Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

SCHOOLS
(105 ILCS 5/) School Code.

105 ILCS 5/26-2

    (105 ILCS 5/26-2) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-2)
    Sec. 26-2. Enrolled pupils not of compulsory school age.
    (a) For school years before the 2014-2015 school year, any person having custody or control of a child who is below the age of 7 years or is 17 years of age or above and who is enrolled in any of grades kindergarten through 12 in the public school shall cause him to attend the public school in the district wherein he resides when it is in session during the regular school term, unless he is excused under paragraph 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 of Section 26-1. Beginning with the 2014-2015 school year, any person having custody or control of a child who is below the age of 6 years or is 17 years of age or above and who is enrolled in any of grades kindergarten through 12 in the public school shall cause the child to attend the public school in the district wherein he or she resides when it is in session during the regular school term, unless the child is excused under paragraph 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 of Section 26-1 of this Code.
    (b) A school district shall deny reenrollment in its secondary schools to any child 19 years of age or above who has dropped out of school and who could not, because of age and lack of credits, attend classes during the normal school year and graduate before his or her twenty-first birthday. A district may, however, enroll the child in a graduation incentives program under Section 26-16 of this Code or an alternative learning opportunities program established under Article 13B. No child shall be denied reenrollment for the above reasons unless the school district first offers the child due process as required in cases of expulsion under Section 10-22.6. If a child is denied reenrollment after being provided with due process, the school district must provide counseling to that child and must direct that child to alternative educational programs, including adult education programs, that lead to graduation or receipt of a high school equivalency certificate.
    (c) A school or school district may deny enrollment to a student 17 years of age or older for one semester for failure to meet minimum academic standards if all of the following conditions are met:
        (1) The student achieved a grade point average of
    
less than "D" (or its equivalent) in the semester immediately prior to the current semester.
        (2) The student and the student's parent or guardian
    
are given written notice warning that the student is failing academically and is subject to denial from enrollment for one semester unless a "D" average (or its equivalent) or better is attained in the current semester.
        (3) The parent or guardian is provided with the right
    
to appeal the notice, as determined by the State Board of Education in accordance with due process.
        (4) The student is provided with an academic
    
improvement plan and academic remediation services.
        (5) The student fails to achieve a "D" average (or
    
its equivalent) or better in the current semester.
    A school or school district may deny enrollment to a student 17 years of age or older for one semester for failure to meet minimum attendance standards if all of the following conditions are met:
        (1) The student was absent without valid cause for
    
20% or more of the attendance days in the semester immediately prior to the current semester.
        (2) The student and the student's parent or guardian
    
are given written notice warning that the student is subject to denial from enrollment for one semester unless the student is absent without valid cause less than 20% of the attendance days in the current semester.
        (3) The student's parent or guardian is provided with
    
the right to appeal the notice, as determined by the State Board of Education in accordance with due process.
        (4) The student is provided with attendance
    
remediation services, including without limitation assessment, counseling, and support services.
        (5) The student is absent without valid cause for 20%
    
or more of the attendance days in the current semester.
    A school or school district may not deny enrollment to a student (or reenrollment to a dropout) who is at least 17 years of age or older but below 19 years for more than one consecutive semester for failure to meet academic or attendance standards.
    (d) No child may be denied enrollment or reenrollment under this Section in violation of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act or the Americans with Disabilities Act.
    (e) In this subsection (e), "reenrolled student" means a dropout who has reenrolled full-time in a public school. Each school district shall identify, track, and report on the educational progress and outcomes of reenrolled students as a subset of the district's required reporting on all enrollments. A reenrolled student who again drops out must not be counted again against a district's dropout rate performance measure. The State Board of Education shall set performance standards for programs serving reenrolled students.
    (f) The State Board of Education shall adopt any rules necessary to implement the changes to this Section made by Public Act 93-803.
(Source: P.A. 98-544, eff. 7-1-14; 98-718, eff. 1-1-15.)

105 ILCS 5/26-2a

    (105 ILCS 5/26-2a) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-2a)
    Sec. 26-2a. A "truant" is defined as a child subject to compulsory school attendance and who is absent without valid cause from such attendance for a school day or portion thereof.
    "Valid cause" for absence shall be illness, observance of a religious holiday, death in the immediate family, family emergency, and shall include such other situations beyond the control of the student as determined by the board of education in each district, or such other circumstances which cause reasonable concern to the parent for the safety or health of the student.
    "Chronic or habitual truant" shall be defined as a child who is subject to compulsory school attendance and who is absent without valid cause from such attendance for 5% or more of the previous 180 regular attendance days.
    "Truant minor" is defined as a chronic truant to whom supportive services, including prevention, diagnostic, intervention and remedial services, alternative programs and other school and community resources have been provided and have failed to result in the cessation of chronic truancy, or have been offered and refused.
    A "dropout" is defined as any child enrolled in grades 9 through 12 whose name has been removed from the district enrollment roster for any reason other than the student's death, extended illness, removal for medical non-compliance, expulsion, aging out, graduation, or completion of a program of studies and who has not transferred to another public or private school and is not known to be home-schooled by his or her parents or guardians or continuing school in another country.
    "Religion" for the purposes of this Article, includes all aspects of religious observance and practice, as well as belief.
(Source: P.A. 96-1423, eff. 8-3-10; 97-218, eff. 7-28-11.)

105 ILCS 5/26-2b

    (105 ILCS 5/26-2b) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-2b)
    Sec. 26-2b. Any child enrolled in a public school who is unable, because of the observance of a religious holiday, to attend classes on a particular day or days or at a particular time of day shall be excused from any examination or any study or work assignments on such particular day or days or at such particular time of day. It shall be the responsibility of the teachers and of the administrative officials of each public school to make available to each child who is absent from school because of the observance of a religious holiday an equivalent opportunity to make up any examination, study or work requirements which he has missed because of such absence on any particular day or days or at any particular time of day. No special fees of any kind shall be charged to the child for making available to such child such equivalent opportunity. No adverse or prejudicial effects shall result to any child because of his availing himself of the provisions of this Section.
    The provisions of this Section shall apply only if the rules and regulations of the school board promulgated pursuant to paragraph 5 of Section 26-1 have been complied with.
(Source: P.A. 84-212.)

105 ILCS 5/26-3

    (105 ILCS 5/26-3) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-3)
    Sec. 26-3. Teachers furnished list-Report of non-attendance-Report of persons not on list.
    The clerk or secretary of the school board of all school districts except those employing district truant officers shall furnish the superintendent of schools at the beginning of the school year a list of the names and addresses of the children living in the district who come under the provisions of this Article and of persons having custody or control of such children. The superintendent shall at the opening of school and at other times when required by the regional superintendent of schools compare the list with the enrollment of the school or schools and report to the regional superintendent of schools the names of persons having custody or control of children included under the provisions of this Article who are truant or who are chronic or habitual truants for whom supportive services and other school resources have failed to correct the truant behavior and who are not in regular attendance at the public school, and the names of such children and their ages, stating in each case, if known, the cause of such absence. The report shall also contain the names of any other persons who were not enumerated in the list at the beginning of school and who have the custody or control of children not attending school. The regional superintendent shall, without delay, place such information at the disposal of the regional truant officer.
(Source: P.A. 80-908.)

105 ILCS 5/26-3a

    (105 ILCS 5/26-3a) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-3a)
    Sec. 26-3a. Report of pupils no longer enrolled in school.
    The clerk or secretary of the school board of all school districts shall furnish quarterly on the first school day of October, January, April and July to the regional superintendent and to the Secretary of State a list of pupils, excluding transferees, who have been expelled or have withdrawn or who have left school and have been removed from the regular attendance rolls during the period of time school was in regular session from the time of the previous quarterly report. Such list shall include the names and addresses of pupils formerly in attendance, the names and addresses of persons having custody or control of such pupils, the reason, if known, such pupils are no longer in attendance and the date of removal from the attendance rolls. The list shall also include the names of: pupils whose withdrawal is due to extraordinary circumstances, including but not limited to economic or medical necessity or family hardship, as determined by the criteria established by the school district; pupils who have re-enrolled in school since their names were removed from the attendance rolls; any pupil certified to be a chronic or habitual truant, as defined in Section 26-2a; and pupils previously certified as chronic or habitual truants who have resumed regular school attendance. The regional superintendent shall inform the county or district truant officer who shall investigate to see that such pupils are in compliance with the requirements of this Article.
    Each local school district shall establish, in writing, a set of criteria for use by the local superintendent of schools in determining whether a pupil's failure to attend school is the result of extraordinary circumstances, including but not limited to economic or medical necessity or family hardship.
    If a pupil re-enrolls in school after his or her name was removed from the attendance rolls or resumes regular attendance after being certified a chronic or habitual truant, the pupil must obtain and forward to the Secretary of State, on a form designated by the Secretary of State, verification of his or her re-enrollment. The verification may be in the form of a signature or seal or in any other form determined by the school board.
    The State Board of Education shall, if possible, make available to any person, upon request, a comparison of drop out rates before and after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly.
(Source: P.A. 94-916, eff. 7-1-07; 95-496, eff. 8-28-07.)

