Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

720 ILCS 550/5.2

    (720 ILCS 550/5.2) (from Ch. 56 1/2, par. 705.2)
    Sec. 5.2. Delivery of cannabis on school grounds.
    (a) Any person who violates subsection (e) of Section 5 in any school, on the real property comprising any school, or any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, or on any public way within 500 feet of the real property comprising any school, or in any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, and at the time of the violation persons under the age of 18 are present, the offense is committed during school hours, or the offense is committed at times when persons under the age of 18 are reasonably expected to be present in the school, in the conveyance, on the real property, or on the public way, such as when after-school activities are occurring, is guilty of a Class 1 felony, the fine for which shall not exceed $200,000;
    (b) Any person who violates subsection (d) of Section 5 in any school, on the real property comprising any school, or any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, or on any public way within 500 feet of the real property comprising any school, or in any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, and at the time of the violation persons under the age of 18 are present, the offense is committed during school hours, or the offense is committed at times when persons under the age of 18 are reasonably expected to be present in the school, in the conveyance, on the real property, or on the public way, such as when after-school activities are occurring, is guilty of a Class 2 felony, the fine for which shall not exceed $100,000;
    (c) Any person who violates subsection (c) of Section 5 in any school, on the real property comprising any school, or any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, or on any public way within 500 feet of the real property comprising any school, or in any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, and at the time of the violation persons under the age of 18 are present, the offense is committed during school hours, or the offense is committed at times when persons under the age of 18 are reasonably expected to be present in the school, in the conveyance, on the real property, or on the public way, such as when after-school activities are occurring, is guilty of a Class 3 felony, the fine for which shall not exceed $50,000;
    (d) Any person who violates subsection (b) of Section 5 in any school, on the real property comprising any school, or any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, or on any public way within 500 feet of the real property comprising any school, or in any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, and at the time of the violation persons under the age of 18 are present, the offense is committed during school hours, or the offense is committed at times when persons under the age of 18 are reasonably expected to be present in the school, in the conveyance, on the real property, or on the public way, such as when after-school activities are occurring, is guilty of a Class 4 felony, the fine for which shall not exceed $25,000;
    (e) Any person who violates subsection (a) of Section 5 in any school, on the real property comprising any school, or in any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, on any public way within 500 feet of the real property comprising any school, or any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school related activity, and at the time of the violation persons under the age of 18 are present, the offense is committed during school hours, or the offense is committed at times when persons under the age of 18 are reasonably expected to be present in the school, in the conveyance, on the real property, or on the public way, such as when after-school activities are occurring, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 100-3, eff. 1-1-18.)