Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

PROFESSIONS, OCCUPATIONS, AND BUSINESS OPERATIONS
(225 ILCS 410/) Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding, and Nail Technology Act of 1985.

225 ILCS 410/Art. II

 
    (225 ILCS 410/Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II BARBERS

225 ILCS 410/2-1

    (225 ILCS 410/2-1) (from Ch. 111, par. 1702-1)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 2-1. Barbering defined. Any one or any combination of the following practices constitutes the practice of barbering:
    To shave or trim the beard or cut the hair; to style, arrange, dress, curl, wave, straighten, clean, singe, epilate, depilate, shampoo, marcel, chemically restructure, bleach, tint, color or similarly work upon the hair or cranial prosthesis of any person; to give relaxing facial or scalp massage or treatments with oils, creams or other preparations either by hand or by mechanical appliances. Nothing in this Act shall be construed to prohibit the shampooing of hair by persons employed for that purpose and who perform such task under the direct supervision of a licensed barber.
(Source: P.A. 94-451, eff. 12-31-05.)

225 ILCS 410/2-2

    (225 ILCS 410/2-2) (from Ch. 111, par. 1702-2)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 2-2. Licensure as a barber; qualifications. A person is qualified to receive a license as a barber if that person has applied in writing on forms prescribed by the Department, has paid the required fees, and:
        a. Is at least 16 years of age; and
        b. Has a certificate of graduation from a school
    
providing secondary education, or the recognized equivalent of such a certificate, or persons who are beyond the age of compulsory school attendance; and
        c. Has graduated from a school of barbering or school
    
of cosmetology approved by the Department, having completed a total of 1500 hours in the study of barbering extending over a period of not less than 9 months nor more than 3 years. A school of barbering may, at its discretion, consistent with the rules of the Department, accept up to 1,000 hours of cosmetology school training at a recognized cosmetology school toward the 1500 hour course requirement of barbering. Time spent in such study under the laws of another state or territory of the United States or of a foreign country or province shall be credited toward the period of study required by the provisions of this paragraph; and
        d. Has passed an examination caused to be conducted
    
by the Department or its designated testing service to determine fitness to receive a license as a barber; and
        e. Has met all other requirements of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)

225 ILCS 410/2-2a

    (225 ILCS 410/2-2a) (from Ch. 111, par. 1702-2a)
    Sec. 2-2a. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 85-981. Repealed by P.A. 89-387, eff. 1-1-96.)

225 ILCS 410/2-3

    (225 ILCS 410/2-3) (from Ch. 111, par. 1702-3)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 2-3. Licensure as a barber by a cosmetology school graduate. A person is qualified to receive a license as a barber if that person has applied in writing on forms provided by the Department, paid the required fees, and:
        a. Is at least 16 years of age; and
        b. Has a certificate of graduation from a school
    
providing secondary education, or the recognized equivalent of such a certificate, or persons who are beyond the age of compulsory school attendance; and
        c. Has graduated from a cosmetology school approved
    
by the Department having completed a minimum of 1500 hours in the study of cosmetology; and
        d. Has graduated from a school of barbering or
    
cosmetology approved by the Department having completed a minimum of 500 additional hours in the study of barbering extending over a period of no less than 3 months nor more than one year. Time spent in such study under the laws of another state or territory of the United States or of a foreign country or province shall be credited toward the period of study required by the provisions of this paragraph; and
        e. Has passed an examination caused to be conducted
    
by the Department, or its designated testing service, to determine fitness to receive a license as a barber; and
        f. Has met any other requirements set forth in this
    
Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)

225 ILCS 410/2-4

    (225 ILCS 410/2-4) (from Ch. 111, par. 1702-4)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 2-4. Licensure as a barber teacher; qualifications. A person is qualified to receive a license as a barber teacher if that person files an application on forms provided by the Department, pays the required fee, and:
        a. Is at least 18 years of age;
        b. Has graduated from high school or its equivalent;
        c. Has a current license as a barber or cosmetologist;
        d. Has graduated from a barber school or school of
    
cosmetology approved by the Department having:
            (1) completed a total of 500 hours in barber
        
teacher training extending over a period of not less than 3 months nor more than 2 years and has had 3 years of practical experience as a licensed barber;
            (2) completed a total of 1,000 hours of barber
        
teacher training extending over a period of not less than 6 months nor more than 2 years; or
            (3) completed the cosmetology teacher training as
        
specified in paragraph (4) of subsection (a) of Section 3-4 of this Act and completed a supplemental barbering course as established by rule;
        e. Has passed an examination authorized by the
    
Department to determine fitness to receive a license as a barber teacher or a cosmetology teacher; and
        f. Has met any other requirements set forth in this
    
Act.
    An applicant who is issued a license as a barber teacher is not required to maintain a barber license in order to practice barbering as defined in this Act.
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15; 99-78, eff. 7-20-15; 99-427, eff. 8-21-15; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16.)

