Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/6-104
(625 ILCS 5/6-104)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-104)
Classification of Driver - Special Restrictions.
(a) A driver's license issued under the authority of this Act
shall indicate the classification for which the applicant therefor has
qualified by examination or by such other means that the Secretary of State
shall prescribe. Driver's license classifications shall be
prescribed by rule or regulation promulgated by the Secretary of State and
such may specify classifications as to operation of motor vehicles of the
first division, or of those of the second division, whether operated singly
or in lawful combination, and whether for-hire or not-for-hire, and may
specify such other classifications as the Secretary deems necessary.
No person shall operate a motor vehicle unless such person has a valid
license with a proper classification to permit the operation of such
vehicle, except that any person may operate a moped if such
person has a valid current Illinois driver's license,
regardless of classification.
(b) No person who is under the age of 21 years or has had less than 1
year of driving experience shall drive: (1) in connection with the
operation of any school, day camp, summer camp, or nursery school, any
public or private motor vehicle for transporting children to or from any
school, day camp, summer camp, or nursery school, or (2) any motor vehicle
of the second division when in use for the transportation of persons for
(c) No person who is under the age of 18 years shall be issued a license
for the purpose of transporting property for hire, or for the purpose of
transporting persons for compensation in a motor vehicle of the first division.
(d) No person shall drive: (1) a school bus when transporting school
children unless such person possesses a valid school bus driver permit or
is accompanied and supervised, for the specific purpose of training prior
to routine operation of a school bus, by a person who has held a valid
school bus driver permit for at least one year; or (2) any other vehicle
owned or operated by or for a public or private school, or a school
operated by a religious institution, where such vehicle is being used over
a regularly scheduled route for the transportation of persons enrolled as a
student in grade 12 or below, in connection with any activity of the
entities unless such person possesses a valid school bus driver permit.
(d-5) No person may drive a bus that does not meet the special
for school buses provided in Sections 12-801, 12-802, 12-803, and 12-805 of
Code that has been chartered
for the sole purpose of transporting students regularly enrolled in
grade 12 or below to or from interscholastic athletic or interscholastic or
unless the person has a
valid and properly classified commercial driver's license as provided in
subsection (c-1) of Section 6-508 of this Code
addition to any other permit or license that
is required to operate that bus. This subsection (d-5)
not apply to any bus driver employed by a public transportation provider
authorized to conduct local or interurban transportation of passengers when the
bus is not traveling a specific school bus route but is on a regularly
scheduled route for the transporting of other fare paying passengers.
A person may operate a chartered bus described in this subsection
(d-5) if he or she is not disqualified from driving a chartered bus of that
type and if he or she holds a CDL that is:
(1) issued to him or her by any other state or
jurisdiction in accordance with 49 CFR 383;
(2) not suspended, revoked, or canceled; and
(3) valid under 49 CFR 383, subpart F, for the type
A person may also operate a chartered bus described
in this subsection (d-5) if he or she holds a valid CDL
and a valid school bus driver permit that was issued on
or before December 31, 2003.
(e) No person shall drive a religious organization bus unless such person
has a valid and properly classified drivers license or a valid school bus
(f) No person shall drive a motor vehicle for the purpose of providing
transportation for the elderly in connection with the activities of any
public or private organization unless such person has a valid and properly
classified driver's license issued by the Secretary of State.
(g) No person shall drive a bus which meets the special requirements
for school buses provided in Section 12-801, 12-802, 12-803 and 12-805 of
this Code for the purpose of transporting persons 18 years of age or less
in connection with any youth camp licensed under the Youth Camp Act or any
child care facility licensed under the Child Care Act of 1969 unless such
person possesses a valid school bus driver permit or is accompanied and
supervised, for the specific purpose of training prior to routine operation
of a school bus, by a person who has held a valid school bus driver permit
for at least one year; however, a person who has a valid and properly
classified driver's license issued by the Secretary of State may operate a
school bus for the purpose of transporting persons 18 years of age or less
in connection with any such youth camp or child care facility if the
"SCHOOL BUS" signs are covered or concealed and the stop signal arm and
flashing signal systems are not operable through normal controls.
(h) No person shall operate an autocycle unless he or she has a valid Class D driver's license.
(Source: P.A. 98-777, eff. 1-1-15