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Public Act 100-0775 expands the Sexual Assault Survivors Emergency Treatment Act (SASETA)
to ensure that all survivors of sexual assault and sexual abuse are treated in a timely manner by
health care professionals who are specially trained to conduct medical forensic examinations of
sexual assault and sexual abuse survivors. The Act is the product of a yearlong collaboration
among the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH), the Office of the Attorney General, child
abuse pediatricians, sexual assault nurse examiners, and other medical providers, rape crisis
advocates, children’s advocacy centers, hospitals, state’s attorney’s offices, and state agencies.

Public Act 100-0775 also established the Sexual Assault Medical Forensic Services
Implementation Task Force (Implementation Task Force) and set forth numerous goals to
accomplish before December 31, 2023. One of the goals is “to develop and distribute educational
information regarding the implementation of this Act to hospitals, health care providers, rape crisis
centers, children’s advocacy centers [and] State’s Attorney’s offices[.]” [410 ILCS 70/9.5(c)(5)]

This document contains the educational information for health care providers prepared by the
Implementation Task Force to satisfy this statutory mandate. Educational information for others
may be found on the website of the Office of the Attorney General at
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/Safer-Communities/Responding-to-Sexual-Assault/SANE/.

Please note this document is not a complete summary of Public Act 100-0775. The full text of
the new law can be found at http.//ilea.cov/legislation/publicacts/100/PDF/100-0775.pdf.

The full text of SASETA can be found at
http://www.ilga.cov/legislation/iles/iles3.asp? ActID=1531& ChapterID=35&Print=True.
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Scope of the New Law

The amendments to SASETA apply to all sexual assault survivors who (1) present with a complaint
of sexual assault that occurred within a minimum of the last 7 days or (2) who have disclosed past
sexual assault by a specific individual and were in the care of that individual within a minimum of
the last 7 days. This is considered an acute disclosure. Treatment provided within 7 days is
commonly referred to as acute medical forensic services. Treatment provided after 7 days is
commonly referred to a non-acute medical services.

When a sexual assault survivor presents for acute medical forensic services, the sexual assault
survivor shall be offered evidence collection using the Illinois State Police Sexual Assault
Evidence Collection Kit. The provider of medical forensic services must give the survivor
appropriate oral and written information created by the Office of the Attorney General concerning
evidence-based guidelines for the appropriateness of evidence collection depending on the sexual
development of the sexual assault survivor, the type of sexual assault, and the timing of the sexual
assault. Evidence collection is encouraged for prepubescent sexual assault survivors who present
to a hospital or approved pediatric health care facility with a complaint of sexual assault within 96
hours after the sexual assault.

Definitions

“Hospital” means a hospital licensed under the Hospital Licensing Act or operated under the
University of Illinois Hospital Act, any outpatient center included in the hospital's sexual assault
treatment plan where hospital employees provide medical forensic services, and an out-of-state
hospital that has consented to the jurisdiction of the Department [of Public Health] under Section
2.06 [of SASETA].

“Medical forensic services” are defined as health care delivered to patients within or under the
care and supervision of personnel working in a designated emergency department of a hospital or
an approved pediatric health care facility. "Medical forensic services" includes, but is not limited
to, taking a medical history, performing photo documentation, performing a physical and
anogenital examination, assessing the patient for evidence collection, collecting evidence in
accordance with a statewide sexual assault evidence collection program administered by the
Department of State Police using the Illinois State Police Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Kit,
if appropriate, assessing the patient for drug-facilitated or alcohol-facilitated sexual assault,
providing an evaluation of and care for sexually transmitted infection and human
immunodeficiency virus (HIV), pregnancy risk evaluation and care, and discharge and follow-up
healthcare planning. Medical forensic services are specifically set forth in Section 5(a-5) of
SASETA. [410 ILCS 70/5(a-5)]

“Rape Crisis Counselor” or Rape Crisis Advocate” means a medical advocate trained and
supervised in accordance with Illinois Coalition Against Sexual Assault Policies and Procedures
and Illinois statute 735 ILCS 5/8-802.1 “Confidentiality of Statements Made to Rape Crisis
Personnel” who is available, on-call, 24-hours per day, seven days per week, to provide in-person
crisis intervention counseling, medical advocacy services and victim assistance to those presenting
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as or determined to be survivors of sexual assault and abuse at a hospital emergency room or
Approved Pediatric Health Care Facility. The terms may also apply to a legal advocate who
provides services related to court proceedings, such as civil proceedings relating to domestic
violence orders of protection or civil no contact orders and criminal cases.

“Sexual assault” means: (1) an act of sexual conduct; as used in this paragraph, "sexual conduct"
has the meaning provided under Section 11-0.1 of the Criminal Code of 2012; or (2) any act of
sexual penetration; as used in this paragraph, "sexual penetration" has the meaning provided under
Section 11-0.1 of the Criminal Code of 2012 and includes, without limitation, acts prohibited under
Sections 11-1.20 through 11-1.60 of the Criminal Code of 2012.

“Sexual assault survivor” means a person who presents for medical forensic hospital emergency
services in relation to injuries or trauma resulting from a sexual assault.

“Pediatric sexual assault survivor” means a person under the age of 13 who presents for medical
forensic services in relation to injuries or trauma resulting from a sexual assault.

“Prepubescent sexual assault survivor” means a female who is under the age of 18 years and has
not had a first menstrual cycle or a male who is under the age of 18 years and has not started to
develop secondary sex characteristics who presents for medical forensic services in relation to
injuries or trauma resulting from a sexual assault.

“Transfer services” means the appropriate medical screening examination and necessary
stabilizing treatment prior to the transfer of a sexual assault survivor to a hospital or an approved

pediatric health care facility that provides medical forensic services to sexual assault survivors
pursuant to a sexual assault treatment plan or areawide sexual assault treatment plan.