225 ILCS 410/2-4a

    (225 ILCS 410/2-4a)
    Sec. 2-4a. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 89-397, eff. 1-1-96. Repealed by P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)

225 ILCS 410/2-5

    (225 ILCS 410/2-5) (from Ch. 111, par. 1702-5)
    Sec. 2-5. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 84-1117. Repealed by P.A. 89-387, eff. 1-1-96.)

225 ILCS 410/2-6

    (225 ILCS 410/2-6) (from Ch. 111, par. 1702-6)
    Sec. 2-6. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 84-657. Repealed by P.A. 89-387, eff. 1-1-96.)

225 ILCS 410/2-7

    (225 ILCS 410/2-7) (from Ch. 111, par. 1702-7)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 2-7. Examination of applicants. The Department shall hold examinations of applicants for licensure as barbers and teachers of barbering at such times and places as it may determine. Upon request, the examinations shall be administered in Spanish.
    Each applicant shall be given a written examination testing both theoretical and practical knowledge of the following subjects insofar as they are related and applicable to the practice of barber science and art: (1) anatomy, (2) physiology, (3) skin diseases, (4) hygiene and sanitation, (5) barber history, (6) this Act and the rules for the administration of this Act, (7) hair cutting and styling, (8) shaving, shampooing, and permanent waving, (9) massaging, (10) bleaching, tinting, and coloring, and (11) implements.
    The examination of applicants for licensure as a barber teacher shall include: (a) practice of barbering and styling, (b) theory of barbering, (c) methods of teaching, and (d) school management.
    If an applicant for licensure as a barber fails to pass 3 examinations conducted by the Department, the applicant shall, before taking a subsequent examination, furnish evidence of not less than 250 hours of additional study of barbering in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology since the applicant last took the examination. If an applicant for licensure as a barber teacher fails to pass 3 examinations conducted by the Department, the applicant shall, before taking a subsequent examination, furnish evidence of not less than 80 hours of additional study in teaching methodology and educational psychology in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology since the applicant last took the examination. An applicant who fails to pass the fourth examination shall not again be admitted to an examination unless: (i) in the case of an applicant for licensure as a barber, the applicant again takes and completes a program of 1,500 hours in the study of barbering in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology extending over a period that commences after the applicant fails to pass the fourth examination and that is not less than 8 months nor more than 7 consecutive years in duration; or (ii) in the case of an applicant for licensure as a barber teacher, the applicant again takes and completes a program of 1,000 hours of teacher training in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology, except that if the applicant had 2 years of practical experience as a licensed barber within the 5 years preceding the initial examination taken by the applicant, the applicant must again take and complete a program of 500 hours of teacher training in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology. The requirements for remedial training set forth in this Section may be waived in whole or in part by the Department upon proof to the Department that the applicant has demonstrated competence to again sit for the examination. The Department shall adopt rules establishing standards by which this determination shall be made.
    This Act does not prohibit the practice as a barber or barber teacher by one who has applied in writing to the Department, in form and substance satisfactory to the Department, for a license and has complied with all the provisions of this Act in order to qualify for a license except the passing of an examination, until: (a) the expiration of 6 months after the filing of such written application, or (b) the decision of the Department that the applicant has failed to pass an examination within 6 months or failed without an approved excuse to take an examination conducted within 6 months by the Department, or (c) the withdrawal of the application.
(Source: P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)

225 ILCS 410/2-8

    (225 ILCS 410/2-8) (from Ch. 111, par. 1702-8)
    Sec. 2-8. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 84-657. Repealed by P.A. 89-387, eff. 1-1-96.)

225 ILCS 410/2-9

    (225 ILCS 410/2-9)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 2-9. Certification in barbering at a cosmetology school. A school of cosmetology may offer a certificate in barbering, as defined by this Act, provided that the school of cosmetology complies with subsections (c), (d), and (e) of Section 2-2 of this Act; utilizes barber teachers properly licensed under Section 2-4 of this Act; and complies with Sections 2A-7 and 3B-10 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15; 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)

225 ILCS 410/2-10

    (225 ILCS 410/2-10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 2-10. Licensed cosmetologist seeking license as a barber. A licensed cosmetologist who submits to the Department an application for licensure as a barber must meet all requirements of this Act for licensure as a barber, except that such applicant shall be given credit for hours of instruction completed for his or her cosmetologist license in subjects that are common to both barbering and cosmetology and shall complete an additional 500 hours of instruction in subjects not within the scope of practice of a cosmetologist. The Department shall provide for the implementation of this provision by rule.
(Source: P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)

225 ILCS 410/2-11

    (225 ILCS 410/2-11)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 2-11. Inactive status. Any barber or barber teacher who notifies the Department in writing on forms prescribed by the Department may elect to place his or her license on inactive status and shall, subject to rules of the Department, be excused from payment of renewal fees until he or she notifies the Department in writing of his or her desire to resume active status. Any barber or barber teacher requesting restoration from inactive status shall be required to pay the current renewal fee and to qualify for the restoration of his or her license, subject to rules of the Department. Any barber or barber teacher whose license is in inactive status shall not practice in the State of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)