Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

705 ILCS 405/5-720

    (705 ILCS 405/5-720)
    Sec. 5-720. Probation revocation.
    (1) If a petition is filed charging a violation of a condition of probation or of conditional discharge, the court shall:
        (a) order the minor to appear; or
        (b) order the minor's detention if the court finds
    
that the detention is a matter of immediate and urgent necessity for the protection of the minor or of the person or property of another or that the minor is likely to flee the jurisdiction of the court, provided that any such detention shall be in a juvenile detention home and the minor so detained shall be 10 years of age or older; and
        (c) notify the persons named in the petition under
    
Section 5-520, in accordance with the provisions of Section 5-530.
    In making its detention determination under paragraph (b) of this subsection (1) of this Section, the court may use information in its findings offered at such a hearing by way of proffer based upon reliable information presented by the State, probation officer, or the minor. The filing of a petition for violation of a condition of probation or of conditional discharge shall toll the period of probation or of conditional discharge until the final determination of the charge, and the term of probation or conditional discharge shall not run until the hearing and disposition of the petition for violation.
    (2) The court shall conduct a hearing of the alleged violation of probation or of conditional discharge. The minor shall not be held in detention longer than 15 days pending the determination of the alleged violation.
    (3) At the hearing, the State shall have the burden of going forward with the evidence and proving the violation by a preponderance of the evidence. The evidence shall be presented in court with the right of confrontation, cross-examination, and representation by counsel.
    (4) If the court finds that the minor has violated a condition at any time prior to the expiration or termination of the period of probation or conditional discharge, it may continue him or her on the existing sentence, with or without modifying or enlarging the conditions, or may revoke probation or conditional discharge and impose any other sentence that was available under Section 5-710 at the time of the initial sentence.
    (5) The conditions of probation and of conditional discharge may be reduced or enlarged by the court on motion of the probation officer or on its own motion or at the request of the minor after notice and hearing under this Section.
    (6) Sentencing after revocation of probation or of conditional discharge shall be under Section 5-705.
    (7) Instead of filing a violation of probation or of conditional discharge, the probation officer, with the concurrence of his or her supervisor, may serve on the minor a notice of intermediate sanctions. The notice shall contain the technical violation or violations involved, the date or dates of the violation or violations, and the intermediate sanctions to be imposed. Upon receipt of the notice, the minor shall immediately accept or reject the intermediate sanctions. If the sanctions are accepted, they shall be imposed immediately. If the intermediate sanctions are rejected or the minor does not respond to the notice, a violation of probation or of conditional discharge shall be immediately filed with the court. The State's Attorney and the sentencing court shall be notified of the notice of sanctions. Upon successful completion of the intermediate sanctions, a court may not revoke probation or conditional discharge or impose additional sanctions for the same violation. A notice of intermediate sanctions may not be issued for any violation of probation or conditional discharge which could warrant an additional, separate felony charge.
(Source: P.A. 90-590, eff. 1-1-99.)