Illinois General Assembly - Senator Biography
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

WARNING - You have selected a biography page from a previous Illinois General Assembly. The information presented on this page may no longer be accurate. Please click here for the current Illinois General Assembly biography information.

Senator David Koehler (D) - Previous General Assembly (102nd)
46th District
Assistant Majority Leader

Photograph of  Senator  David Koehler (D)

Springfield Office:
Senator 46th District
309L Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8250
District Office:
400 NE. Jefferson
Suite 200
Peoria, IL 61603
(309) 677-0120

Years served: Elected November 2006, Appointed December 2006 - Present

Committee assignments: Agriculture (Vice-Chair); Education; Energy and Public Utilities; Health; Labor; App- Agriculture, Envir. & Energy (Sub-Chair); App-Health; Appropriations; Sub. on Managed Care Organizations; Subcommittee on Public Health (Sub-Chair); Redistricting- E Central & SE IL (Sub-Vice-Chair); Redistricting- Northern Illinois (Sub-Vice-Chair); Redistricting- West Central IL (Sub-Chair); Labor- Special Issues (Sub-Chair); Sub on Next Generation Nuclear; Licensed Activities (Chair).

Biography: Born and raised in South Dakota, moved to Peoria in 1978; B.A., Yankton College, 1971; M.A. in divinity, United Theological Seminary, 1974; staff member, National Farm Worker Ministry; community organizer and program manager, Peoria Friendship House; executive director, Peoria Area Labor Management Council; president, Labor Management Cooperative Health Programs Inc.; Peoria County Board member, 1982-88; Peoria City Council member, 1989-97 (mayor pro tem, 1993-94); member of the NCSL Natural Resources and Infrastructure Committee and Task Force on Energy Supply; first elected to Senate in November 2006; appointed to Senate in December 2006 to fill term of retiring Senator George Shadid; married with three daughters, two sons-in-law, one daughter-in-law, two granddaughters and one grandson.

Associated Representative(s): Jehan Gordon-Booth
 Mark Luft