[410 ILCS 70/1a]

Unless otherwise noted, the provisions discussed below go into effect on January 1, 2019. [410
ILCS 70/99]

Places Where Medical Forensic Services and Examinations May Be Performed

Acute Medical forensic examinations may only be performed in four places:

1. Treatment Hospital. A licensed hospital that has a treatment plan approved by the Illinois
Department of Public Health (IDPH) to provide medical forensic services to sexual assault
survivors of all ages 24 hours a day 7 days a week. [410 ILCS 70/2(a)]

2. Treatment Hospital with Approved Pediatric Transfer. A licensed hospital that has a
treatment plan approved by IDPH to provide medical forensic services to sexual assault
survivors 13 years or older and to transfer pediatric patients to a Treatment Hospital or an
Approved Pediatric Health Care Facility 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. [410 ILCS 70/2(a)]
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3. Approved Pediatric Health Care Facility. A health care facility, other than a hospital, with
an Areawide Treatment Plan approved by IDPH to provide medical forensic services to
pediatric sexual assault survivors during hours of operation. [410 ILCS 70/2(b)]

4. Out-of-State Hospital. An out-of-state hospital, designated as a trauma center by IDPH
that consents to the jurisdiction of IDPH under SASETA and is part of an Areawide
Treatment Plan, that has been approved by IDPH, with one or more licensed Illinois
hospitals to provide medical forensic services to sexual assault survivors 24 hours a day, 7
days a week. [410 ILCS 70/2.06]

THESE ARE THE ONLY MEDICAL FACILITIES THAT ARE AUTHORIZED BY LAW
TO PERFORM ACUTE MEDICAL FORENSIC SERVICES.

Non-acute medical forensic services may be performed at any health care facility.

Law enforcement officers and others should immediately refer sexual assault survivors with a
complaint of sexual assault within the last 7 days or who have disclosed past sexual assault by a
specific individual and were in the care of that individual within the last 7 days immediately to a

hospital for acute medical forensic services.

Qualified Medical Provider Requirement

A Qualified Medical Provider (QMP) must provide medical forensic services at an Approved
Pediatric Health Care Facility. [410 ILCS 70/2(b)]

A QMP must provide the medical forensic services at Treatment Hospitals and Treatment
Hospitals with Approved Pediatric Transfer (APT). [410 ILCS 70/5(a)]

A QMP is a board-certified or board-eligible child abuse pediatrician, sexual assault forensic
examiner (SAFE) or sexual assault nurse examiner (SANE), who has access to photo
documentation tools and participates in peer review.

e A board-certified or board-eligible child abuse pediatrician is a physician certified by the
American Board of Pediatrics in child abuse pediatrics or a physician who has completed
the requirements set forth by the American Board of Pediatrics to take the examination for
certification in child abuse pediatrics.

e A SAFE is a physician or physician assistant who has completed training that meets or is
substantially similar to the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Education Guidelines
established by the International Association of Forensic Nurses for either
Pediatric/Adolescent survivors, Adult/Adolescent survivors or Pediatric/Adolescent/Adult
Survivors.

o The Illinois Department of Public Health, in consultation with the Office of the
Attorney General, must adopt administrative rules by January 1, 2020 establishing

This document has been created by the Sexual Assault Medical Forensic Services Implementation Task Force
for Health Care Providers pursuant to 410 ILCS 70/9.5(b)(5).

6

December 27, 2018



a process for physicians and physician assistants to provide documentation of
training and clinical experience that meets or is substantially similar to the Sexual
Assault Nurse Examiner Education Guidelines established by the International
Association of Forensic Nurses in order to qualify as a sexual assault forensic
examiner. [410 ILCS 70/2.05(c)]

e A SANE is an advanced practice registered nurse or registered professional nurse who has
completed a sexual assault nurse examiner training program that meets the Sexual Assault
Nurse Examiner Education Guidelines established by the International Association of
Forensic Nurses for either Pediatric/Adolescent survivors, Adult/Adolescent survivors or
Pediatric/Adolescent/Adult survivors.

o A SANE in Illinois who has completed the didactic and clinical components for
Adult/Adolescent or Pediatric/Adolescent sexual assault survivors may conduct a
medical forensic examination using the Illinois State Police Sexual Assault
Evidence Collection Kit without the presence or participation of a physician for that
specific population. [410 ILCS 70/5(a-5)(1-5)(B)]

o A SANE is not required to be nationally certified by the International Association
of Forensic Nurses Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification, however, the
Implementation Task Force encourages SANEs to become nationally certified to
ensure the highest level of care for Illinois sexual assault survivors.

o For additional information regarding the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Education
Guidelines and SANE Certification, please see the “Sexual Assault Nurse
Examiner Program” section.

[410 TLCS 70/1a]

Medical Forensic Services

Section 5 of SASETA sets forth the following minimum services which must be offered to sexual
assault survivors seeking medical forensic services by Treatment Hospitals, Treatment Hospitals
with Approved Pediatric Transfer, Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities, and Out-of-State
Hospitals participating in an Area Wide Treatment Plan. P.A. 100-0775 amends Section 5 to revise
some of the current provisions and adds additional provisions. P.A. 100-1087 also adds two new
requirements. (*New Requirement)

e Provide medical forensic services without delay, in a private, age- or developmentally-
appropriate space.*

e Offer to complete the Illinois Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Kit for any sexual assault
survivor who presents within the last 7 days of the assault or who has disclosed past sexual
assault by a specific individual and was in the care of that individual within the last 7 days.
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e Provide appropriate oral and written information concerning the possibility of infection,
sexually transmitted infection, including an evaluation of the sexual assault survivor's risk
of contracting human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) from sexual assault and pregnancy
resulting from sexual assault.

e Provide appropriate oral and written information concerning accepted medical procedures,
laboratory tests, medication, and possible contraindications of such medication available
for the prevention or treatment of infection or disease resulting from sexual assault.

e Provide an amount of medication, including HIV prophylaxis, for treatment at the hospital
or Approved Pediatric Health Care Facility (APHCF) and after discharge as is deemed
appropriate by the attending physician, an advanced practice registered nurse, or a
physician assistant in accordance with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
guidelines and consistent with the hospital's or APHCF’s current approved protocol for
sexual assault survivors.

