

January 10, 2024

Governor JB Pritzker 207 Statehouse Springfield, IL 62706

## Dear Governor Pritzker:

Pursuant to Public Act 88-593, as amended, at a meeting held January 9, 2024, the Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement System (SERS) certified an FY 2025 State contribution rate of 51.180% of projected payroll, or \$2,672,354,000. The FY 2025 certification includes \$2,547,978,000 for the State contribution to SERS and \$124,376,000 for debt service on the 2003 pension obligation bonds. Of the \$2,547,978,000 for the State contribution to SERS, \$574,378,000 is for the employer's portion of the expected FY 2025 normal cost and \$1,973,600,000 is due to the unfunded liabilities.

Consistent with the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) Statement No. 67, the SERS Board of Trustees adopted a funding policy, or Actuarially Determined Contribution (ADC) policy in 2015. The ADC provides for annual contributions that are equal to the annual normal cost of benefits earned plus amortization of the unfunded actuarial liability over a 25-year period as a level percent of payroll. The remaining amortization period is 17 years. The FY 2025 ADC is \$3,143,700,187, or \$595.7 million higher than the amount calculated under the statutory funding plan.

The ADC is used in financial reporting but does not affect the certified State contribution to SERS, which is calculated and certified by the Board pursuant to the statutory funding plan.

Attached is the FY 2023 actuarial valuation along with the FY 2025 certification letter prepared by the System's actuaries. The actuarial valuation, membership data used in the valuation, and all calculations have been reviewed by the State Actuary.

Very truly yours,

Timothy B. Blair

Timothy Blair Executive Secretary

cc: Governor JB Pritzker, Chicago Office
Susana A. Mendoza, Comptroller
Kevin Schoeben, Assistant Comptroller
Alexis Sturm, Director, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Marc Staley, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Lynn Patton, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Cory Burris, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
John Hollman, House Clerk

Brad Bolin, Assistant House Clerk.

Tim Anderson, Secretary of the Senate

Scott Kaiser, Assistant Secretary of the Senate

Clayton Klenke, Director, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability

Dan Hankiewicz, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability

Zach Hollinshead, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability

Senate President Don Harmon

Senate Republican Leader John Curran

Speaker of the House Emmanuel "Chris" Welch

House Republican Leader Tony McCombie

Tiffany Moy, Speaker's Office

Andrew Freiheit, House Republican Staff

Ashley Jenkins-Jordan, Senate President's Office

Jenna Mitchell, Senate Republican Staff

Aaron Holmes, Senate President's Office

Jonathan Peebles, Senate President's Office

Joe Sculley, House Republican Staff

Scott Hurrelbrink, Senate Republican Staff

Rich Rockwood, Senate Republican Staff

John Webb, House Democratic Staff