Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 410/4-7

    (225 ILCS 410/4-7) (from Ch. 111, par. 1704-7)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 4-7. Refusal, suspension and revocation of licenses; causes; disciplinary action.
    (1) The Department may refuse to issue or renew, and may suspend, revoke, place on probation, reprimand or take any other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, including civil penalties not to exceed $500 for each violation, with regard to any license for any one, or any combination, of the following causes:
        a. For licensees, conviction of any crime under the
    
laws of the United States or any state or territory thereof that is (i) a felony, (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or (iii) a crime which is related to the practice of the profession and, for initial applicants, convictions set forth in Section 4-6.1 of this Act.
        b. Conviction of any of the violations listed in
    
Section 4-20.
        c. Material misstatement in furnishing information to
    
the Department.
        d. Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
    
obtaining a license or violating any provision of this Act or its rules.
        e. Aiding or assisting another person in violating
    
any provision of this Act or its rules.
        f. Failing, within 60 days, to provide information in
    
response to a written request made by the Department.
        g. Discipline by another state, territory, or country
    
if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same as or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act.
        h. Practice in the barber, nail technology,
    
esthetics, hair braiding, or cosmetology profession, or an attempt to practice in those professions, by fraudulent misrepresentation.
        i. Gross malpractice or gross incompetency.
        j. Continued practice by a person knowingly having an
    
infectious or contagious disease.
        k. Solicitation of professional services by using
    
false or misleading advertising.
        l. A finding by the Department that the licensee,
    
after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        m. Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving from
    
any person, firm, corporation, partnership or association any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for any professional services not actually or personally rendered.
        n. Violating any of the provisions of this Act or
    
rules adopted pursuant to this Act.
        o. Willfully making or filing false records or
    
reports relating to a licensee's practice, including but not limited to, false records filed with State agencies or departments.
        p. Habitual or excessive use or addiction to alcohol,
    
narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill or safety.
        q. Engaging in dishonorable, unethical or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public as may be defined by rules of the Department, or violating the rules of professional conduct which may be adopted by the Department.
        r. Permitting any person to use for any unlawful or
    
fraudulent purpose one's diploma or license or certificate of registration as a cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician, hair braider, or barber or cosmetology, nail technology, esthetics, hair braiding, or barber teacher or salon or shop or cosmetology clinic teacher.
        s. Being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
    
report by the Department of Children and Family Services under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee has caused a child to be an abused child or neglected child as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
        t. Operating a salon or shop without a valid
    
registration.
        u. Failure to complete required continuing education
    
hours.
    (2) In rendering an order, the Secretary shall take into consideration the facts and circumstances involving the type of acts or omissions in paragraph (1) of this Section including, but not limited to:
        (a) the extent to which public confidence in the
    
cosmetology, nail technology, esthetics, hair braiding, or barbering profession was, might have been, or may be, injured;
        (b) the degree of trust and dependence among the
    
involved parties;
        (c) the character and degree of harm which did result
    
or might have resulted;
        (d) the intent or mental state of the licensee at the
    
time of the acts or omissions.
    (3) The Department may reissue the license or registration upon certification by the Board that the disciplined licensee or registrant has complied with all of the terms and conditions set forth in the final order or has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust.
    (4) The Department shall refuse to issue or renew or suspend without hearing the license or certificate of registration of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied as determined by the Department of Revenue.
    (5) The Department shall deny without hearing any application for a license or renewal of a license under this Act by a person who has defaulted on an educational loan guaranteed by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission; however, the Department may issue or renew a license if the person in default has established a satisfactory repayment record as determined by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.
    (6) All fines imposed under this Section shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the fine or in accordance with the terms set forth in the order imposing the fine.
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15; 99-427, eff. 8-21-15; 99-876, eff. 1-1-17.)