e Beginning July 1, 2019, offer photo documentation of the sexual assault survivor's injuries,
anatomy involved in the assault, or other visible evidence on the sexual assault survivor's
body to supplement the medical forensic history and written documentation of physical
findings and evidence.*

e Provide written and oral instructions indicating the need for follow-up examinations and
laboratory tests after the sexual assault to determine the presence or absence of sexually
transmitted infection.

e Make a referral for appropriate counseling.

e Provide written information regarding services provided by a children's advocacy center
and rape crisis center, if applicable. Information for dissemination to be provided to
hospitals by the appropriate centers.*

e Offer medical advocacy services provided by a rape crisis counselor whose
communications are protected under Section 8-802.1 of the Code of Civil Procedure, if
there is a memorandum of understanding between the hospital and a rape crisis center.*

e With the consent of the sexual assault survivor, a rape crisis counselor shall remain in the
exam room during the medical forensic examination. The sexual assault survivor also has
the right to have a support person present during the examination.* (P.A. 100-1087)

e Provide access to a shower at no cost, after a medical evidentiary or physical
examination, unless showering facilities are unavailable.* (P.A. 100-1087)

[410 ILCS 70/5(a) and 5(a-5)]
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Information for Survivors about Evidence Collection

The law mandates that certain information must be provided directly to a sexual assault survivor
and non-offending parent or legal guardian. The information must be provided in-person by the
Qualified Medical Provider (QMP) or health care professional providing medical forensic services
when offering to complete the Illinois Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Kit. Beginning January
1, 2022, this information must be provided by the QMP providing medical forensic services.

The mandated information includes:

e Appropriate oral and written information concerning evidence-based guidelines for the
appropriateness of evidence collection depending on the sexual development of the sexual
assault survivor, the type of sexual assault, and the timing of the sexual assault.

e Information that evidence collection is encouraged for prepubescent sexual assault
survivors who present to a hospital or approved pediatric health care facility with a
complaint of sexual assault within a minimum of 96 hours after the sexual assault.

[410 ILCS 70/5(a-5)(1.5)]

The Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program, in consultation with Qualified Medical Providers,
will create uniform materials that all Treatment Hospitals, Treatment Hospitals with Approved
Pediatric Transfer, and Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities (APHCFs) are required to give
patients and non-offending parents or legal guardians, if applicable, regarding the medical forensic
examination procedure, laws regarding consenting to medical forensic services, and the benefits
and risks of evidence collection, including recommended time frames for evidence collection
pursuant to evidence-based research. [410 ILCS 70/10]

Photo Documentation

On or before July 1, 2019, Qualified Medical Providers and health care providers performing
medical forensic examinations at facilities with approved sexual assault treatment plans must offer
photo documentation of the examination to the sexual assault survivor and obtain the survivor’s
consent to take photos. Photo documentation does not replace written documentation of the injury
and is part of the patient’s medical record. [410 ILCS 70/5(a-5)(5)]

“Photo documentation” means digital photographs or colposcope videos stored and backed-up
securely in the original file format. [410 ILCS 70/1a]

Photo documentation may be used for peer review, expert second opinion, or in a criminal
proceeding against a person accused of sexual assault, a proceeding under the Juvenile Court Act
of 1987, or in an investigation under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act. [410 ILCS
70/5.1]
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The Implementation Task Force has developed a sample Forensic Photography Policy, including
optional consent form, equipment options and storage options, for Treatment Hospitals, Treatment

Hospitals with Approved Pediatric Transfer, and Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities.

The sample policy may be found on the Attorney General’s website at

htips.//illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/Safer-Communities/Responding-to-Sexual-Assault/SANE/.

Consent for Medical Forensic Services and Testing of Sexual Assault Evidence

Medical Forensic Exam and Evidence Collection

e Any person who is a sexual assault survivor who seeks medical forensic services or follow-
up healthcare shall be provided services without the consent of any parent, guardian,
custodian, surrogate, or agent. [410 ILCS 70/5(b)] If the sexual assault survivor consents
to the exam, the healthcare professional will still ask the survivor if it is okay to proceed
with each step of the exam. The patient can stop the exam at any time or decline any

portion of the exam.

e If a sexual assault survivor is unable to consent to medical forensic services, the services
may be provided under the Consent by Minors to Medical Procedures Act [410 ILCS 210/1
et seq.], the Health Care Surrogate Act [755 ILCS 40/5 et. seq.], or other applicable State

and federal laws. [410 ILCS 70/5(b)]

e [fa parent or guardian consents to a medical forensic exam for a child or other person, the
healthcare professional will still seek the sexual assault survivor’s assent to perform each
part of the exam. Assent is the expressed willingness of the survivor to participate in an
activity. An exam will not be forced upon a sexual assault survivor and a survivor should

not be physically restrained or medicated in order for the exam to be performed.

Photo Documentation / Photographic Evidence

e A sexual assault survivor age 13 years old or older has the option to consent to or decline
the collection of photographic evidence as part of the medical forensic examination. This
is reflected on the Illinois State Police Patient Consent: Collect and Test Evidence or
Collect and Hold Evidence form, which is part of the Illinois Sexual Assault Evidence
Collection Kit. If the sexual assault survivor is under 13 years old, consent may be obtained

from a parent or guardian. [77 Ill. Adm. Code 545.60(c)(2)]

e A sexual assault survivor may verbally withdraw consent for photographs and images to
be taken at any time. The withdrawal of consent may apply to the rest of the examination
or to a portion of the examination. If consent is withdrawn, the health care professional
should document in the patient’s medical record that consent was withdrawn and specify
the scope of the consent withdrawal (e.g. the remainder of the examination, photos of the

genitalia, or photos of a specific injury).
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e [fasexual assault survivor is unable to consent to photographic evidence, the collection of
photographic evidence may be provided under the Consent by Minors to Medical
Procedures Act [410 ILCS 210/1 et seq.], the Health Care Surrogate Act [755 ILCS 40/5
et. seq.], or other applicable State and federal laws. [410 ILCS 70/5(b)]

Reporting to Law Enforcement / Testing of Sexual Assault Evidence

e A sexual assault survivor who consents to medical forensic services is not required to report
the sexual assault or sexual abuse to law enforcement. However, a sexual assault survivor
may choose to speak with a law enforcement officer or to allow Qualified Medical
Providers and other health care providers to provide information to law enforcement
regarding the sexual assault. [725 ILCS 203/20(b), ()]

