

January 12, 2024

Governor JB Pritzker 207 Statehouse Springfield, IL 62706

Dear Governor Pritzker:

Pursuant to Public Act 88-593, as amended, at a meeting of the Board of Trustees of the General Assembly Retirement System (GARS) held on January 12, 2024, the Board certified an FY 2025 State contribution of \$26,210,000, or 220.373% of projected payroll. Of the \$26,210,000, \$1,656,000 is for the employer's portion of the expected FY 2025 normal cost and \$24,554,000 is due to the unfunded liabilities.

Consistent with Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) Statement No. 67, the GARS Board of Trustees adopted a funding policy, or Actuarially Determined Contribution (ADC) policy in 2015. The ADC provides for annual contributions that are equal to the annual normal cost of benefits earned plus amortization of the unfunded actuarial liability over a 20-year period, as a level percent of payroll. The remaining amortization period is 12 years. The FY 2025 ADC is \$33,816,152, or \$7.6 million higher than the amount calculated under the statutory funding plan.

The ADC is used in financial reporting but does not affect the certified State contribution to GARS, which is calculated and certified by the Board pursuant to the statutory funding plan.

Attached is the FY 2023 actuarial valuation and the FY 2025 certification letter prepared by the System's actuaries. The actuarial valuation, membership data used in the valuation, and all calculations have been reviewed by the State Actuary.

Very truly yours, Timothy B. Blair

> Timothy Blair Executive Secretary

cc: Governor JB Pritzker, Chicago Office

Susana A. Mendoza, Comptroller

Alexis Sturm, Director, Governor's Office of Management & Budget

Marc Staley, Governor's Office of Management & Budget

Lynn Patton, Governor's Office of Management & Budget

Cory Burris, Governor's Office of Management & Budget

John Hollman, House Clerk

Brad Bolin, Assistant House Clerk.

Tim Anderson, Secretary of the Senate

Scott Kaiser, Assistant Secretary of the Senate

Clayton Klenke, Director, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability
Dan Hankiewicz, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability
Senate President Don Harmon
Senate Republican Leader John Curran
Speaker of the House Emmanuel "Chris" Welch
House Republican Leader Tony McCombie
Tiffany Moy, Speaker's Office
Andrew Freiheit, House Republican Staff
Jake Butcher, Senate President's Office
Jenna Mitchell, Senate Republican Staff
Aaron Holmes, Senate President's Office
Jonathan Peebles, Senate President's Office
Mark Jarmer, House Democratic Staff
Joe Sculley, House Republican Staff
Scott Hurrelbrink, Senate Republican Staff

Rich Rockwood, Senate Republican Staff John Webb, House Democratic Staff