105 ILCS 5/26-3b

    (105 ILCS 5/26-3b) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-3b)
    Sec. 26-3b. Beginning July 1, 1986, if any child enrolled in a public school in grades Kindergarten through 8 is absent from school, and there is no record that such absence is for a valid cause, as defined under Article 26 of this Code, nor notification that the absence has been authorized by the parent, legal guardian or other person having legal custody of such child, an employee or other agent, whether a volunteer or otherwise, designated by the public school in which the child is enrolled shall, within 2 hours after the first class in which the child is enrolled, make a reasonable effort to promptly telephone and notify the parent, legal guardian, or other person having legal custody of the child, of the child's absence from school. Such notification shall not be given for an absence authorized by the parent, legal guardian or other person having legal custody of such child. Prior to any enrollment of a child in a public school, the school district shall notify parents, legal guardians, or other persons having legal custody of a child, of their responsibility to authorize any absence and to notify the school in advance or at the time of any such absence, and that the school requires at least one and not more than 2 telephone numbers be given for purposes of this Section. The school district shall require that such telephone numbers be given at the time of enrollment of the child in school, which said numbers may be changed from time to time upon notification to the school.
    The requirements of this Section shall have been met by the school if notification of an absence has been attempted by telephoning the 1 or 2 numbers given the school by the parent, legal guardian or other person having legal custody of a child, whether or not there is any answer at such telephone number or numbers. Further, the requirements of this Section shall have been met if the said notification is given to a member of the household of the child's parent, legal guardian or other person having legal custody of the child, which said member of the household must be 10 years of age or older.
    An employee or other agent designated by the public school who in good faith makes a reasonable effort to notify the parent, legal guardian or other person having legal custody of a child of the child's absence from school, when required by this Section, shall not, as a result of his acts or omissions, except wilful or wanton misconduct on the part of such employee or agent in attempting to comply with the notification requirements of this Section, be liable for civil damages.
(Source: P.A. 84-178; 84-682.)

105 ILCS 5/26-3d

    (105 ILCS 5/26-3d) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-3d)
    Sec. 26-3d. All regional superintendents, district superintendents, and special education joint agreement directors shall collect data concerning truants, chronic truants, and truant minor pupils as designated by the State Board of Education. On or before August 15 of each year, this data must be submitted to the State Board of Education.
(Source: P.A. 96-734, eff. 8-25-09.)

105 ILCS 5/26-4

    (105 ILCS 5/26-4)
    Sec. 26-4. (Repealed).
(Source: Repealed by P.A. 88-50.)

105 ILCS 5/26-5

    (105 ILCS 5/26-5) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-5)
    Sec. 26-5. Duties of truant officers.
    The truant officer of the school district, whenever notified by the Superintendent, teacher, or other person of violations of this Article, or the county truant officer, when notified by the County Superintendent, shall investigate all cases of truancy or non-attendance at school in their respective jurisdictions, and if the children complained of are not exempt under the provisions of this Article, the truant officer shall proceed as is provided in this Article. The county truant officer, within the county and the district truant officers, within their respective districts, shall in the exercise of their duties be conservators of the peace and shall keep the same, suppress riots, routs, affray, fighting, breaches of the peace, and prevent crime; and may arrest offenders on view and cause them to be brought before proper officials for trial or examination.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/26-6

    (105 ILCS 5/26-6) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-6)
    Sec. 26-6. List and reports in districts employing truant officers.
    In school districts which employ truant officers the clerk or secretary of the school board shall at the beginning of each school year furnish a copy of the last school census to the superintendent of schools (or principal teacher) in the district, together with the names and addresses of the truant officers in the district, and the superintendent, (or principal teacher) shall compare the census list with the enrollment of the school or schools and, from time to time, report to the proper truant officers the names and addresses of persons having custody or control of children included under the provisions of this Article who are truant or who are chronic or habitual truants for whom supportive services and other school resources have failed to correct the truant behavior and who are not in regular attendance at public schools and also the names of persons having custody or control of children who are not in regular attendance at school and whose names are not included in the census list.
(Source: P.A. 80-908.)

105 ILCS 5/26-7

    (105 ILCS 5/26-7) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-7)
    Sec. 26-7. Notice to custodian-Notice of non-compliance. If any person fails to send any child under his custody or control to some lawful school, the truant officer or, in a school district that does not have a truant officer, the regional superintendent of schools or his or her designee shall, as soon as practicable after he is notified thereof, give notice in person or by mail to such person that such child shall be present at the proper public school on the day following the receipt of such notice. The notice shall state the date that attendance at school must begin and that such attendance must be continuous and consecutive in the district during the remainder of the school year. The truant officer or, in a school district that does not have a truant officer, the regional superintendent of schools or his or her designee shall at the same time that such notice is given notify the teacher or superintendent of the proper public school thereof and the teacher or superintendent shall notify the truant officer or regional superintendent of schools of any non-compliance therewith.
(Source: P.A. 93-858, eff. 1-1-05.)

105 ILCS 5/26-8

    (105 ILCS 5/26-8) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-8)
    Sec. 26-8. Determination as to compliance - Complaint in circuit court. A truant officer or, in a school district that does not have a truant officer, the regional superintendent of schools or his or her designee, after giving the notice provided in Section 26-7, shall determine whether the notice has been complied with. If 3 notices have been given and the notices have not been complied with, and if the persons having custody or control have knowingly and wilfully permitted the truant behavior to continue, the regional superintendent of schools, or his or her designee, of the school district where the child resides shall conduct a truancy hearing. If the regional superintendent determines as a result of the hearing that the child is truant, the regional superintendent shall, if age appropriate at the discretion of the regional superintendent, require the student to complete 20 to 40 hours of community service over a period of 90 days. If the truancy persists, the regional superintendent shall (i) make complaint against the persons having custody or control to the state's attorney or in the circuit court in the county where such person resides for failure to comply with the provisions of this Article or (ii) conduct truancy mediation and encourage the student to enroll in a graduation incentives program under Section 26-16 of this Code. If, however, after giving the notice provided in Section 26-7 the truant behavior has continued, and the child is beyond the control of the parents, guardians or custodians, a truancy petition shall be filed under the provisions of Article III of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987.
(Source: P.A. 93-858, eff. 1-1-05; 93-1079, eff. 1-21-05.)

105 ILCS 5/26-8a

    (105 ILCS 5/26-8a) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-8a)
    Sec. 26-8a. The petition for court action shall include the name of the truant minor, the names and addresses of persons having custody or control of the student, the dates of the truant behavior, the dates and nature of contacts or conferences with the student and the persons having custody or control of the student, and the nature of the supportive services, alternative programs and other school resources the school district provided to that child in an effort to correct that child's truant behavior.
(Source: P.A. 80-908.)

105 ILCS 5/26-8b

    (105 ILCS 5/26-8b) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-8b)
    Sec. 26-8b. When a petition is filed, it shall be set for an adjudicatory hearing within 10 days and acted upon within 30 days, subject to the provisions of the Juvenile Court Act or the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 if filed thereunder.
(Source: P.A. 85-1209.)

105 ILCS 5/26-9

    (105 ILCS 5/26-9) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-9)
    Sec. 26-9. School officers and teachers to assist truant officers.
    School officers, superintendents, teachers or other persons shall render such assistance and furnish such information as they have to aid truant officers in the performance of their duties.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/26-10

    (105 ILCS 5/26-10) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-10)
    Sec. 26-10. Fine for noncompliance.) Any person having custody or control of a child subject to the provisions of this Article to whom notice has been given of the child's truancy and who knowingly and wilfully permits such a child to persist in his truancy within that school year, upon conviction thereof shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and shall be subject to not more than 30 days imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $500.
(Source: P.A. 80-908.)

105 ILCS 5/26-11

    (105 ILCS 5/26-11) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-11)
    Sec. 26-11. Punishment for certain offenses.
    Any person who induces or attempts to induce any child to be absent from school unlawfully, or who knowingly employs or harbors, while school is in session, any child absent unlawfully from school for 3 consecutive school days, is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 77-2267.)

105 ILCS 5/26-12

    (105 ILCS 5/26-12) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-12)
    Sec. 26-12. Punitive action. No punitive action including out of school suspensions, expulsions or court action, shall be taken against chronic truants for such truancy unless available supportive services and other school resources have been provided to the student.
(Source: P.A. 85-234.)

105 ILCS 5/26-13

    (105 ILCS 5/26-13) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-13)
    Sec. 26-13. Absenteeism and truancy policies. School districts shall adopt policies, consistent with rules adopted by the State Board of Education, which identify the appropriate supportive services and available resources which are provided for truants and chronic truants.
(Source: P.A. 84-1420.)

105 ILCS 5/26-14

    (105 ILCS 5/26-14) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-14)
    Sec. 26-14. Truancy programs for dropouts. Any dropout, as defined in Section 26-2a, who is 17 years of age may apply to a school district for status as a truant, and the school district shall permit such person to participate in the district's various programs and resources for truants. At the time of the person's application, the district may request documentation of his dropout status for the previous 6 months.
(Source: P.A. 93-858, eff. 1-1-05.)

105 ILCS 5/26-15

    (105 ILCS 5/26-15) (from Ch. 122, par. 26-15)
    Sec. 26-15. Truant minors. When a regional superintendent has reason to believe that a pupil is a truant minor as defined in Section 26-2a, the regional superintendent may report such pupil under the provisions of the Juvenile Court Act.
(Source: P.A. 85-1209.)

