Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

205 ILCS 616/30

    (205 ILCS 616/30)
    Sec. 30. Acceptance of deposits.
    (A) No terminal that accepts deposits of funds to an account may be established or owned in this State except by (a) a bank established under the laws of this or any other state or established under the laws of the United States that (1) is authorized by law to establish a branch in this State or (2) is permitted by rule of the Commissioner to establish deposit-taking terminals in this State in order to maintain parity between national banks and banks established under the laws of this or any other state, (b) a savings and loan association or savings bank established under the laws of this or any other state or established under the laws of the United States, (c) a credit union established under the laws of this or any other state or established under the laws of the United States, or (d) a licensee under the Consumer Installment Loan Act or the Sales Finance Agency Act.
    (B) A person other than a financial institution or an affiliate of a financial institution may establish or own, in whole or in part, a cash-dispensing terminal at which an interchange transaction may be performed, provided that the terminal does not accept deposits of funds to an account, and provided that the person establishing or owning the terminal must post a telephone number on the terminal for consumers to call to report problems, along with the Department's telephone number. The Commissioner or examiners appointed by the Commissioner shall have the authority to examine any person that has established or owns a terminal in this State pursuant to this subsection (B) if the Commissioner has received multiple complaints regarding one or more terminals owned by the person, and in the event of such an examination, the person shall pay the reasonable costs and expenses of the examination as determined by the Commissioner. The Commissioner may impose civil penalties of up to $1,000 against any person subject to this subsection (B) for the first failure to comply with this Act and up to $10,000 for the second and each subsequent failure to comply with this Act. All moneys received by the Commissioner under this subsection (B) shall be paid into, and all expenses incurred by the Commissioner under this subsection (B) shall be paid from, the Bank and Trust Company Fund.
    (C) A network operating in this State shall maintain a directory of the locations of cash-dispensing terminals at which an interchange transaction may be performed that are established or owned in this State by its members and shall file the directory with the Commissioner within 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1997 and thereafter once per calendar year.
(Source: P.A. 100-5, eff. 6-30-17.)