¢ Once a medical forensic exam is completed, a survivor has two options with respect to the
testing of the evidence collecting during the exam. The first option is to release the evidence
to a law enforcement agency for forensic testing by a crime lab. The second option is the
release the evidence to law enforcement for storage. A survivor shall have 10 years from
the completion of the exam or 10 years from the age of 18 years, whichever is longer, to
sign a written consent to release the sexual assault evidence to law enforcement for testing.
[725 ILCS 203/30]

e A sexual assault survivor 13 years of age or older may sign the written consent to release
the evidence for testing. [410 ILCS 70/6.5(a)(1)]

e [fthe sexual assault survivor is a minor who is under 13 years of age, the written consent
to release the sexual assault evidence for testing may be signed by a parent, guardian,
investigating law enforcement officer, or Department of Children and Family Services.
[410 ILCS 70/6.5(a)(2)]

e If'the survivor is an adult who has a guardian of the person, a health care surrogate, or an
agent acting under a health care power of attorney, the consent of the guardian, surrogate,
or agent is not required to release evidence for testing and information concerning the
sexual assault or sexual abuse. If the adult is unable to provide consent for the release of
evidence for testing and information and a guardian, surrogate, or agent under a health care
power of attorney is unavailable or unwilling to release the information, then an
investigating law enforcement officer may authorize the release for testing. [410 ILCS
70/6.5(a)(3)]

e Ifasexual assault survivor is unable to sign the consent to report to law enforcement or to
release the evidence for testing, consent to report to law enforcement or to release the
evidence for testing may be obtained from law enforcement, the Department of Children
and Family Services, under the Consent by Minors to Medical Procedures Act [410 ILCS
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210/1 et seq.], the Health Care Surrogate Act [755 ILCS 40/5 et. seq.], or other applicable
State and federal laws. [410 ILCS 70/5(b)]

Patient Medical Records Pertaining to Medical Forensic Services

Creation and Storage

Records shall be maintained by the Treatment Hospital, Treatment Hospital with Approved
Pediatric Transfer (APT), the Out-of-State Hospital or Approved Pediatric Health Care
Facility (APHCF) as part of the patient's medical record and must include results of
examinations and tests, the Illinois State Police Medical Forensic Documentation Forms,
the Illinois State Police Patient Discharge Materials, and the Illinois State Police Patient
Consent: Collect and Test Evidence or Collect and Hold Evidence Form and, if indicated,
the Illinois State Police Consent to Toxicology Form.

Photo documentation taken during a medical forensic examination must be maintained by
the Treatment Hospital, Treatment Hospital with APT, the Out-of-State Hospital or
APHCEF as part of the patient's medical record. Photo documentation must be stored and
backed up securely in its original file format in accordance with facility protocol.

Retention

Records and photo documentation of sexual assault survivors 18 years of age or older must
be retained by the Treatment Hospital, Treatment Hospital with APT, or Out-of-State
Hospital, APHCF for a period of 20 years after the date the record was created.

Records and photo documentation of sexual assault survivors under the age of 18 must be
retained by the Treatment Hospital, Treatment Hospital with APT, Out-of-State Hospital,
or APHCEF for a period of 60 years after the sexual assault survivor reaches the age of 18
(i.e. until the date the survivor reaches or would have reached the age of 78).

Dissemination

Records of medical forensic services may only be disseminated in accordance with 6.5 of
SASETA and other State and federal law. A Treatment Hospital, Treatment Hospital with
APT, or APHCF must not release information about the sexual assault to law enforcement
unless the survivor consents to the release or law enforcement has a court order.

Photo documentation of the sexual assault survivor's injuries, anatomy involved in the
assault, or other visible evidence on the sexual assault survivor's body may be used for peer
review, expert second opinion, or in a criminal proceeding against a person accused of
sexual assault, a proceeding under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, or in an investigation
under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.

[410 ILCS 70/5(a-5), 5.1. and 6.5]
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The Implementation Task Force recommends health care providers consult with State’s Attorney
Offices in their service area when requests or subpoenas for access to or copies of photo
documentation are received to ensure that the sexual assault survivor’s privacy is protected to the
greatest extent possible and that the prosecutor has sufficient access to photo documentation to
hold the offender accountable.

Follow-Up Healthcare and Vouchers

“Sexual assault services voucher” is defined as a document generated by a hospital or Approved
Pediatric Health Care Facility (APHCF) at the time the sexual assault survivor receives outpatient
medical forensic services that may be used to seek payment for any ambulance services, medical
forensic services, laboratory services, pharmacy services, and follow-up healthcare provided as a
result of the sexual assault.

“Follow-up healthcare” is defined as health care services related to a sexual assault, including

laboratory services and pharmacy services, rendered within 90 days of the initial visit for medical
forensic services. Follow-up healthcare services include, but are not limited to, the following:

e A physical examination
e Laboratory tests to determine the presence or absence of sexually transmitted infection

e Appropriate medications, including HIV prophylaxis, in accordance with the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention's guidelines

A sexual assault survivor who presents a sexual assault services voucher (“voucher”) for follow-
up health care services may not be directly billed for the follow-up services. A hospital, APHCF,
health care professional, laboratory, or pharmacy that provides follow-up healthcare to a sexual
assault survivor must comply with the billing requirements in Sections 7 and 7.5 of SASETA as
outlined below.

[410 ILCS 70/1a and 5.5(a)]

Directly Billing a Survivor is Expressly Prohibited

Section 7.5(a) of SASETA expressly prohibits a hospital, an Approved Pediatric Health Care
Facility (APHCF), health care professional, ambulance provider, laboratory, or pharmacy that
provides medical forensic services, transportation, follow-up healthcare, or medication to a sexual
assault survivor from charging or submitting a bill for any portion of the costs of the services to
the sexual assault survivor, including any insurance deductible, co-pay, co-insurance, denial of
claim by an insurer, spenddown, or any other out-of-pocket expense. These providers are also
prohibited from engaging in any debt collection activities with respect to a sexual assault survivor
or sending any portion of the bill to a collection agency. [410 ILCS 70/7.5(a)]
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Hospitals and other providers are not prohibited from directly billing a sexual assault survivor for
inpatient services. [410 ILCS 70/7.5(b)]

The Office of the Attorney General may seek civil monetary penalties for violations of Section 7.5
of SASETA.