105 ILCS 5/26-16

    (105 ILCS 5/26-16)
    Sec. 26-16. Graduation incentives program.
    (a) The General Assembly finds that it is critical to provide options for children to succeed in school. The purpose of this Section is to provide incentives for and encourage all Illinois students who have experienced or are experiencing difficulty in the traditional education system to enroll in alternative programs.
    (b) Any student who is below the age of 20 years is eligible to enroll in a graduation incentives program if he or she:
        (1) is considered a dropout pursuant to Section
    
26-2a of this Code;
        (2) has been suspended or expelled pursuant to
    
Section 10-22.6 or 34-19 of this Code;
        (3) is pregnant or is a parent;
        (4) has been assessed as chemically dependent; or
        (5) is enrolled in a bilingual education or LEP
    
program.
    (c) The following programs qualify as graduation incentives programs for students meeting the criteria established in this Section:
        (1) Any public elementary or secondary education
    
graduation incentives program established by a school district or by a regional office of education.
        (2) Any alternative learning opportunities program
    
established pursuant to Article 13B of this Code.
        (3) Vocational or job training courses approved by
    
the State Superintendent of Education that are available through the Illinois public community college system. Students may apply for reimbursement of 50% of tuition costs for one course per semester or a maximum of 3 courses per school year. Subject to available funds, students may apply for reimbursement of up to 100% of tuition costs upon a showing of employment within 6 months after completion of a vocational or job training program. The qualifications for reimbursement shall be established by the State Superintendent of Education by rule.
        (4) Job and career programs approved by the State
    
Superintendent of Education that are available through Illinois-accredited private business and vocational schools. Subject to available funds, pupils may apply for reimbursement of up to 100% of tuition costs upon a showing of employment within 6 months after completion of a job or career program. The State Superintendent of Education shall establish, by rule, the qualifications for reimbursement, criteria for determining reimbursement amounts, and limits on reimbursement.
        (5) Adult education courses that offer preparation
    
for high school equivalency testing.
    (d) Graduation incentives programs established by school districts are entitled to claim general State aid, subject to Sections 13B-50, 13B-50.5, and 13B-50.10 of this Code. Graduation incentives programs operated by regional offices of education are entitled to receive general State aid at the foundation level of support per pupil enrolled. A school district must ensure that its graduation incentives program receives supplemental general State aid, transportation reimbursements, and special education resources, if appropriate, for students enrolled in the program.
(Source: P.A. 98-718, eff. 1-1-15.)

105 ILCS 5/26-17

    (105 ILCS 5/26-17)
    Sec. 26-17. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 97-911, eff. 8-8-12. Repealed internally, eff. 11-2-12.)

105 ILCS 5/Art. 27

 
    (105 ILCS 5/Art. 27 heading)
ARTICLE 27. COURSES OF STUDY--SPECIAL INSTRUCTION

105 ILCS 5/27-1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-1)
    Sec. 27-1. Areas of education taught - discrimination on account of sex. The State of Illinois, having the responsibility of defining requirements for elementary and secondary education, establishes that the primary purpose of schooling is the transmission of knowledge and culture through which children learn in areas necessary to their continuing development and entry into the world of work. Such areas include the language arts, mathematics, the biological, physical and social sciences, the fine arts and physical development and health.
    Each school district shall give priority in the allocation of resources, including funds, time allocation, personnel, and facilities, to fulfilling the primary purpose of schooling.
    The State Board of Education shall establish goals and learning standards consistent with the above purposes and define the knowledge and skills which the State expects students to master and apply as a consequence of their education.
    Each school district shall establish learning objectives consistent with the State Board of Education's goals and learning standards for the areas referred to in this Section, shall develop appropriate testing and assessment systems for determining the degree to which students are achieving the objectives, and shall develop reporting systems to apprise the community and State of the assessment results.
    Each school district shall make available to all students academic and vocational courses for the attainment of learning objectives.
    No student shall be refused admission into or be excluded from any course of instruction offered in the common schools by reason of that person's sex. No student shall, solely by reason of that person's sex, be denied equal access to physical education and interscholastic athletic programs or comparable programs supported from school district funds. This Section is violated when a high school subject to this Act participates in the post-season basketball tournament of any organization or association that does not conduct post-season high school basketball tournaments for both boys and girls, which tournaments are identically structured. Conducting identically structured tournaments includes having the same number of girls' teams as boys' teams playing, in their respective tournaments, at any common location chosen for the final series of games in a tournament; provided, that nothing in this paragraph shall be deemed to prohibit the selection for the final series of games in the girls' tournaments of a common location that is different than the common location selected for the final series of games in the boys' tournaments. Except as specifically stated in this Section, equal access to programs supported by school district funds and comparable programs will be defined in rules promulgated by the State Board of Education in consultation with the Illinois High School Association.
(Source: P.A. 94-875, eff. 7-1-06.)

105 ILCS 5/27-1.5

    (105 ILCS 5/27-1.5)
    Sec. 27-1.5. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 96-1374, eff. 7-29-10. Repealed internally, eff. 7-1-12.)

105 ILCS 5/27-2

    (105 ILCS 5/27-2) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-2)
    Sec. 27-2. Instruction in English language. Instruction in all public elementary and secondary schools of the State shall be in the English language except in second language programs and except in conjunction with programs which the school board may provide, with the approval of the State Board of Education pursuant to Article 14C, in a language other than English for children whose first language is other than English.
(Source: P.A. 85-1389.)

105 ILCS 5/27-3

    (105 ILCS 5/27-3) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-3)
    Sec. 27-3. Patriotism and principles of representative government - Proper use of flag - Method of voting - Pledge of Allegiance. American patriotism and the principles of representative government, as enunciated in the American Declaration of Independence, the Constitution of the United States of America and the Constitution of the State of Illinois, and the proper use and display of the American flag, shall be taught in all public schools and other educational institutions supported or maintained in whole or in part by public funds. No student shall receive a certificate of graduation without passing a satisfactory examination upon such subjects.
    Instruction shall be given in all such schools and institutions in the method of voting at elections by means of the Australian Ballot system and the method of the counting of votes for candidates.
    The Pledge of Allegiance shall be recited each school day by pupils in elementary and secondary educational institutions supported or maintained in whole or in part by public funds.
(Source: P.A. 92-612, eff. 7-3-02.)

105 ILCS 5/27-3.5

    (105 ILCS 5/27-3.5)
    Sec. 27-3.5. Congressional Medal of Honor film. Each school district shall require that all students in grade 7 and all high school students enrolled in a course concerning history of the United States or a combination of history of the United States and American government view a Congressional Medal of Honor film made by the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation. This requirement does not apply if the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation charges the school district a fee for a film.
(Source: P.A. 96-99, eff. 7-27-09.)

105 ILCS 5/27-4

    (105 ILCS 5/27-4) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-4)
    Sec. 27-4. Time devoted to subjects mentioned in Section 27-3. Not less than one hour of each school week shall be devoted to the study of the subject mentioned in Section 27-3 in the seventh and eighth grades or their equivalent, and not less than one hour of each school week to the advanced study thereof in all high school grades, in the public schools and other institutions mentioned in such Section.
    This Section does not prevent the study of such subjects in any of the lower grades in such schools or institutions.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/27-5

    (105 ILCS 5/27-5) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-5)
    Sec. 27-5. Physical education and training. School boards of public schools and the Board of Governors of State Colleges and Universities shall provide for the physical education and training of pupils of the schools and laboratory schools under their respective control, and shall include physical education and training in the courses of study regularly taught therein. The physical education and training course offered in grades 5 through 10 may include the health education course required in the Critical Health Problems and Comprehensive Health Education Act.
(Source: P.A. 89-618, eff. 8-9-96.)

105 ILCS 5/27-6

    (105 ILCS 5/27-6) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-6)
    Sec. 27-6. Courses in physical education required; special activities.
    (a) Pupils enrolled in the public schools and State universities engaged in preparing teachers shall be required to engage daily during the school day, except on block scheduled days for those public schools engaged in block scheduling, in courses of physical education for such periods as are compatible with the optimum growth and developmental needs of individuals at the various age levels except when appropriate excuses are submitted to the school by a pupil's parent or guardian or by a person licensed under the Medical Practice Act of 1987 and except as provided in subsection (b) of this Section.
    Special activities in physical education shall be provided for pupils whose physical or emotional condition, as determined by a person licensed under the Medical Practice Act of 1987, prevents their participation in the courses provided for normal children.
    (b) A school board is authorized to excuse pupils enrolled in grades 11 and 12 from engaging in physical education courses if those pupils request to be excused for any of the following reasons: (1) for ongoing participation in an interscholastic athletic program; (2) to enroll in academic classes which are required for admission to an institution of higher learning, provided that failure to take such classes will result in the pupil being denied admission to the institution of his or her choice; or (3) to enroll in academic classes which are required for graduation from high school, provided that failure to take such classes will result in the pupil being unable to graduate. A school board may also excuse pupils in grades 9 through 12 enrolled in a marching band program for credit from engaging in physical education courses if those pupils request to be excused for ongoing participation in such marching band program. In addition, a pupil in any of grades 3 through 12 who is eligible for special education may be excused if the pupil's parent or guardian agrees that the pupil must utilize the time set aside for physical education to receive special education support and services or, if there is no agreement, the individualized education program team for the pupil determines that the pupil must utilize the time set aside for physical education to receive special education support and services, which agreement or determination must be made a part of the individualized education program. However, a pupil requiring adapted physical education must receive that service in accordance with the individualized education program developed for the pupil. If requested, a school board is authorized to excuse a pupil from engaging in a physical education course if the pupil has an individualized educational program under Article 14 of this Code, is participating in an adaptive athletic program outside of the school setting, and documents such participation as determined by the school board. A school board may also excuse pupils in grades 9 through 12 enrolled in a Reserve Officer's Training Corps (ROTC) program sponsored by the school district from engaging in physical education courses. School boards which choose to exercise this authority shall establish a policy to excuse pupils on an individual basis.
    (c) The provisions of this Section are subject to the provisions of Section 27-22.05.
(Source: P.A. 98-116, eff. 7-29-13.)

