Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 5/7-203

    (625 ILCS 5/7-203) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-203)
    Sec. 7-203. Requirements as to policy or bond. No such policy or bond referred to in Section 7-202 shall be effective under this Section unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this State, except that if such motor vehicle was not registered in this State, or was a motor vehicle which was registered elsewhere than in this State at the effective date of the policy or bond, or the most recent renewal thereof, such policy or bond shall not be effective under this Section unless the insurance company or surety company, if not authorized to do business in this State, shall execute a power of attorney authorizing the Secretary of State to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action upon such policy or bond arising out of such motor vehicle accident. However, every such policy or bond is subject, if the motor vehicle accident has resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclusive of interest and costs, of not less than $25,000 because of bodily injury to or death of any one person in any one motor vehicle accident and, subject to said limit for one person, to a limit of not less than $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any one motor vehicle accident, and, if the motor vehicle accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a limit of not less than $20,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one motor vehicle accident. The changes to this Section made by this amendatory Act of the 98th General Assembly apply only to policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2015.
    Upon receipt of a written motor vehicle accident report from the Administrator the insurance company or surety company named in such notice shall notify the Administrator within such time and in such manner as the Administrator may require, in case such policy or bond was not in effect at the time of such motor vehicle accident.
(Source: P.A. 98-519, eff. 1-1-15.)