The penalty for willfully engaging in prohibited conduct or engaging in prohibited conduct
involving a pattern or practice may be up to $500.

The penalty for sending a bill to a collection agency may be up to $500 for each day the
bill is with the collection agency.

Civil monetary penalties are deposited into the Violent Crime Victims Assistance Fund.

[410 TLCS 70/8(b)]

Billing Procedure for Medical Forensic and Follow-Up Healthcare Services

A sexual assault survivor cannot be billed for medical forensic services or for follow-up healthcare;
however, providers can bill other entities such as private insurance and public and private health
coverage programs. Section 7(a) of SASETA sets out the billing procedure in detail.

Patient is eligible to receive benefits under the medical assistance program under Article
V of the Illinois Public Aid Code. The bill should be submitted to the Department of
Healthcare and Family Services or appropriate Medicaid managed care organization and
the provider must accept the amount paid as full payment.

Patient is eligible to receive health care benefits under a policy of insurance, or public or
private health coverage program. The provider should timely bill insurance and/or the
program(s). Any portion of the bill that is not paid by these programs may be sent with a
copy of the sexual assault services voucher (if applicable) to the Illinois Sexual Assault
Emergency Treatment Program under the Department of Healthcare and Family Services
in accordance with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 148.510. The amount paid by these entities shall be
accepted as full payment.

Patient is not eligible to receive health care benefits under a government program, policy
of insurance, or public or private health coverage program. The provider should timely
submit a request for reimbursement with a copy of the sexual assault services voucher (if
applicable) to the Illinois Sexual Assault Emergency Treatment Program under the
Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with 89 Ill. Adm. Code
148.510. The amount paid shall be accepted as full payment.

[410 ILCS 70/7(a)]
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Treatment Hospitals, Treatment Hospitals with Approved Pediatric Transfer, Out-of-State
Hospitals and Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities (APHCF) are required to provide a written
notice regarding billing to sexual assault survivors. At a minimum, the written notice must include:

A statement that the sexual assault survivor cannot be directly billed by any ambulance
provider providing transportation services, or by any hospital, APHCF, health care
professional, laboratory, or pharmacy for the services the sexual assault survivor received
as an outpatient at the hospital or APHCEF;

A statement that a sexual assault survivor who is admitted to a hospital may be billed for
inpatient services provided by a hospital, health care professional, laboratory, or pharmacy;

A statement that prior to leaving the hospital emergency department or APHCF, the
hospital or APHCF will give the sexual assault survivor a sexual assault services voucher
for follow-up healthcare if the sexual assault survivor is eligible to receive a sexual assault
services voucher;

The definition of "follow-up healthcare" as set forth in Section 1a of SASETA;

A phone number the sexual assault survivor may call should the sexual assault survivor
receive a bill from the hospital or APHCF for medical forensic services; and

The toll-free phone number of the Office of the Illinois Attorney General, Crime Victim
Services Division [1-800-228-3368 (voice); 1-877-398-1130 (TTY)], which the sexual
assault survivor may call should the sexual assault survivor receive a bill from an
ambulance provider, APHCEF, a health care professional, a laboratory, or a pharmacy.

[410 ILCS 70/7.5(c)]

Billing Protocol Requirement

Section 7.5(d) requires the following service providers to develop a billing protocol to ensure that
sexual assault survivors are not charged or sent a bill for medical forensic services or for follow-
up healthcare:

Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities (APHCFs)

Qualified Medical Providers (QMPs) who (a) provide medical forensic services, (b) are
not employees of hospitals or APHCFs and (c) bill separately from the hospital or
APHCEF. (This can include child abuse pediatricians, SAFEs or SANESs.)

Health care professionals who (a) provide medical forensic services, (b) are not employees
of hospitals or APHCFs and (c) bill separately from the hospital or APHCF. (This can
include emergency room physicians, radiologists, trauma surgeons, etc.)
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Treatment Hospitals, Treatment Hospitals with Approved Pediatric Transfer, Out-of-State
Hospitals and health care professionals (a) who are employed by a hospital or hospital affiliate and
(b) who do not bill separately from the hospital are not required to develop a billing protocol.

At a minimum, the billing protocol must include:
1) A description of training for persons who prepare bills for medical forensic services;

2) A written acknowledgment signed by a person who has completed the training that the
person will not bill survivors of sexual assault;

3) Prohibitions on submitting any bill for any portion of medical forensic services provided
to a survivor of sexual assault to a collection agency;

4) Prohibitions on taking any action that would adversely affect the credit of the survivor of
sexual assault;

5) The termination of all collection activities if the protocol is violated; and the actions to be
taken if a bill is sent to a collection agency or the failure to pay is reported to any credit
reporting agency.

An APHCEF billing protocol must be submitted to the Crime Victim Services Division of the Office
of the Attorney General (OAG) for approval within 60 days of the Illinois Department of Public
Health’s approval of a sexual assault treatment plan.

QMPs and health care professionals who bill as a single entity, such as an LLC, may submit a
single protocol. The due dates for submission are:

e (QMPs and health care professionals who were providing services on March 1, 2016, were
required to submit a protocol by March 1, 2016.

e (QMPs and health care professional who commence the provision of medical forensic
services after March 1, 2016, are required to submit a protocol within 60 days of the
commencement of services.

[410 ILCS 70/7.5(d)]

The OAG will approve a protocol if it determines that implementation of the protocol would result
in no sexual assault survivor being charged or sent a bill for services. If the OAG determines that
implementation of the protocol could result in billing the sexual assault survivor or other prohibited
conduct, the OAG will provide a written statement of deficiencies. The APHCF, QMP or health
care professional will have 30 days to correct the deficiencies and submit a revised protocol. [410
ILCS 70/7.5(d)]
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The APHCF, QMP or health care professional must implement the billing protocol upon approval
by the Crime Victim Services Division.