105 ILCS 5/27-6.5

    (105 ILCS 5/27-6.5)
    Sec. 27-6.5. Physical fitness assessments in schools.
    (a) As used in this Section, "physical fitness assessment" means a series of assessments to measure aerobic capacity, body composition, muscular strength, muscular endurance, and flexibility.
    (b) To measure the effectiveness of State Goal 20 of the Illinois Learning Standards for Physical Development and Health, beginning with the 2016-2017 school year and every school year thereafter, the State Board of Education shall require all public schools to use a scientifically-based, health-related physical fitness assessment for grades 3 through 12 and periodically report fitness information to the State Board of Education, as set forth in subsections (c) and (e) of this Section, to assess student fitness indicators.
    Public schools shall integrate health-related fitness testing into the curriculum as an instructional tool, except in grades before the 3rd grade. Fitness tests must be appropriate to students' developmental levels and physical abilities. The testing must be used to teach students how to assess their fitness levels, set goals for improvement, and monitor progress in reaching their goals. Fitness scores shall not be used for grading students or evaluating teachers.
    (c) On or before October 1, 2014, the State Superintendent of Education shall appoint a 15-member stakeholder and expert task force, including members representing organizations that represent physical education teachers, school officials, principals, health promotion and disease prevention advocates and experts, school health advocates and experts, and other experts with operational and academic expertise in the measurement of fitness. The task force shall make recommendations to the State Board of Education on the following:
        (1) methods for ensuring the validity and uniformity
    
of reported physical fitness assessment scores, including assessment administration protocols and professional development approaches for physical education teachers;
        (2) how often physical fitness assessment scores
    
should be reported to the State Board of Education;
        (3) the grade levels within elementary, middle, and
    
high school categories for which physical fitness assessment scores should be reported to the State Board of Education;
        (4) the minimum fitness indicators that should be
    
reported to the State Board of Education, including, but not limited to, a score for aerobic capacity (for grades 4 through 12); muscular strength; endurance; and flexibility;
        (5) the demographic information that should accompany
    
the scores, including, but not limited to, grade and gender;
        (6) the development of protocols regarding the
    
protection of students' confidentiality and individual information and identifiers; and
        (7) how physical fitness assessment data should be
    
reported by the State Board of Education to the public, including potential correlations with student academic achievement, attendance, and discipline data and other recommended uses of the reported data.
    The State Board of Education shall provide administrative and other support to the task force.
    The task force shall submit its recommendations on physical fitness assessments on or before April 1, 2015. The task force may also recommend methods for assessing student progress on State Goals 19 and 21 through 24 of the Illinois Learning Standards for Physical Development and Health. The task force is dissolved on April 30, 2015.
    The provisions of this subsection (c), other than this sentence, are inoperative after March 31, 2016.
    (d) On or before December 31, 2015, the State Board of Education shall use the recommendations of the task force under subsection (c) of this Section to adopt rules for the implementation of physical fitness assessments by each public school for the 2016-2017 school year and every school year thereafter.
    (e) On or before September 1, 2016, the State Board of Education shall adopt rules for data submission by school districts and develop a system for collecting and reporting the aggregated fitness information from the physical fitness assessments. This system shall also support the collection of data from school districts that use a fitness testing software program.
    (f) School districts may report the aggregate findings of physical fitness assessments by grade level and school to parents and members of the community through typical communication channels, such as Internet websites, school newsletters, school board reports, and presentations. Districts may also provide individual fitness assessment reports to students' parents.
    (g) Nothing in this Section precludes schools from implementing a physical fitness assessment before the 2016-2017 school year or from implementing more robust forms of a physical fitness assessment.
(Source: P.A. 98-859, eff. 8-4-14.)

105 ILCS 5/27-7

    (105 ILCS 5/27-7) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-7)
    Sec. 27-7. Physical education course of study. A physical education course of study shall include a developmentally planned and sequential curriculum that fosters the development of movement skills, enhances health-related fitness, increases students' knowledge, offers direct opportunities to learn how to work cooperatively in a group setting, and encourages healthy habits and attitudes for a healthy lifestyle. A physical education course of study shall provide students with an opportunity for an appropriate amount of daily physical activity. A physical education course of study must be part of the regular school curriculum and not extra-curricular in nature or organization.
    The State Board of Education shall prepare and make available guidelines for the various grades and types of schools in order to make effective the purposes set forth in this section and the requirements provided in Section 27-6, and shall see that the general provisions and intent of Sections 27-5 to 27-9, inclusive, are enforced.
(Source: P.A. 94-189, eff. 7-12-05; 94-200, eff. 7-12-05.)

105 ILCS 5/27-8.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-8.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-8.1)
    Sec. 27-8.1. Health examinations and immunizations.
    (1) In compliance with rules and regulations which the Department of Public Health shall promulgate, and except as hereinafter provided, all children in Illinois shall have a health examination as follows: within one year prior to entering kindergarten or the first grade of any public, private, or parochial elementary school; upon entering the sixth and ninth grades of any public, private, or parochial school; prior to entrance into any public, private, or parochial nursery school; and, irrespective of grade, immediately prior to or upon entrance into any public, private, or parochial school or nursery school, each child shall present proof of having been examined in accordance with this Section and the rules and regulations promulgated hereunder. Any child who received a health examination within one year prior to entering the fifth grade for the 2007-2008 school year is not required to receive an additional health examination in order to comply with the provisions of Public Act 95-422 when he or she attends school for the 2008-2009 school year, unless the child is attending school for the first time as provided in this paragraph.
    A tuberculosis skin test screening shall be included as a required part of each health examination included under this Section if the child resides in an area designated by the Department of Public Health as having a high incidence of tuberculosis. Additional health examinations of pupils, including eye examinations, may be required when deemed necessary by school authorities. Parents are encouraged to have their children undergo eye examinations at the same points in time required for health examinations.
    (1.5) In compliance with rules adopted by the Department of Public Health and except as otherwise provided in this Section, all children in kindergarten and the second and sixth grades of any public, private, or parochial school shall have a dental examination. Each of these children shall present proof of having been examined by a dentist in accordance with this Section and rules adopted under this Section before May 15th of the school year. If a child in the second or sixth grade fails to present proof by May 15th, the school may hold the child's report card until one of the following occurs: (i) the child presents proof of a completed dental examination or (ii) the child presents proof that a dental examination will take place within 60 days after May 15th. The Department of Public Health shall establish, by rule, a waiver for children who show an undue burden or a lack of access to a dentist. Each public, private, and parochial school must give notice of this dental examination requirement to the parents and guardians of students at least 60 days before May 15th of each school year.
    (1.10) Except as otherwise provided in this Section, all children enrolling in kindergarten in a public, private, or parochial school on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly and any student enrolling for the first time in a public, private, or parochial school on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly shall have an eye examination. Each of these children shall present proof of having been examined by a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches or a licensed optometrist within the previous year, in accordance with this Section and rules adopted under this Section, before October 15th of the school year. If the child fails to present proof by October 15th, the school may hold the child's report card until one of the following occurs: (i) the child presents proof of a completed eye examination or (ii) the child presents proof that an eye examination will take place within 60 days after October 15th. The Department of Public Health shall establish, by rule, a waiver for children who show an undue burden or a lack of access to a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches who provides eye examinations or to a licensed optometrist. Each public, private, and parochial school must give notice of this eye examination requirement to the parents and guardians of students in compliance with rules of the Department of Public Health. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to allow a school to exclude a child from attending because of a parent's or guardian's failure to obtain an eye examination for the child.
    (2) The Department of Public Health shall promulgate rules and regulations specifying the examinations and procedures that constitute a health examination, which shall include the collection of data relating to obesity (including at a minimum, date of birth, gender, height, weight, blood pressure, and date of exam), and a dental examination and may recommend by rule that certain additional examinations be performed. The rules and regulations of the Department of Public Health shall specify that a tuberculosis skin test screening shall be included as a required part of each health examination included under this Section if the child resides in an area designated by the Department of Public Health as having a high incidence of tuberculosis. The Department of Public Health shall specify that a diabetes screening as defined by rule shall be included as a required part of each health examination. Diabetes testing is not required.
    Physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, advanced practice nurses who have a written collaborative agreement with a collaborating physician which authorizes them to perform health examinations, or physician assistants who have been delegated the performance of health examinations by their supervising physician shall be responsible for the performance of the health examinations, other than dental examinations, eye examinations, and vision and hearing screening, and shall sign all report forms required by subsection (4) of this Section that pertain to those portions of the health examination for which the physician, advanced practice nurse, or physician assistant is responsible. If a registered nurse performs any part of a health examination, then a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches must review and sign all required report forms. Licensed dentists shall perform all dental examinations and shall sign all report forms required by subsection (4) of this Section that pertain to the dental examinations. Physicians licensed to practice medicine in all its branches or licensed optometrists shall perform all eye examinations required by this Section and shall sign all report forms required by subsection (4) of this Section that pertain to the eye examination. For purposes of this Section, an eye examination shall at a minimum include history, visual acuity, subjective refraction to best visual acuity near and far, internal and external examination, and a glaucoma evaluation, as well as any other tests or observations that in the professional judgment of the doctor are necessary. Vision and hearing screening tests, which shall not be considered examinations as that term is used in this Section, shall be conducted in accordance with rules and regulations of the Department of Public Health, and by individuals whom the Department of Public Health has certified. In these rules and regulations, the Department of Public Health shall require that individuals conducting vision screening tests give a child's parent or guardian written notification, before the vision screening is conducted, that states, "Vision screening is not a substitute for a complete eye and vision evaluation by an eye doctor. Your child is not required to undergo this vision screening if an optometrist or ophthalmologist has completed and signed a report form indicating that an examination has been administered within the previous 12 months."
    (3) Every child shall, at or about the same time as he or she receives a health examination required by subsection (1) of this Section, present to the local school proof of having received such immunizations against preventable communicable diseases as the Department of Public Health shall require by rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to this Section and the Communicable Disease Prevention Act.
    (4) The individuals conducting the health examination, dental examination, or eye examination shall record the fact of having conducted the examination, and such additional information as required, including for a health examination data relating to obesity (including at a minimum, date of birth, gender, height, weight, blood pressure, and date of exam), on uniform forms which the Department of Public Health and the State Board of Education shall prescribe for statewide use. The examiner shall summarize on the report form any condition that he or she suspects indicates a need for special services, including for a health examination factors relating to obesity. The individuals confirming the administration of required immunizations shall record as indicated on the form that the immunizations were administered.
    (5) If a child does not submit proof of having had either the health examination or the immunization as required, then the child shall be examined or receive the immunization, as the case may be, and present proof by October 15 of the current school year, or by an earlier date of the current school year established by a school district. To establish a date before October 15 of the current school year for the health examination or immunization as required, a school district must give notice of the requirements of this Section 60 days prior to the earlier established date. If for medical reasons one or more of the required immunizations must be given after October 15 of the current school year, or after an earlier established date of the current school year, then the child shall present, by October 15, or by the earlier established date, a schedule for the administration of the immunizations and a statement of the medical reasons causing the delay, both the schedule and the statement being issued by the physician, advanced practice nurse, physician assistant, registered nurse, or local health department that will be responsible for administration of the remaining required immunizations. If a child does not comply by October 15, or by the earlier established date of the current school year, with the requirements of this subsection, then the local school authority shall exclude that child from school until such time as the child presents proof of having had the health examination as required and presents proof of having received those required immunizations which are medically possible to receive immediately. During a child's exclusion from school for noncompliance with this subsection, the child's parents or legal guardian shall be considered in violation of Section 26-1 and subject to any penalty imposed by Section 26-10. This subsection (5) does not apply to dental examinations and eye examinations. If the student is an out-of-state transfer student and does not have the proof required under this subsection (5) before October 15 of the current year or whatever date is set by the school district, then he or she may only attend classes (i) if he or she has proof that an appointment for the required vaccinations has been scheduled with a party authorized to submit proof of the required vaccinations. If the proof of vaccination required under this subsection (5) is not submitted within 30 days after the student is permitted to attend classes, then the student is not to be permitted to attend classes until proof of the vaccinations has been properly submitted. No school district or employee of a school district shall be held liable for any injury or illness to another person that results from admitting an out-of-state transfer student to class that has an appointment scheduled pursuant to this subsection (5).
    (6) Every school shall report to the State Board of Education by November 15, in the manner which that agency shall require, the number of children who have received the necessary immunizations and the health examination (other than a dental examination or eye examination) as required, indicating, of those who have not received the immunizations and examination as required, the number of children who are exempt from health examination and immunization requirements on religious or medical grounds as provided in subsection (8). On or before December 1 of each year, every public school district and registered nonpublic school shall make publicly available the immunization data they are required to submit to the State Board of Education by November 15. The immunization data made publicly available must be identical to the data the school district or school has reported to the State Board of Education.
    Every school shall report to the State Board of Education by June 30, in the manner that the State Board requires, the number of children who have received the required dental examination, indicating, of those who have not received the required dental examination, the number of children who are exempt from the dental examination on religious grounds as provided in subsection (8) of this Section and the number of children who have received a waiver under subsection (1.5) of this Section.
    Every school shall report to the State Board of Education by June 30, in the manner that the State Board requires, the number of children who have received the required eye examination, indicating, of those who have not received the required eye examination, the number of children who are exempt from the eye examination as provided in subsection (8) of this Section, the number of children who have received a waiver under subsection (1.10) of this Section, and the total number of children in noncompliance with the eye examination requirement.
    The reported information under this subsection (6) shall be provided to the Department of Public Health by the State Board of Education.
    (7) Upon determining that the number of pupils who are required to be in compliance with subsection (5) of this Section is below 90% of the number of pupils enrolled in the school district, 10% of each State aid payment made pursuant to Section 18-8.05 to the school district for such year may be withheld by the State Board of Education until the number of students in compliance with subsection (5) is the applicable specified percentage or higher.
    (8) Parents or legal guardians who object to health, dental, or eye examinations or any part thereof, or to immunizations, on religious grounds shall not be required to submit their children or wards to the examinations or immunizations to which they so object if such parents or legal guardians present to the appropriate local school authority a signed statement of objection, detailing the grounds for the objection. If the physical condition of the child is such that any one or more of the immunizing agents should not be administered, the examining physician, advanced practice nurse, or physician assistant responsible for the performance of the health examination shall endorse that fact upon the health examination form. Exempting a child from the health, dental, or eye examination does not exempt the child from participation in the program of physical education training provided in Sections 27-5 through 27-7 of this Code.
    (9) For the purposes of this Section, "nursery schools" means those nursery schools operated by elementary school systems or secondary level school units or institutions of higher learning.
(Source: P.A. 97-216, eff. 1-1-12; 97-910, eff. 1-1-13; 98-673, eff. 6-30-14.)

