

October 28, 2022

Governor JB Pritzker 207 Statehouse Springfield, IL 62706

Dear Governor Pritzker:

Pursuant to Public Act 88-593, as amended, at a meeting held on October 28, 2022, the Board of Trustees of the Judges' Retirement System (JRS) preliminarily certified an FY 2024 State contribution of \$147,838,000, or 95.600% of projected payroll. Of the \$147,838,000, \$29,548,000 is for the employer's portion of the expected FY 2024 normal cost. The additional \$118,290,000 is due to the unfunded liabilities.

Consistent with Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) Statement No. 67, the JRS Board of Trustees adopted a funding policy, or Actuarially Determined Contribution (ADC) policy in 2015. The ADC provides for annual contributions that are equal to the annual normal cost of benefits earned plus amortization of the unfunded actuarial liability over a 25-year period, as a level percent of payroll. The remaining amortization period is 18 years. The FY 2024 ADC is \$174,674,767, or \$26.8 million higher than the amount calculated under the statutory funding plan.

The ADC is used in financial reporting but will not affect the certified employer contributions to JRS, which is calculated and certified by the Board pursuant to the statutory funding plan.

Attached is the draft FY 2022 actuarial valuation along with the FY 2024 certification letter prepared by the System's actuaries. The actuarial valuation, membership data used in the valuation, and all calculations will be forwarded to the State Actuary for review.

Very truly yours,
Timothy B. Blair

Timothy Blair Executive Secretary

cc: Governor JB Pritzker, Chicago Office
Susana A. Mendoza, Comptroller
Alexis Sturm, Director, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Marc Staley, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Lynn Patton, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Cory Burris, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
John Hollman, House Clerk

Brad Bolin, Assistant House Clerk.

Tim Anderson, Senate Clerk

Scott Kaiser, Assistant Secretary of the Senate

Clayton Klenke, Director, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability

Dan Hankiewicz, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability

Senate President Don Harmon

Senate Republican Leader Dan McConchie

Speaker of the House Emmanuel "Chris" Welch

House Republican Leader Jim Durkin

Tiffany Moy, Speaker's Office

Andrew Freiheit, House Republican Staff

Jake Butcher, Senate President's Office

Jenna Mitchell, Senate Republican Staff

Aaron Holmes, Senate President's Office

Jonathan Peebles, Senate President's Office

Mark Jarmer, House Democratic Staff

Mike Mahoney, House Republican Staff

Joe Sculley, House Republican Staff

Scott Hurrelbrink, Senate Republican Staff

Kyle Foutch, Senate Republican Staff

Rich Rockwood, Senate Republican Staff

John Webb, House Democratic Staff