The Crime Victim Services Division of the OAG has prepared additional materials about the
protocol requirement and two sample templates for billing protocols. The sample templates can
be found on the OAG’s website at

https://illinoisattorneygeneral. gov/Safer-Communities/Responding-to-Sexual-Assault/SANE/.

The OAG may seek civil monetary penalties for untimely submitted billing protocols. The amount
of the penalty may be up to $100 per day from the due date to the date the protocol is submitted.
Civil monetary penalties are deposited into the Violent Crime Victims Assistance Fund. [410
ILCS 70/8(b)]

Training Requirements for
Treatment Hospital and Treatment Hospital with Approved Pediatric Transfer
Emergency Department Clinical Staff

Applicability. Clinical staff includes attending physicians, physician assistants, advanced practice
registered nurses and registered professional nurses providing clinical services in the emergency
department. It excludes resident physicians and clinical staff who meet the definition of a
Qualified Medical Provider (QMP).

Duration and Frequency of Sexual Assault Training

Dates Duration of Training Frequency of Training
Beginning January 1, 2019 until July 1, 2020 2 hours Once
After July 1, 2020 2 hours Every 2 years

Note: Once a hospital has 24/7 availability of a QMP within 90 minutes of a sexual assault
survivor’s arrival at the hospital, all clinical staff, regardless of whether they have received an
initial 2 hours of training, begin the schedule of 2 hours of sexual assault training every 2 years.

Example:
e From January 1,2019 — August 1, 2019, HOSPITAL trains 25% of its clinical staff.

e As of August 2, 2019, HOSPITAL has 24/7 availability of a QMP within 90
minutes of a sexual assault survivor’s arrival at the hospital.

e The 75% of clinical staff that did not receive sexual assault training must now
receive 2 hours of training by August 2, 2021, instead of by July 1, 2020.

e Note: August 2, 2019 begins the two year training window for all clinical staff. All
clinical staff must receive 2 hours of training between August 2, 2019 and August
2,2021.
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https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/Safer-Communities/Responding-to-Sexual-Assault/SANE/

Content. The training must include but is not limited to information on the provision of medical
forensic services, use of the Illinois Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Kit, sexual assault
epidemiology, neurobiology of trauma, drug-facilitated sexual assault, child sexual abuse, Illinois
sexual assault-related laws and the hospital's sexual assault-related policies and procedures.

Training Options. The sexual assault training may be provided in person or online. Online training
to be made available by the Office of the Attorney General by March 1, 2019 pursuant to Section
10(b) of SASETA, may be used (but is not required) to meet this requirement, in part. Hospitals
will need to add the hospital's sexual assault-related policies and procedures to the training.

[410 ILCS 70/2(a)]

Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program

Public Act 100-0775 formally establishes the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) Program in
the Office of the Attorney General (OAG). The SANE Program is tasked with the following:

e C(reate, in consultation with Qualified Medical Providers, uniform materials that all
Treatment Hospitals, Treatment Hospitals with Approved Pediatric Transfer and Approved
Pediatric Health Care Facilities are required to give patients and non-offending parents or
legal guardians, if applicable, regarding the medical forensic exam procedure, laws
regarding consenting to medical forensic services, and the benefits and risks of evidence
collection, including recommended time frames for evidence collection pursuant to
evidence-based research. These materials will be posted on the OAG’s website.

e By March 1, 2019, develop and make available to hospitals 2 hours of online training for
emergency department clinical staff to meet the training requirement in Section 2(a) of
SASETA; Continuing Education Units (CEUs) and Continuing Medical Education
(CMEs) shall be provided for the training.

e Provide didactic and clinical SANE training opportunities that meet the Sexual Assault
Nurse Examiner Education Guidelines established by the International Association of
Forensic Nurses.

e Maintain a list of sexual assault nurse examiners who have completed didactic and clinical
training requirements consistent with the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Education
Guidelines established by the International Association of Forensic Nurses.

[410 ILCS 70/10]

Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Education Guidelines

The Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Education Guidelines established by the International
Association of Forensic Nurses (IAFN) help the sexual assault nurse examiner meet the medical
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forensic needs of those who have been affected by sexual violence, including individual patients,
families, communities and systems.

e Registered nurses who perform medical forensic evaluations must receive additional and
specific didactic and clinical preparation to care for adult, adolescent and pediatric patients.
These guidelines specify the minimum level of instruction required to ensure competent
practice.

¢ C(Clinicians should attend a didactic training that yields a minimum of 40 continuing nursing
education contact hours from an accredited provider of nursing education. Separate
didactic coursework exists for the Adult/Adolescent patient and the Pediatric/Adolescent
patient. Clinicians may also attend a combination Adult/Adolescent and
Pediatric/Adolescent training that yields a minimum of 64 continuing nursing education
contact hours from an accredited provider of nursing education.

e Upon completion of the didactic coursework, clinicians must also complete clinical
components, including simulated clinical experiences that are in addition to the didactic
coursework and not calculated as part of the 40-hour didactic course. The Office of the
Attorney General has a clinical training log specific to Adult/Adolescent and
Pediatric/Adolescent training requirements. Information about the didactic training
opportunities and the clinical logs may be found on the OAG’s website:
hitps://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/Safer-Communities/Responding-to-Sexual-
Assault/SANE/.

SANE Certification

The SANE Program in the Office of the Attorney General does not provide SANE Certification.
The Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification (CFNC), as part of the IAFN, currently offers
two professional credentials: the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner-Adult/Adolescent (SANE-A®)
and the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner-Pediatric (SANE-P®). Both credentials are recognized by
the American Nurses Credentialing Center's (ANCC) Magnet Program®. National certification is
not required to practice as a SANE in Illinois. It is recommended that a clinician practice as a
SANE for 3 years or 300 clinical hours before applying to sit for the National Certification Exam.
Information on national certification may be found on the IAFN website at
https..//www.forensicnurses.org/page/CertOpportunities.

The Implementation Task Force Implementation Task Force encourages SANEs to become
nationally certified to ensure the highest level of care for Illinois sexual assault survivors.