105 ILCS 5/27-9

    (105 ILCS 5/27-9) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-9)
    Sec. 27-9. Training teachers to teach physical education.
    The curriculum in all State universities shall contain courses in methods and materials of physical education and training for teachers. No student or elementary school teacher shall be graduated from such a university who has not had a minimum of 1 course in methods and materials in the teaching of physical education and training.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/27-9.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-9.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-9.1)
    Sec. 27-9.1. Sex Education.
    (a) In this Section:
    "Adapt" means to modify an evidence-based program model for use with a particular demographic, ethnic, linguistic, or cultural group.
    "Age appropriate" means suitable to particular ages or age groups of children and adolescents, based on the developing cognitive, emotional, and behavioral capacity typical for the age or age group.
    "Evidence-based program" means a program for which systematic, empirical research or evaluation has provided evidence of effectiveness.
    "Medically accurate" means verified or supported by the weight of research conducted in compliance with accepted scientific methods and published in peer-reviewed journals, if applicable, or comprising information recognized as accurate, objective, and complete.
    (a-5) No pupil shall be required to take or participate in any class or course in comprehensive sex education if his parent or guardian submits written objection thereto, and refusal to take or participate in such course or program shall not be reason for suspension or expulsion of such pupil. Each class or course in comprehensive sex education offered in any of grades 6 through 12 shall include instruction on both abstinence and contraception for the prevention of pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV/AIDS. Nothing in this Section prohibits instruction in sanitation, hygiene or traditional courses in biology.
    (b) All public school classes that teach sex education and discuss sexual intercourse in grades 6 through 12 shall emphasize that abstinence from sexual intercourse is a responsible and positive decision and is the only protection that is 100% effective against unwanted teenage pregnancy, sexually transmitted diseases, and acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) when transmitted sexually.
    (c) All classes that teach sex education and discuss sexual intercourse in grades 6 through 12 shall satisfy the following criteria:
        (1) Course material and instruction shall be
    
developmentally and age appropriate, medically accurate, and complete.
        (1.5) Course material and instruction shall replicate
    
evidence-based programs or substantially incorporate elements of evidence-based programs.
        (2) Course material and instruction shall teach honor
    
and respect for monogamous heterosexual marriage.
        (3) Course material and instruction shall place
    
substantial emphasis on both abstinence, including abstinence until marriage, and contraception for the prevention of pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases among youth and shall stress that abstinence is the ensured method of avoiding unintended pregnancy, sexually transmitted diseases, and HIV/AIDS.
        (4) Course material and instruction shall include a
    
discussion of the possible emotional and psychological consequences of preadolescent and adolescent sexual intercourse and the consequences of unwanted adolescent pregnancy.
        (5) Course material and instruction shall stress that
    
sexually transmitted diseases are serious possible hazards of sexual intercourse. Pupils shall be provided with statistics based on the latest medical information citing the failure and success rates of condoms in preventing AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases.
        (6) Course material and instruction shall advise
    
pupils of the laws pertaining to their financial responsibility to children born in and out of wedlock.
        (7) Course material and instruction shall advise
    
pupils of the circumstances under which it is unlawful for males to have sexual relations with females under the age of 18 to whom they are not married pursuant to Article 11 of the Criminal Code of 2012.
        (8) Course material and instruction shall teach
    
pupils to not make unwanted physical and verbal sexual advances and how to say no to unwanted sexual advances. Pupils shall be taught that it is wrong to take advantage of or to exploit another person. The material and instruction shall also encourage youth to resist negative peer pressure.
        (9) (Blank).
        (10) Course material and instruction shall teach
    
pupils about the dangers associated with drug and alcohol consumption during pregnancy.
    (d) An opportunity shall be afforded to individuals, including parents or guardians, to examine the instructional materials to be used in such class or course.
    (e) The State Board of Education shall make available resource materials, with the cooperation and input of the agency that administers grant programs consistent with criteria (1) and (1.5) of subsection (c) of this Section, for educating children regarding sex education and may take into consideration the curriculum on this subject developed by other states, as well as any other curricular materials suggested by education experts and other groups that work on sex education issues. Materials may include without limitation model sex education curriculums and sexual health education programs. The State Board of Education shall make these resource materials available on its Internet website. School districts that do not currently provide sex education are not required to teach sex education. If a sex education class or course is offered in any of grades 6 through 12, the school district may choose and adapt the developmentally and age-appropriate, medically accurate, evidence-based, and complete sex education curriculum that meets the specific needs of its community.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-441, eff. 1-1-14.)

105 ILCS 5/27-9.2

    (105 ILCS 5/27-9.2) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-9.2)
    Sec. 27-9.2. Family Life. If any school district provides courses of instruction designed to promote wholesome and comprehensive understanding of the emotional, psychological, physiological, hygienic and social responsibility aspects of family life, then such courses of instruction shall include the teaching of the alternatives to abortion, appropriate to the various grade levels; and whenever such courses of instruction are provided in any of grades 6 through 12, then such courses also shall include instruction on the prevention, transmission and spread of AIDS. However, no pupil shall be required to take or participate in any family life class or course on AIDS instruction if his parent or guardian submits written objection thereto, and refusal to take or participate in such course or program shall not be reason for suspension or expulsion of such pupil.
    The State Superintendent of Education shall prepare and make available to local school districts courses of instruction designed to satisfy the requirements of this Section.
    The State Superintendent of Education shall develop a procedure for evaluating and measuring the effectiveness of the family life courses of instruction in each local school district, including the setting of reasonable goals for reduced sexual activity, sexually transmitted diseases and premarital pregnancy. The goals shall be set by the beginning of the 1991-92 school year. The State Superintendent shall distribute a copy of the procedure to each local school district. Each local school district may develop additional procedures or methods for measuring the effectiveness of the family life courses of instruction within the district. Before the beginning of the 1993-94 school year, the State Superintendent shall collect and evaluate all relevant data to determine whether the goals are being achieved.
(Source: P.A. 86-941.)

