Actuarial Valuation Report (draft)

cc: The Honorable Don Harmon, President of the Senate

The Honorable Emanuel Chris Welch, Speaker of the House of Representatives

The Honorable Dan McConchie, Senate Republican Leader The Honorable Jim Durkin, House Republican Leader

The Honorable Susana Mendoza, Comptroller, State of Illinois

Mr. Joe Butcher, Illinois Office of the Auditor General

Ms. Ginger Ostro, Executive Director, Illinois Board of Higher Education Dr. Brian Durham, Executive Director, Illinois Community College Board

Mr. Clayton Klenke, Executive Director, Commission on Government Forecasting &

Accountability