Administrative Rules for SASETA

Section 6.1 of SASETA mandates that the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) prescribe
minimum standards and promulgate rules and regulations implementing SASETA. [410 ILCS
70/6.1] The current rules are found in Title 77 Part 545 of the Illinois Administrative Code. IDPH
will be adopting emergency rules, as well as amendments to the existing rules to address the

This document has been created by the Sexual Assault Medical Forensic Services Implementation Task Force
for Health Care Providers pursuant to 410 ILCS 70/9.5(b)(5).

19

December 27,2018


https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/Safer-Communities/Responding-to-Sexual-Assault/SANE/
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/Safer-Communities/Responding-to-Sexual-Assault/SANE/
https://www.forensicnurses.org/page/CertOpportunities

provisions of P.A. 100-0775 and P.A. 100-1087. All hospitals and Approved Pediatric Health
Care Facilities must comply with both the statute and the rules.

Relevant Provisions of Public Act 100-1087

Public Act 100-1087, also effective January 1, 2019, contains changes to the laws which directly
relate to survivors of sexual assault.

Sexual Assault Survivor’s Use of Alcohol, Cannabis and Controlled Substances

At the time of first contact with law enforcement, a sexual assault survivor shall be advised that
“...sexual assault forensic evidence collected will not be used to prosecute the victim for any
offense related to the use of alcohol, cannabis, or a controlled substance.” [725 ILCS 203/25(c-

)]

A person reporting that he or she has been sexually assaulted or a person reporting a sexual assault
of another person or requesting emergency medical assistance or medical forensic services for
another person who had been sexually assaulted may not be charged based solely on the
commission of an offense that

1) involves alcohol and violates subsection (d) or (e) of Section 20 of the Liquor Control
Act 0of 1934; or

2) is a Class 4 felony possession of a controlled, counterfeit, or look-alike substance or a
controlled substance analog, provided the amount of the substance falls under specified
amounts in statute.

[See 235 ILCS 5/6-20(1-5) and 720 ILCS 570/415 for additional requirements/limitations. ]

All higher education institutions (colleges and universities) must revise their comprehensive
policies concerning sexual violence, domestic violence, dating violence, and stalking consistent
with governing federal and state law to include an amnesty provision for possession or
consumption of alcohol or controlled substances.

[Preventing Sexual Violence in Higher Education Act, 110 ILCS 155/10(10)]

Rights Before, During and After a Medical Forensic Examination

A sexual assault survivor has the right to retain an attorney who may be present during all stages
of any interview, investigation, or other interaction with representatives of the criminal justice
system. The treatment of the sexual assault survivor should not be affected or altered in any way
as a result of the survivor’s decision to exercise this right. [725 ILCS 120/4(d)]

A sexual assault survivor has a right to have an advocate present during any medical evidentiary
or physical examination, unless no advocate can be summoned in a reasonably timely manner. The
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survivor also has the right to have an additional person present for support during any medical
evidentiary or physical examination. A sexual assault survivor retains these rights even if the
survivor has waived these rights in a previous examination. [725 ILCS 120/4.6]

A hospital or Approved Pediatric Health Care Facility providing medical forensic services to a
sexual assault survivor must provide the survivor access to a shower at no cost, after a medical
evidentiary or physical examination unless showering facilities are unavailable. [410 ILCS
70/5(a)(3.5)]

A sexual assault survivor has a right, upon request, to a free copy of the police report as soon as
practicable, but in no event, more than 5 days after the request. [725 ILCS 120/4(b-5)]

Consent to Test Sexual Assault Evidence

A sexual assault survivor has 10 years from the completion of an Illinois State Police Sexual
Assault Evidence Collection Kit, or 10 years from the date a minor sexual assault survivor turns
18 years of age, whichever is longer, to sign a written consent to release the sexual assault evidence
to law enforcement for testing. [725 ILCS 203/30(d)]

Statute of Limitations

Existing law allows a prosecution for criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault,
or aggravated criminal sexual abuse to be commenced within 10 years of the commission of the
offense if the sexual assault survivor reported the offense to law enforcement authorities within 3
years after the commission of the offense.

Public Act 100-1087 provides that the consent of a sexual assault survivor to the collection of
evidence using an Illinois State Police Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Kit under the SASETA
shall constitute reporting for purposes of this extension to the statute of limitations. [720 ILCS
5/3-6(1)]

Relevant Provision of P.A. 100-0080

P.A. 100-0800, effective August 11, 2017, amended the statute of limitations for various sexual
offenses involving minor victims. Section 5/3-6(j) of the Criminal Code of 2012 now provide that
a prosecution for criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, predatory criminal
sexual assault of a child, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, or felony criminal sexual abuse may
be commenced at any time when the victim is under 18 years of age at the time of the offense.

[720 ILCS 5/3-6(j)]
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SASETA IMPLEMENTATION TIMELINE

SASETA Provision Date Assistance to be Made Available
Sexual Assault Treatment and Transfer Plans for New or updated plans to be Task Force: Educational Materials for Hospitals
the Illinois Department of Public Health: Transfer | submitted to IDPH after and Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities

Hospitals, Treatment Hospitals, Treatment
Hospitals with Approved Pediatric Transfer, and
Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities

1/2/2019.

IDPH: IDPH Plan Forms will be available at
https://dph.illinois.gov/

IDPH: Emergency Administrative Rules to be
published in January 2019

Areawide Treatment Plans

Areawide Treatment Plans to be

Task Force: Will form Committees to facilitate the

submitted to IDPH after development of Areawide Treatment Plans among

1/2/2019. hospitals and pediatric health care facilities.
Transferring of Pediatric Sexual Assault Survivors | Only after Areawide Treatment Task Force: Will form Committees to facilitate the

Plan is approved by IDPH. development of Areawide Treatment Plans among

hospitals and pediatric health care facilities.

Transferring of Sexual Assault Survivors to Out-
of-State Hospitals

Only after Areawide Treatment
Plan is approved by IDPH.

Task Force: Will form Committees to facilitate the
development of Areawide Treatment Plans among
hospitals and pediatric health care facilities.