105 ILCS 5/27-11

    (105 ILCS 5/27-11) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-11)
    Sec. 27-11. Instruction on diseases.
    No pupil shall be required to take or participate in instruction on diseases if a parent or guardian files written objection thereto on constitutional grounds, and refusal to take or participate in such instruction on such grounds shall not be reason for suspension or expulsion of such pupil. Nothing in this act shall prohibit instruction in sanitation and hygiene.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/27-12

    (105 ILCS 5/27-12) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-12)
    Sec. 27-12. Character education. Every public school teacher shall teach character education, which includes the teaching of respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, trustworthiness, and citizenship, in order to raise pupils' honesty, kindness, justice, discipline, respect for others, and moral courage for the purpose of lessening crime and raising the standard of good character.
(Source: P.A. 94-187, eff. 7-12-05.)

105 ILCS 5/27-12.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-12.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-12.1)
    Sec. 27-12.1. Consumer education.
    (a) Pupils in the public schools in grades 9 through 12 shall be taught and be required to study courses which include instruction in the area of consumer education, including but not necessarily limited to (i) understanding the basic concepts of financial literacy, including installment purchasing (including credit scoring, managing credit debt, and completing a loan application), budgeting, savings and investing, banking (including balancing a checkbook, opening a deposit account, and the use of interest rates), understanding simple contracts, State and federal income taxes, personal insurance policies, the comparison of prices, and homeownership (including the basic process of obtaining a mortgage and the concepts of fixed and adjustable rate mortgages, subprime loans, and predatory lending), and (ii) understanding the roles of consumers interacting with agriculture, business, labor unions and government in formulating and achieving the goals of the mixed free enterprise system. The State Board of Education shall devise or approve the consumer education curriculum for grades 9 through 12 and specify the minimum amount of instruction to be devoted thereto.
    (b) (Blank).
    (c) The Financial Literacy Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. State funds and private contributions for the promotion of financial literacy shall be deposited into the Financial Literacy Fund. All money in the Financial Literacy Fund shall be used, subject to appropriation, by the State Board of Education to award grants to school districts for the following:
        (1) Defraying the costs of financial literacy
    
training for teachers.
        (2) Rewarding a school or teacher who wins or
    
achieves results at a certain level of success in a financial literacy competition.
        (3) Rewarding a student who wins or achieves
    
results at a certain level of success in a financial literacy competition.
        (4) Funding activities, including books, games,
    
field trips, computers, and other activities, related to financial literacy education.
    In awarding grants, every effort must be made to ensure that all geographic areas of the State are represented.
    (d) A school board may establish a special fund in which to receive public funds and private contributions for the promotion of financial literacy. Money in the fund shall be used for the following:
        (1) Defraying the costs of financial literacy
    
training for teachers.
        (2) Rewarding a school or teacher who wins or
    
achieves results at a certain level of success in a financial literacy competition.
        (3) Rewarding a student who wins or achieves
    
results at a certain level of success in a financial literacy competition.
        (4) Funding activities, including books, games,
    
field trips, computers, and other activities, related to financial literacy education.
    (e) The State Board of Education, upon the next comprehensive review of the Illinois Learning Standards, is urged to include the basic principles of personal insurance policies and understanding simple contracts.
(Source: P.A. 95-863, eff. 1-1-09; 96-1061, eff. 7-14-10.)

105 ILCS 5/27-13.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-13.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-13.1)
    Sec. 27-13.1. In every public school there shall be instruction, study and discussion of current problems and needs in the conservation of natural resources, including but not limited to air pollution, water pollution, waste reduction and recycling, the effects of excessive use of pesticides, preservation of wilderness areas, forest management, protection of wildlife and humane care of domestic animals.
(Source: P.A. 86-229.)

105 ILCS 5/27-13.2

    (105 ILCS 5/27-13.2) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-13.2)
    Sec. 27-13.2. Required instruction. In every public school there shall be instruction, study and discussion of effective methods by which pupils may recognize the danger of and avoid abduction, and in every public school maintaining any of grades kindergarten through 8 there shall be, for such grades, instruction, study, and discussion of effective methods for the prevention and avoidance of drug and substance abuse. School boards may include such required instruction, study and discussion in the courses of study regularly taught in the public schools of their respective districts; provided, however, that such instruction shall be given each year to all pupils in grades kindergarten through 8. The State Superintendent of Education may prepare and make available to all public and non-public schools instructional materials which may be used by such schools as guidelines for development of a program of instruction under this Section; provided, however, that each school board shall itself determine the minimum amount of instruction time which shall qualify as a program of instruction which will satisfy the requirements of this Section.
    The State Superintendent of Education, in cooperation with the Department of Children and Family Services, shall prepare and disseminate to all public schools and non-public schools, information on instructional materials and programs about child sexual abuse which may be used by such schools for their own or community programs. Such information may also be disseminated by such schools to parents.
    Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this Section, no pupil in any of grades kindergarten through 8 shall be required to take or participate in any class or course providing instruction in recognizing and avoiding sexual abuse if the parent or guardian of the pupil submits written objection thereto; and refusal to take or participate in such class or course after such written objection is made shall not be reason for failing, suspending or expelling such pupil. Each school board intending to offer any such class or course to pupils in any of grades kindergarten through 8 shall give not less than 5 days written notice to the parents or guardians of such pupils before commencing the class or course.
(Source: P.A. 86-788.)

105 ILCS 5/27-13.3

    (105 ILCS 5/27-13.3)
    Sec. 27-13.3. Internet safety education curriculum.
    (a) The purpose of this Section is to inform and protect students from inappropriate or illegal communications and solicitation and to encourage school districts to provide education about Internet threats and risks, including without limitation child predators, fraud, and other dangers.
    (b) The General Assembly finds and declares the following:
        (1) it is the policy of this State to protect
    
consumers and Illinois residents from deceptive and unsafe communications that result in harassment, exploitation, or physical harm;
        (2) children have easy access to the Internet at
    
home, school, and public places;
        (3) the Internet is used by sexual predators and
    
other criminals to make initial contact with children and other vulnerable residents in Illinois; and
        (4) education is an effective method for preventing
    
children from falling prey to online predators, identity theft, and other dangers.
    (c) Each school may adopt an age-appropriate curriculum for Internet safety instruction of students in grades kindergarten through 12. However, beginning with the 2009-2010 school year, a school district must incorporate into the school curriculum a component on Internet safety to be taught at least once each school year to students in grades 3 through 12. The school board shall determine the scope and duration of this unit of instruction. The age-appropriate unit of instruction may be incorporated into the current courses of study regularly taught in the district's schools, as determined by the school board, and it is recommended that the unit of instruction include the following topics:
        (1) Safe and responsible use of social networking
    
websites, chat rooms, electronic mail, bulletin boards, instant messaging, and other means of communication on the Internet.
        (2) Recognizing, avoiding, and reporting online
    
solicitations of students, their classmates, and their friends by sexual predators.
        (3) Risks of transmitting personal information on the
    
Internet.
        (4) Recognizing and avoiding unsolicited or deceptive
    
communications received online.
        (5) Recognizing and reporting online harassment and
    
cyber-bullying.
        (6) Reporting illegal activities and communications
    
on the Internet.
        (7) Copyright laws on written materials, photographs,
    
music, and video.
    (d) Curricula devised in accordance with subsection (c) of this Section may be submitted for review to the Office of the Illinois Attorney General.
    (e) The State Board of Education shall make available resource materials for educating children regarding child online safety and may take into consideration the curriculum on this subject developed by other states, as well as any other curricular materials suggested by education experts, child psychologists, or technology companies that work on child online safety issues. Materials may include without limitation safe online communications, privacy protection, cyber-bullying, viewing inappropriate material, file sharing, and the importance of open communication with responsible adults. The State Board of Education shall make these resource materials available on its Internet website.
(Source: P.A. 95-509, eff. 8-28-07; 95-869, eff. 1-1-09; 96-734, eff. 8-25-09.)

105 ILCS 5/27-14

    (105 ILCS 5/27-14) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-14)
    Sec. 27-14. Experiments upon animals.
    No experiment upon any living animal for the purpose of demonstration in any study shall be made in any public school. No animal provided by, or killed in the presence of any pupil of a public school shall be used for dissection in such school, and in no case shall dogs or cats be killed for such purposes. Dissection of dead animals, or parts thereof, shall be confined to the classroom and shall not be practiced in the presence of any pupil not engaged in the study to be illustrated thereby.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/27-15

    (105 ILCS 5/27-15) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-15)
    Sec. 27-15. Moral and humane education - In institute programs. The superintendent of each region and city shall include once each year moral and humane education in the program of the teachers' institute which is held under his supervision.
(Source: P.A. 79-597.)

105 ILCS 5/27-16

    (105 ILCS 5/27-16)
    Sec. 27-16. (Repealed).
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31. Repealed by P.A. 94-1105, eff. 6-1-07.)

