Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
730 ILCS 150/3-5
(730 ILCS 150/3-5)
Application of Act to adjudicated juvenile delinquents.
(a) In all cases involving an adjudicated juvenile
delinquent who meets the definition of sex offender as set
forth in paragraph (5) of subsection (A) of Section 2 of this
Act, the court shall order the minor to register as a sex offender.
(b) Once an adjudicated juvenile delinquent is ordered to
register as a sex offender, the adjudicated juvenile delinquent
shall be subject to the registration requirements set forth in
Sections 3, 6, 6-5, 8, 8-5, and 10 for the term of his or her
(c) For a minor adjudicated delinquent for an offense which, if charged as an adult, would be a felony, no less than 5 years after registration ordered pursuant to subsection (a) of this Section, the minor may petition for the termination of the term of registration. For a minor adjudicated delinquent for an offense which, if charged as an adult, would be a misdemeanor, no less than 2 years after registration ordered pursuant to subsection (a) of this Section, the minor may petition for termination of the term of registration.
(d) The court may upon a hearing on the petition for termination of registration, terminate registration if the court finds that the registrant poses no risk to the community by a preponderance of the evidence based upon the factors set forth in subsection (e).
Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Act to the contrary, no registrant whose registration has been terminated under this Section shall be required to register under the provisions of this Act for the offense or offenses which were the subject of the successful petition for termination of registration. This exemption shall apply only to those offenses which were the subject of the successful petition for termination of registration, and shall not apply to any other or subsequent offenses requiring registration under this Act.
(e) To determine whether a registrant poses a risk
to the community as required by subsection (d), the court shall
consider the following factors:
(1) a risk assessment performed by an evaluator
licensed under the Sex Offender Evaluation and Treatment Provider Act;
(2) the sex offender history of the adjudicated
(3) evidence of the adjudicated juvenile delinquent's
(4) the age of the adjudicated juvenile delinquent at
(5) information related to the adjudicated juvenile
delinquent's mental, physical, educational, and social history;
(6) victim impact statements; and
(7) any other factors deemed relevant by the court.
(f) At the hearing set forth in subsections (c) and (d), a
registrant shall be represented by counsel and may present a
risk assessment conducted by an evaluator who is licensed under the Sex Offender Evaluation and Treatment Provider Act.
(g) After a registrant completes the term of his or her
registration, his or her name, address, and all other
identifying information shall be removed from all State and
(h) This Section applies retroactively to cases in which
adjudicated juvenile delinquents who registered or were
required to register before the effective date of this
amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly. On or after the
effective date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General
Assembly, a person adjudicated delinquent before the effective
date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly may
request a hearing regarding status of registration by filing a Petition Requesting Registration Status with the clerk of the court. Upon receipt of the Petition Requesting Registration
Status, the clerk of the court shall provide notice to the
parties and set the Petition for hearing pursuant to
subsections (c) through (e) of this Section.
(i) This Section does not apply to minors prosecuted under
the criminal laws as adults.
(Source: P.A. 97-578, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1098, eff. 7-1-14 (see Section 5 of P.A. 98-612 for the effective date of P.A. 97-1098)