Medical Forensic Services:

Provide medical forensic services without
delay, in a private, age- or developmentally-
appropriate space.

1/1/2019

After a medical evidentiary or physical
examination, provide access to a shower at no
cost, unless showering facilities are
unavailable. (PA 100-1087)

1/1/2019

Provide written information regarding services
provided by a children's advocacy center and
rape crisis center, if applicable.

1/1/2019

Rape Crisis Centers and Children’s Advocacy
Centers: Will provide written information to
Hospitals and APHCFs in Center’s service area.
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Offer medical advocacy services provided by a
rape crisis counselor, if there is a
memorandum of understanding (MOU)
between the hospital and a rape crisis center.
With the consent of the sexual assault survivor,
a rape crisis counselor shall remain in the
exam room during the medical forensic

Task Force: Sample Memorandum of
Understanding for Use by Rape Crisis Centers and
Hospitals or Approved Pediatric Health Care
Facilities*

examination. 1/1/2019

Medical Forensic Services: Offer Photo Task Force: Photo Documentation and Sample

Documentation to Sexual Assault Survivor 7/1/2019 Digital Photography Policy*
Retention of Patient Medical Records Pertaining to Task Force: Educational Materials for Hospitals
Medical Forensic Services 1/1/2019 and Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities™
Directly Billing a Survivor is Expressly Task Force: Educational Materials for Hospitals
Prohibited: APHCFs and entities not previously and Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities*
providing medical forensic services 1/1/2019

Billing Protocol Requirement: APHCFs and
entities that bill separate from the hospital

APHCFs — Submit protocol to
OAG within 60 days of approval
of facility’s sexual assault
treatment plan by IDPH.

QMPs and other health care
professionals who are not
employees of hospitals or
APHCFs and who bill separately
— Submit protocol to OAG
within 60 days of the
commencement of medical
forensic services.

Task Force: Educational Materials for Hospitals
and Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities™*
OAG: Sample Template Billing Protocol
Healthcare Professionals and Physicians™

OAG: A Guide for Ambulance, Laboratory, and
Follow-Up Healthcare Services*

Submission of Data to the Illinois Department of
Public Health required every 6 months

First submission due 7/1/2019.

A Treatment Hospital should
begin collecting data on January
1,2019.

Task Force: Educational Materials for Hospitals
and Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities*
IDPH: Excel Template will be available
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A Treatment Hospital with APT
or an APHCEF should begin
collecting data once its sexual

assault treatment plan is
approved by IDPH.

Sexual Assault Training Requirements for
Emergency Department Clinical Staff

Initial 2 hours of training by
7/1/2020.

Task Force: Educational Materials for Hospitals
and Approved Pediatric Health Care Facilities
OAG: A 2-hour training that may be (but is not
required to be) used to satisfy this requirement, in
part, will be made available to hospitals by
3/1/2019.

Qualified Medical Provider Requirement

APHCFs - 1/1/2019

Treatment Hospitals,
Treatment Hospitals with
APT, and Out-of-State
Hospitals — 1/1/2022

Task Force: Will form Committee to facilitate the
development of on-call systems of QMPs and assist
hospitals with the development of plans to employ
or contract with QMPs as required by Section 5(a-
7) of SASETA.

Note: It takes approximately 1 year become a
SANE.

*Materials available online at https.//illinoisattorneyeeneral.gcov/Safer-Communities/Responding-to-Sexual-Assault/SANE/
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FLOWCHART A

SEXUAL ASSAULT SURVIVOR UNDER THE AGE OF 13 ARRIVES
AT A TREATMENT HOSPITAL
with a complaint of sexual assault within the last 7 days or has disclosed past sexual assault by a specific
individual and was in the care of that individual within the last 7 days.

Does the Treatment Hospital
participate in an Areawide
Treatment Plan with an Approved
Pediatric Health Care Facility
(APHCF)?

Yes No

Treatment Hospital staff

will contact the APHCF.
The Treatment Hospital will
* N provide medical forensic
0 services.

Can a Qualified Medical
Provider initiate medical
forensic services (MFS) within
90 minutes of the patient’s
arrival at the APHCF,
following an immediate
transfer?

Patient chooses to
receive medical
forensic services at

the Treatment
Yes * Hospital.

The patient will be transferred
to the APHCEF to receive
medical forensic services. The

patient may be transported by
ambulance, law enforcement
Patient chooses to

or personal vehicle.

Treatment Hospital staff shall
provide the patient/non-
offending caregiver the choice
to receive MFS at the
Treatment Hospital or at the
APHCEF.

receive medical
forensic services at the

APHCEF.
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FLOWCHART B

SEXUAL ASSAULT SURVIVOR UNDER THE AGE OF 13 ARRIVES AT A TREATMENT
HOSPITAL WITH APPROVED PEDIATRIC TRANSFER (APT) OR TRANSFER HOSPITAL
with a complaint of sexual assault within the last 7 days or has disclosed past sexual assault by a specific
individual and was in the care of that individual within the last 7 days.

Does the Treatment Hospital with APT’s or
Transfer Hospital’s approved plan include
an Approved Pediatric Health Care Facility
(APHCF)?

Yes

No

No

Can a Qualified Medical
Provider (QMP) initiate
medical forensic services
within 90 minutes of the
patient’s arrival at the
APHCEF, following an
immediate transfer?

Patient chooses to
receive medical
forensic services at

the Treatment
Hospital.

The patient will be transferred to a
Treatment Hospital designated in
the Treatment Hospital with
APT’s or Transfer Hospital’s
approved plan in order to receive
medical forensic services. The
patient may be transported by
ambulance, law enforcement or
personal vehicle. The patient may
not be transferred again after
arriving at the Treatment Hospital.

Yes ‘
Treatment Hospital with
APT staff or Transfer
Hospital staff shall provide
the patient/non-offending
caregiver the choice to
receive medical forensic
services at the Treatment
Hospital or at the APHCF.

é

Patient chooses to
receive medical
forensic services at
the APHCF.

The patient will be
transferred to the APHCF
to receive medical forensic
services. The patient may
be transported by
ambulance, law
enforcement or personal
vehicle.
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