105 ILCS 5/27-17

    (105 ILCS 5/27-17) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-17)
    Sec. 27-17. Safety education. School boards of public schools and all boards in charge of educational institutions supported wholly or partially by the State may provide instruction in safety education in all grades and include such instruction in the courses of study regularly taught therein.
    In this section "safety education" means and includes instruction in the following:
        1. automobile safety, including traffic regulations,
    
highway safety, and the consequences of alcohol consumption and the operation of a motor vehicle;
        2. safety in the home;
        3. safety in connection with recreational activities;
        4. safety in and around school buildings;
        5. safety in connection with vocational work or
    
training;
        6. cardio-pulmonary resuscitation for students
    
enrolled in grades 9 through 11; and
        7. for students enrolled in grades 6 through 8,
    
cardio-pulmonary resuscitation and how to use an automated external defibrillator by watching a training video on those subjects.
    Such boards may make suitable provisions in the schools and institutions under their jurisdiction for instruction in safety education for not less than 16 hours during each school year.
    The curriculum in all State universities shall contain instruction in safety education for teachers that is appropriate to the grade level of the teaching certificate. This instruction may be by specific courses in safety education or may be incorporated in existing subjects taught in the university.
(Source: P.A. 96-734, eff. 8-25-09; 97-714, eff. 6-28-12.)

105 ILCS 5/27-18

    (105 ILCS 5/27-18) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-18)
    Sec. 27-18. Arbor and bird day. The last Friday in April is designated as "Arbor and Bird Day," to be observed throughout the State as a day for planting trees, shrubs and vines about public grounds, and as a day on which to hold appropriate exercises in the public schools and elsewhere tending to show the value of trees and birds and the necessity for their protection.
(Source: P.A. 92-85, eff. 7-12-01.)

105 ILCS 5/27-19

    (105 ILCS 5/27-19) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-19)
    Sec. 27-19. Leif Erickson day.
    October 9, if a school day, otherwise the school day nearest such date, is designated as Leif Erikson Day. On such day one-half hour may be devoted in the schools to instruction and appropriate exercises relative to and in commemoration of the life and history of Leif Erickson and the principles and ideals he fostered.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/27-20

    (105 ILCS 5/27-20) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-20)
    Sec. 27-20. American Indian day.
    The fourth Friday of September is designated "American Indian Day," to be observed throughout the State as a day on which to hold appropriate exercises in commemoration of the American Indians.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/27-20.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-20.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-20.1)
    Sec. 27-20.1. Illinois Law Week. The first full school week in May is designated "Illinois Law Week". During that week, the public schools may devote appropriate time, instruction, study, and exercises in the procedures of the legislature and the enactment of laws, the courts and the administration of justice, the police and the enforcement of law, citizen responsibilities, and other principles and ideals to promote the importance of government under law in the State.
(Source: P.A. 92-85, eff. 7-12-01.)

105 ILCS 5/27-20.2

    (105 ILCS 5/27-20.2) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-20.2)
    Sec. 27-20.2. "Just Say No" Day. May 15, 1987, and in each calendar year thereafter, a school day in May designated by official proclamation of the Governor, shall be known as "Just Say No" Day, to be observed throughout the State as a day on which children and teenagers declare and reaffirm their commitment to living a life free of drugs and alcohol abuse, and as a day on which to hold and participate in appropriate special programs, ceremonies and exercises, in the public schools and elsewhere, tending to encourage children to lead a healthy lifestyle, aware and free of the dangers of using drugs and alcohol abuse.
(Source: P.A. 85-386.)

105 ILCS 5/27-20.3

    (105 ILCS 5/27-20.3) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-20.3)
    Sec. 27-20.3. Holocaust and Genocide Study. Every public elementary school and high school shall include in its curriculum a unit of instruction studying the events of the Nazi atrocities of 1933 to 1945. This period in world history is known as the Holocaust, during which 6,000,000 Jews and millions of non-Jews were exterminated. One of the universal lessons of the Holocaust is that national, ethnic, racial, or religious hatred can overtake any nation or society, leading to calamitous consequences. To reinforce that lesson, such curriculum shall include an additional unit of instruction studying other acts of genocide across the globe. This unit shall include, but not be limited to, the Armenian Genocide, the Famine-Genocide in Ukraine, and more recent atrocities in Cambodia, Bosnia, Rwanda, and Sudan. The studying of this material is a reaffirmation of the commitment of free peoples from all nations to never again permit the occurrence of another Holocaust and a recognition that crimes of genocide continue to be perpetrated across the globe as they have been in the past and to deter indifference to crimes against humanity and human suffering wherever they may occur.
    The State Superintendent of Education may prepare and make available to all school boards instructional materials which may be used as guidelines for development of a unit of instruction under this Section; provided, however, that each school board shall itself determine the minimum amount of instruction time which shall qualify as a unit of instruction satisfying the requirements of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 94-478, eff. 8-5-05.)

105 ILCS 5/27-20.4

    (105 ILCS 5/27-20.4) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-20.4)
    Sec. 27-20.4. Black History Study. Every public elementary school and high school shall include in its curriculum a unit of instruction studying the events of Black History, including the history of the African slave trade, slavery in America, and the vestiges of slavery in this country. These events shall include not only the contributions made by individual African-Americans in government and in the arts, humanities and sciences to the economic, cultural and political development of the United States and Africa, but also the socio-economic struggle which African-Americans experienced collectively in striving to achieve fair and equal treatment under the laws of this nation. The studying of this material shall constitute an affirmation by students of their commitment to respect the dignity of all races and peoples and to forever eschew every form of discrimination in their lives and careers.
    The State Superintendent of Education may prepare and make available to all school boards instructional materials, including those established by the Amistad Commission, which may be used as guidelines for development of a unit of instruction under this Section; provided, however, that each school board shall itself determine the minimum amount of instruction time which shall qualify as a unit of instruction satisfying the requirements of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 94-285, eff. 7-21-05.)

105 ILCS 5/27-20.5

    (105 ILCS 5/27-20.5) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-20.5)
    Sec. 27-20.5. Study of the History of Women. Every public elementary school and high school shall include in its curriculum a unit of instruction studying the events of the history of women in America. These events shall include not only the contributions made by individual women in government, the arts, sciences, education, and in the economic, cultural, and political development of Illinois and of the United States, but shall also include a study of women's struggles to gain the right to vote and to be treated equally as they strive to earn and occupy positions of merit in our society.
    The State Superintendent of Education may prepare and make available to all school boards instructional materials that may be used as guidelines for development of a unit of instruction under this Section. Each school board shall determine the minimum amount of instructional time that shall qualify as a unit of instruction satisfying the requirements of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 86-1256.)

105 ILCS 5/27-20.6

    (105 ILCS 5/27-20.6)
    Sec. 27-20.6. "Irish Famine" study. Every public elementary school and high school may include in its curriculum a unit of instruction studying the causes and effects of mass starvation in mid-19th century Ireland. This period in world history is known as the "Irish Famine", in which millions of Irish died or emigrated. The study of this material is a reaffirmation of the commitment of free people of all nations to eradicate the causes of famine that exist in the modern world.
    The State Superintendent of Education may prepare and make available to all school boards instructional materials that may be used as guidelines for development of a unit of instruction under this Section; provided, however, that each school board shall itself determine the minimum amount of instruction time that shall qualify as a unit of instruction satisfying the requirements of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)

105 ILCS 5/27-21

    (105 ILCS 5/27-21) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-21)
    Sec. 27-21. History of United States. History of the United States shall be taught in all public schools and in all other educational institutions in this State supported or maintained, in whole or in part, by public funds. The teaching of history shall have as one of its objectives the imparting to pupils of a comprehensive idea of our democratic form of government and the principles for which our government stands as regards other nations, including the studying of the place of our government in world-wide movements and the leaders thereof, with particular stress upon the basic principles and ideals of our representative form of government. The teaching of history shall include a study of the role and contributions of African Americans and other ethnic groups including but not restricted to Polish, Lithuanian, German, Hungarian, Irish, Bohemian, Russian, Albanian, Italian, Czech, Slovak, French, Scots, Hispanics, Asian Americans, etc., in the history of this country and this State. To reinforce the study of the role and contributions of Hispanics, such curriculum shall include the study of the events related to the forceful removal and illegal deportation of Mexican-American U.S. citizens during the Great Depression. The teaching of history also shall include a study of the role of labor unions and their interaction with government in achieving the goals of a mixed free enterprise system. No pupils shall be graduated from the eighth grade of any public school unless he has received such instruction in the history of the United States and gives evidence of having a comprehensive knowledge thereof.
(Source: P.A. 96-629, eff. 1-1-10.)

105 ILCS 5/27-22

    (105 ILCS 5/27-22) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-22)
    Sec. 27-22. Required high school courses.
    (a) As a prerequisite to receiving a high school diploma, each pupil entering the 9th grade in the 1984-1985 school year through the 2004-2005 school year must, in addition to other course requirements, successfully complete the following courses:
        (1) three years of language arts;
        (2) two years of mathematics, one of which may be
    
related to computer technology;
        (3) one year of science;
        (4) two years of social studies, of which at least
    
one year must be history of the United States or a combination of history of the United States and American government; and
        (5) One year chosen from (A) music, (B) art, (C)
    
foreign language, which shall be deemed to include American Sign Language or (D) vocational education.
    (b) As a prerequisite to receiving a high school diploma, each pupil entering the 9th grade in the 2005-2006 school year must, in addition to other course requirements, successfully complete all of the following courses:
        (1) Three years of language arts.
        (2) Three years of mathematics.
        (3) One year of science.
        (4) Two years of social studies, of which at least
    
one year must be history of the United States or a combination of history of the United States and American government.
        (5) One year chosen from (A) music, (B) art, (C)
    
foreign language, which shall be deemed to include American Sign Language, or (D) vocational education.
    (c) As a prerequisite to receiving a high school diploma, each pupil entering the 9th grade in the 2006-2007 school year must, in addition to other course requirements, successfully complete all of the following courses:
        (1) Three years of language arts.
        (2) Two years of writing intensive courses, one of
    
which must be English and the other of which may be English or any other subject. When applicable, writing-intensive courses may be counted towards the fulfillment of other graduation requirements.
        (3) Three years of mathematics, one of which must be
    
Algebra I and one of which must include geometry content.
        (4) One year of science.
        (5) Two years of social studies, of which at least
    
one year must be history of the United States or a combination of history of the United States and American government.
        (6) One year chosen from (A) music, (B) art, (C)
    
foreign language, which shall be deemed to include American Sign Language, or (D) vocational education.
    (d) As a prerequisite to receiving a high school diploma, each pupil entering the 9th grade in the 2007-2008 school year must, in addition to other course requirements, successfully complete all of the following courses:
        (1) Three years of language arts.
        (2) Two years of writing intensive courses, one of
    
which must be English and the other of which may be English or any other subject. When applicable, writing-intensive courses may be counted towards the fulfillment of other graduation requirements.
        (3) Three years of mathematics, one of which must be
    
Algebra I and one of which must include geometry content.
        (4) Two years of science.
        (5) Two years of social studies, of which at least
    
one year must be history of the United States or a combination of history of the United States and American government.
        (6) One year chosen from (A) music, (B) art, (C)
    
foreign language, which shall be deemed to include American Sign Language, or (D) vocational education.
    (e) As a prerequisite to receiving a high school diploma, each pupil entering the 9th grade in the 2008-2009 school year or a subsequent school year must, in addition to other course requirements, successfully complete all of the following courses:
        (1) Four years of language arts.
        (2) Two years of writing intensive courses, one of
    
which must be English and the other of which may be English or any other subject. When applicable, writing-intensive courses may be counted towards the fulfillment of other graduation requirements.
        (3) Three years of mathematics, one of which must be
    
Algebra I, one of which must include geometry content, and one of which may be an Advanced Placement computer science course if the pupil successfully completes Algebra II or an integrated mathematics course with Algebra II content.
        (4) Two years of science.
        (5) Two years of social studies, of which at least
    
one year must be history of the United States or a combination of history of the United States and American government.
        (6) One year chosen from (A) music, (B) art, (C)
    
foreign language, which shall be deemed to include American Sign Language, or (D) vocational education.
    (f) The State Board of Education shall develop and inform school districts of standards for writing-intensive coursework.
    (f-5) If a school district offers an Advanced Placement computer science course to high school students, then the school board must designate that course as equivalent to a high school mathematics course and must denote on the student's transcript that the Advanced Placement computer science course qualifies as a mathematics-based, quantitative course for students in accordance with subdivision (3) of subsection (e) of this Section.
    (g) This amendatory Act of 1983 does not apply to pupils entering the 9th grade in 1983-1984 school year and prior school years or to students with disabilities whose course of study is determined by an individualized education program.
    This amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly does not apply to pupils entering the 9th grade in the 2004-2005 school year or a prior school year or to students with disabilities whose course of study is determined by an individualized education program.
    (h) The provisions of this Section are subject to the provisions of Section 27-22.05.
(Source: P.A. 98-885, eff. 8-15-14.)

105 ILCS 5/27-22.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-22.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-22.1)
    Sec. 27-22.1. Summer school - required instructional time. Each course offered for high school graduation credit during summer school or any period of the calendar year not embraced within the regular school year, whether or not such course must be successfully completed as a prerequisite to receiving a high school diploma and whether or not such course if successfully completed would be included in the minimum units of credit required by regulation of the State Board of Education for high school graduation, shall provide no fewer than 60 hours of classroom instruction for the equivalent of one semester of high school course credit.
(Source: P.A. 85-839.)

105 ILCS 5/27-22.2

    (105 ILCS 5/27-22.2) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-22.2)
    Sec. 27-22.2. Vocational education elective. Whenever the school board of any school district which maintains grades 9 through 12 establishes a list of courses from which secondary school students each must elect at least one course, to be completed along with other course requirements as a pre-requisite to receiving a high school diploma, that school board must include on the list of such elective courses at least one course in vocational education.
(Source: P.A. 84-1334; 84-1438.)

105 ILCS 5/27-22.3

    (105 ILCS 5/27-22.3) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-22.3)
    Sec. 27-22.3. Volunteer service credit program.
    (a) A school district may establish a volunteer service credit program that enables secondary school students to earn credit towards graduation through performance of community service. This community service may include participation in the organization of a high school or community blood drive or other blood donor recruitment campaign. Any program so established shall begin with students entering grade 9 in the 1993-1994 school year or later. The amount of credit given for program participation shall not exceed that given for completion of one semester of language arts, math, science or social studies.
    (b) Any community service performed as part of a course for which credit is given towards graduation shall not qualify under a volunteer service credit program. Any service for which a student is paid shall not qualify under a volunteer service credit program. Any community work assigned as a disciplinary measure shall not qualify under a volunteer service credit program.
    (c) School districts that establish volunteer service credit programs shall establish any necessary rules, regulations and procedures.
(Source: P.A. 93-547, eff. 8-19-03.)

105 ILCS 5/27-22.05

    (105 ILCS 5/27-22.05)
    Sec. 27-22.05. Required course substitute. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Article or this Code, a school board that maintains any of grades 9 through 12 is authorized to adopt a policy under which a student who is enrolled in any of those grades may satisfy one or more high school course or graduation requirements, including but not limited to any requirements under Sections 27-6 and 27-22, by substituting for and successfully completing in place of the high school course or graduation requirement a related vocational or technical education course. A vocational or technical education course shall not qualify as a related vocational or technical education course within the meaning of this Section unless it contains at least 50% of the content of the required course or graduation requirement for which it is substituted, as determined by the State Board of Education in accordance with standards that it shall adopt and uniformly apply for purposes of this Section. No vocational or technical education course may be substituted for a required course or graduation requirement under any policy adopted by a school board as authorized in this Section unless the pupil's parent or guardian first requests the substitution and approves it in writing on forms that the school district makes available for purposes of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 88-269.)

105 ILCS 5/27-22.10

    (105 ILCS 5/27-22.10)
    Sec. 27-22.10. Course credit for high school diploma.
    (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code, the school board of a school district that maintains any of grades 9 through 12 is authorized to adopt a policy under which a student enrolled in grade 7 or 8 who is enrolled in the unit school district or would be enrolled in the high school district upon completion of elementary school, whichever is applicable, may enroll in a course required under Section 27-22 of this Code, provided that the course is offered by the high school that the student would attend, and (i) the student participates in the course at the location of the high school, and the elementary student's enrollment in the course would not prevent a high school student from being able to enroll, or (ii) the student participates in the course where the student attends school as long as the course is taught by a high school teacher certified in accordance with Article 21 of this Code who teaches in a high school of the school district where the student will attend when in high school and no high school students are enrolled in the course.
    (b) A school board that adopts a policy pursuant to subsection (a) of this Section must grant academic credit to an elementary school student who successfully completes the high school course, and that credit shall satisfy the requirements of Section 27-22 of this Code for that course.
    (c) A school board must award high school course credit to a student transferring to its school district for any course that the student successfully completed pursuant to subsection (a) of this Section, unless evidence about the course's rigor and content shows that it does not address the relevant Illinois Learning Standard at the level appropriate for the high school grade during which the course is usually taken, and that credit shall satisfy the requirements of Section 27-22 of this Code for that course.
    (d) A student's grade in any course successfully completed under this Section must be included in his or her grade point average in accordance with the school board's policy for making that calculation.
(Source: P.A. 95-299, eff. 8-20-07; 96-412, eff. 8-13-09.)

105 ILCS 5/27-23

    (105 ILCS 5/27-23)
    Sec. 27-23. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 95-793, eff. 1-1-09. Repealed by P.A. 96-734, eff. 8-25-09.)

105 ILCS 5/27-23.1

    (105 ILCS 5/27-23.1) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-23.1)
    Sec. 27-23.1. Parenting education. School districts may provide instruction in parenting education for grades 6 through 12 and include such instruction in the courses of study regularly taught therein. School districts may give regular school credit for satisfactory completion by the student of such courses.
    As used in this section, "parenting education" means and includes instruction in the following:
    (1) Child growth and development, including prenatal development.
    (2) Childbirth and child care.
    (3) Family structure, function and management.
    (4) Prenatal and postnatal care for mothers and infants.
    (5) Prevention of child abuse.
    (6) The physical, mental, emotional, social, economic and psychological aspects of interpersonal and family relationships.
    (7) Parenting skill development.
    The State Board of Education shall assist those districts offering parenting education instruction, upon request, in developing instructional materials, training teachers, and establishing appropriate time allotments for each of the areas included in such instruction.
    School districts may offer parenting education courses during that period of the day which is not part of the regular school day. Residents of the school district may enroll in such courses. The school board may establish fees and collect such charges as may be necessary for attendance at such courses in an amount not to exceed the per capita cost of the operation thereof, except that the board may waive all or part of such charges if it determines that the individual is indigent or that the educational needs of the individual requires his or her attendance at such courses.
(Source: P.A. 84-534.)

105 ILCS 5/27-23.2

    (105 ILCS 5/27-23.2)
    Sec. 27-23.2. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 86-650. Repealed by P.A. 95-793, eff. 1-1-09.)

105 ILCS 5/27-23.3

    (105 ILCS 5/27-23.3) (from Ch. 122, par. 27-23.3)
    Sec. 27-23.3. Education in steroid abuse prevention. School districts shall provide instruction in relation to the prevention of abuse of anabolic steroids in grades 7 through 12 and shall include such instruction in science, health, drug abuse, physical education or other appropriate courses of study. School districts shall also provide this instruction to students who participate in interscholastic athletic programs. The instruction shall emphasize that the use of anabolic steroids presents a serious health hazard to persons who use steroids to enhance athletic performance or physical development. The State Board of Education may assist in the development of instructional materials and teacher training in relation to steroid abuse prevention.
(Source: P.A. 94-14, eff. 1-1-06.)